We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain House Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fountain House Apartments to your Saves list
Fountain House Apartments
1, Lancaster terrace, London W2 3PF, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #332 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed with my husband and my daughter in a 2 bedroom standard apartment and my sister and family in one of their 3 bedroom superior apartments. Our standard apartment was nice and very warm and comfortable, nice kitchen, new carpets and new curtains which was a relief because of the review we had read on tripadvisor

Kitchen was nice, they have a daily housekeeping service, we loved the location, Hyde Park is just across the street and metro station and bus services outside the door.
We thought it was very good value for money, lift was small but we didn’t mind, my sisters superior
3 bedroom Apartment had all refurbished very nice furniture and directly looking in to Hyde Park and the Lake. We liked our apartments and had a very good time staying there.

We will go back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
1
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

During our stay in London, we had reserved a 3 bedroom apartment overlooking Hyde parrk. On the downside, the lift was not very big but this was not a major problem as the apartment itself was very nice and comfortable with facilites of a good standard.
Our apartment was on the second floor, overlooking Hyde Park with a fantastic view of the Park and the lake.
The master bedroom had an en-suite and there was a separate shower rooom as well as a good sized kitchen which was well equipped and clean. The service also included a maid who used to arrive daily to clean up.
The apartment was situated in a convenient location as there was access to bus routes and the underground just opposite the building.
Overall, we had a very pleasant stay in this apartment considering we had read some negative reviews. However, it was a nice apartment and we really enjoyed our stay. We will definitely be staying here again next time we visit. I have recommended it to all my family and friends who are planning to visit London.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The appartment was very clean, staff freindly and very close to Hydpark and underground.
I would recommed this appatment for family or group of friends either for holiday or for business.I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Over priced, stank of smoke, poor level of cleanliness, extremely bad customer service.

When we arrived, the staff didn't even get off their chairs to greet us or show us the 2 bedroom apartment we rented. the elevator was broken. Our apartment stank so badly of smoke that my 8 year old cried and didn't "feel safe". There was no hair dryer, the sink drain and remote control were broken, there was a body hair on our sheets. When we complained, the head cleaner was defensive (though they did address some of the problems).The following day, the cleaners were confrontational--we just wanted to relax and could have done without the drama. The location is convenient, though loud.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We are a family with children, reserve a 3 BR Apt 7 wks in advance for GBP450 for 19 nights. They took the whole dues in advance.
When we arrived we found it was a real big cheat ,, pictures were so illusive, they don't reflect the actual thing which was not worth half the price.
The entrance was very small that it can hardly take 4 persons standing and the old junk small elevator that can take only 2 persons, it scared my children and they used the stairs to go to the 6th floor. The receiption staff were nice but can't solve any matter , they are remotely controled from some where.
What can I say ,,,, the only thing was nice was the kitchen and one ot the 2 bathrooms, other wise rooms were very small and the curtains are mostly broken and old.
We tried to change the place but left with no chilce since we paid in advance although we negotiated to that they charge us for 4 or 5 nights but no way.
In conclusion : I don't recommecd this place despite its closeness to any one that wants to enjoy their stay >>> It is not worth half the listed price.
Very very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FountainH, Manager at Fountain House Apartments, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
We wish to thank you for the review and want to stress that we take any issues or complaints about our accommodation very seriously indeed.

For clarification we would like to point out that, in line with standard practice, we require full payment of accommodation upon arrival as in this particular case. Our terms and conditions, including the cancellation policy, are well documented and explained to all our guests at the time of booking. No payment had been taken in advance of arrival.

We sincerely apologise for the curtaining, which was duly replaced. Other matters pointed out have been attended to immediately and courteously. In view of actions taken we believe that there had been no grounds for compensation.

