We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elmwood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Elmwood Hotel to your Saves list
Elmwood Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   19 Argyle square | Kings cross London, London WC1 H8AS, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #332 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel for short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Elmwood Hotel is a small hotel with an excelent location, only 3 min walk from the stations (King's Cross and St Pancras), in a quiet park square filled with hotels and residential apartments. The area is quiet and safe.
The hotel itself is a small old ex-house building, set on many levels. The owners wanted to make as many rooms as possible so the hotel feels a bit cramped and it has a lot of stairs. We got our room in the basement, so no view from our window, which was fine for us as we intended to sleep there only. The room was on the small side, but it was comfy enough, well fitted (everything worked fine, including the heating - and it's only the beginning of October), and most important, it was clean.
The staff were friendly, very polite and helpful, they gave us maps and indications. The breakfast was ok for us (I suppose after a few days it get's boring to eat the same thing), the ladies serving were fast. The downside is the size of the breakfast room, which can get very crowded and with people waiting outside to get in. We found a table everytime, but we couldn't stop noticing guests just hanging there after finishing eating, even though there were people waiting to come in. So it's not only the hotel's fault.
The hotel has more of a hostel feel to it, so I don't recommend it for seniors/disabled people, or people who have high standards of comfort or quietness. This was the only thing I really disliked : it's and old building, with almost no sound proofing, so you can hear squeaking and craking as people moved along on higher floors, as well as water running through the pipes. But after a day of sightseeing, we slept as babies :))
We also used their luggage storage facilities (5 pounds / bag / day - cheaper than at the station where you pay 9 or 10 pounds /bag/day)
Overall it's a good hotel for a short stay and if you don't plan to linger inside the premises for too long. I think it's a good value, even though it's very expensive for what you find there. But London is insanely expensive and this was the only hotel I could find in central areas under 100pounds/night with ensuite bathrooms. So you pay mostly for the excelent location.

Room Tip: request a room on the middle floors, avoid basement and top floors. They are larger, brighter and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear our Guest,

thanks for your time adding your review on TripAdvisor website towards your latest stay at London Elmwood hotel, we are very pleased to hear that you were satisfy about our service, thanks for your
complementary words about the staff , location , service etc....
we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me direct in order to arrange the best available room for you next time.
John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    62
    107
    69
    59
See reviews for
87
79
43
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We are a retired couple. The room was small but perfectly adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. The location was perfect for us. All in all a good place to stay. We would happily stay there again. The charge for using a credit card was in the booking information and we were permitted to pay with cash later on in the day. We had no problems with this hotel at all.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mr Nelson,

My best Regards from London Elmwood hotel, and in behalf of the whole staff we thank you very much for your nice words about the Elmwood hotel, service,staff, and etc,,,,,

we are very pleased that we managed to satisfy your need and you had a peaceful stay in our hotel.

we loom forward to welcoming you in the near future.
John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

There is not a good word I can say about this hotel other than the location Is perfect if travelling to kings cross or to st pancras rail stations. The rooms are very small dated undecorated and smell unpleasant and the room I was staying in had ripped curtains. For the amount of money I spent to stay at this hotel the least I could expect is the small things to be welcoming.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear our guest,
Thank you for your comment on Trip advisor web page towards your recent stay at the Elmwood hotel,
I am sorry to hear from you that you wasn't happy about your stay, you mentioned the room size was small, and the torn curtain ,
I have investigated both issue and I have ordered the hotel management to replace the curtain straightaway, I wish if yo have asked any member of the staff and we would helped you straightaway to replace or change your room without any problem.
We hope that you don't judge us from your short stay and please give me the chance to welcoming
You again in our hotel with new attitude and brand new service for your next stay.
Your sincerely ,
John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Only giving this property 3 stars as it is not meant to be a 5 star hotel. Conveniently located close to the train station where you grab the Eurostar to Paris. The room was a bit cramped for 3 people, looks like they just added a 3rd bed in a double room. However, this is London in a convenient location so we were not surprised. Just make sure you don't sleep next to a bed hog if you are the one sharing a bed. The staff was friendly and allowed us into the room before official check in time. There are some nice/reasonable places to eat in close walking distance. Great Indian food in the area if that is your thing. Also, there was a fun Irish/English? pub close to the area. The chair in the lobby use to belong to the Queen ;)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear our client ,
Thank you for your recent nice review towards your recent stay at London Elmwood hotel,
Thank you also for the nice photos that you added, also for your comments about our location and service, we are very pleased that we managed to satisfy your need with our budget place.
From London please accept our regards and from Elmwood hotel please have all of the respect
We would love to welcoming you again.
Please do not hesitate to contact me direct next time you travel to London and I will offer you the best service possible just to thank you for your nice lovely , funny comment.
Specially about the Queen chair that we do have in the hotel reception.