Please be assured that we are committed to providing quality accommodation and excellent service. All feedback is used in our efforts to make improvements all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed here for a couple months this year and feel the same about Fountain House as many of the other reviewers. It was nice having a large flat right at the top of Hyde Park and next to the Tube (which was closed almost every single weekend I stayed there! Very frustrating!!), but I don't think the apartment was anything to write home about. Two of the bedrooms were facing Lancaster Terrace and got all the noise from the street, but the back bedroom was quiet and stayed dark in the morning.
The kitchen is more than adequate with all the appliances you could need, plus plates, pot/pans, silverware, etc. There was also a washer/dryer combo which took FOREVER, but better than nothing I suppose. The living room area was ok; had a flat screen tv on the wall, DVD player, two couches, coffee table, and a dining table with 4 chairs. The cleaning crew came three days during the week and always did a very thorough job. I did not find the front desk staff to be overly friendly, but it's not a hotel and they are not a concierge, so I won't give them too hard of a time on this review.
A couple nights there were drunk people screaming in the hallways (knocked on my door one time) and the intercom system to the front entrance is annoying as people rang my room at random hours. I would recommend the Fountain House to all people in all situations, but it could be a good fit depending on your circumstances. The location is excellent. Hope the pictures give you a good idea of what the flat is reaally like.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing Hyde Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Our stay at the Fountain House appears to mirror those of a number of other reviews I have read. We were traveling with two young children (8yrs & 4yrs) and therefore the location being so close to the park and also the tube station was great. The size was good and the bathroom and kitchen quite new. The carpet had a number of burns where someone had dropped an iron while doing their clothes, some curtains & blinds were broken and the couch had a lot of stains. This was not in itself terouble as we understand that you expect some of these things in an apartment used by numerous different people, but we did come back one day to find that the covers on the couch and cushions had been removed and replaced by sheets. I am guessing to have them cleaned, but they were gone for nearly three days and no one said a word to us. A lady did actually come in to check on the broken curtains and noticed that the couch covers were missing and said she would check into it. We never heard back and therefore I can't say the service was very good at all, but the cleaning was done once while we were there for 5 nights and was done very well.

As our experience appears to mirror those of others who have placed reviews on 'Trip Advisor', I don't think anything is changing very quickly and therefore cannot recommend this apartment as I have previously done with others.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FountainH, Manager at Fountain House Apartments, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Guest
We thank you for your comment.
we are sorry for taking so long to reply to your comment,
but we do take our guests comments very seriously and you may
be interested to know that all carpets and curtains at Fountain house
are replaced with new ones.

We are sorry that it took long for the clean cushions to return, we will make
certain of not repeating the same mistake.

So we have the brand new carpets and our beautifully made to measure
Curtains, the fantastic Hyde Park view, the good location
and the good size apartments with nice kitchens and bathrooms as you agreed
and we hope we will see you again.

Thank you
Fountain house
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountain House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain House Apartments

Address: 1, Lancaster terrace, London W2 3PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#218 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lux-ury Ser-viced Apart-ments in Bayswa-ter: if a cen-tral Lon-don loca-tion, good trans-port links and mag-nif-i-cent views of Hyde Park appeal to you, then look no fur-ther. Foun-tain House is a beau-ti-ful prop-erty offer-ing 17 ser-viced apart-ments sit-u-ated right across the road from Hyde Park (oppo-site Lan-caster Gate tube sta-tion) and within min-utes from Padding-ton Sta-tion and the Heathrow Express. This is the per-fect base from which to explore and enjoy the cap-i-tal with London's many attrac-tions close by. Foun-tain House is close to the shop-ping hub of Oxford Street, world-famous restau-rants of Queensway, fash-ion-able Not-ting Hill, Edge-ware Road and con-ve-nient trans-port links are on the doorstep. All the apart-ments are designed for com-fort and equipped with mod-ern ameni-ties, includ-ing broad-band, satel-lite tele-vi-sion, fully-fitted Kitchens and 24-hour mon-i-tored secu-rity by Recep-tion desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, CityZen, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fountain House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain House Apartments Hotel London
Fountain House Apartments London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain House Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.