Your truly,
John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle under lyme
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

this hotel is very well situated if travelling to or from Kings Cross or St Pancras. It was very clean and quietly situated opposite a leafy square. Security is excellent and staff are very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was included in the price but unfortunately breakfast was not served until 8.00am and as the Eurostar trains ask travellers to be on the station at the latest 7.45am for check in it is not suitable if you desire a breakfast and no adjustment is made for those unable to eat. There were several people in the same situation as ourselves.I had requested accommodation with easy access and a bedroom on the ground floor was duly provided. This was a pleasant room and would have been of adequate size if it had not had accommodation for a family. One extra single bed would have been alright but two made it impossible to move. The double bed had a double size metal base with a mattress that was several inches short of the edge on both sides. and the en-suite door could only be opened half way What could have been a comfortable stay was somewhat
short of expectations

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Our Guest,
Thanks for your time adding your accommodation review on this web page,
we appropriate all the small points you mentioned on your comment.

The breakfast service hours is mentioned on the website page you booked and we can't serve
it any earlier because we are tied by the tube & public transport starting time because of our staff
using the transport to come to the work,
for example we can't serve breakfast at 4 O'clock in the morning !!!
But our breakfast is from 7.30 to 9.30 Am same as other hotels in the area.
have a wonderful day and we wish to see you again in the near future .

John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The room was too small, but clean and very well located. Close to a big subway station (same one to get EuroStar), easy to get a bus to anywhere. Good enough if you don't plan on stay outside for most part of the time and come back to the hotel just to rest...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear our Guest,

Thanks for your nice words towards your latest stay at London Elmwood Hotel,
we are very pleased that we managed to satisfy your needs.
from London and in behalf of the whole staff at the hotel please accept our best regards.
we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The only thing I can say about this place is: Location, location, location. It's within easy walking distance to the St. Pancaras/King's Cross train. Be aware, however that you get what you pay for and the price isn't even a real bargain. The room was very small, the bathroom even smaller and the included breakfast was served cold in a cramped room with nasty servers. AND they charged for leaving bags, using a credit card and a ton of other usually included items. Also, our room was street-side and the park across the street lent itself to all kinds of very late evening noise, not at all conducive to sleep. Don't expect luxury. Don't expect anything....except location.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and go to a better place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for your kind review towards your recent stay at the Elmwood hotel in London,
Thanks for your positive comment regarding the location,
We do apologies that we couldn't satisfy your need this time, with regard the opposite park I would like to inform you that this park is locked in the evening by the authorised department from 7pm to 7 am.
With regards the breakfast we do serve fully continental breakfast boild eggs, cheese slices , hams , yogurts , toast brown and white , butter , jams and 3 different type of cereals and also fruit salads
So the breakfast menu is really full of different items.
I am so sorry that you didn't like our menu and please accept my apologies.
John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elmwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Hotel

Address: 19 Argyle square | Kings cross London, London WC1 H8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmwood Hotel is convenient for all London Travelers, leisure or Business travelers, The Elmwood hotel is located just few minutes walk from kings Cross International,National and local under ground station,where is the Euro Star Train & the Direct connection to Paris, and all the UK cities and Towns, also the very central Location of the Elmwood hotel gives you a special experience and saves your time,The hotel close and 15 minutes walking to the British Museum, and Library, also to Euston train station, and few stops to Madam Tussaud's Museum, and 10 minutes by tube to the west end, Piccadilly, Covent garden and Trafalgar Square, nothing else you need when you are in London to be in a very central location such our Location, we are proud to provide this family run business of 35 en-suite bedrooms, budget clean and nice accommodation,with free WIFI,and breakfast. All our rooms with private en-suite shower and toilet, LCD & DVD TV, coffee and Tea facilities in the room,24 hours central heating,room safe deposit,and 24 hours front office.if you think of arranging a sightseeing tour in or outside London or having a trouble to manage your trip in the City, you will find us helping you in organizing your trip and planing it for you via our helpful front office staff and our reception desk, we will great you since the first minutes of your arrival with your free London city map, and up to your departure with our shuttle bus and the direct connection transfer to your airport.Our Job is to please you and seeing you smile and returning back to us, with out 12 years hotel experience we trust and ensure that your stay is trouble free with Elmwood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elmwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elmwood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.