We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ideal Neighborhood Diner. Tiara misu or Full Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balans Earls Court - CLOSED

Balans Earls Court
239 Old Brompton Road, London SW5 9HP, England (South Kensington)
02082448838
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: French, American, British, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Transit: Tube - Earls Court; Bus - 14, 74, 148, 328, C1, C3
Description: Located at 239 Old Brompton Street, Balans is open from 7.30am until midnight Monday to Friday and Sundays. On Fridays and Saturdays it stays open till 1am. The comfortable dining room and conservatory offer the perfect location to enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. Balans offers a seasonal menu as well as changing daily specials using the best and freshest ingredients available. Breakfast specialities include eggs Benedict, blueberry pancakes as well as a traditional English breakfast. House specialities are steaks, seafood, the famous Balans burger as well as truly tempting desserts. With a varied modern brasserie style menu Balans really hits the spot. Balans also offers an extensive wine menu and a cocktail bar serving a wide range of delicious drinks, including martinis, mojitos and frozen daiquiris. Famous for a warm welcome and friendly service, Balans Earls Court is the perfect place for a great dining experience.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Ideal Neighborhood Diner. Tiara misu or Full Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is what we used to have in the States. A corner hang-out for local people to grab a bite or have a filling meal. Fast and efficient or just spread out the paper. It's a basic deli menu and served up well: grilled favorites and great salads. Your wine's not chilled enough? You're in the wrong place. Roll with it. It's a great mix of characters (when I'm there) but always welcoming. Last week I saw a Japanese tourists come in. She spoke no english. But they got it sorted!

There certainly was a great view - lots of young stylish people passing on the street. There's street-side cafe eating and big tables inside to have instant birthdays.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    43
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Sunday brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I've been for lunch and dinner but always enjoy Sunday brunch! The full English is great and the coffee is very good. There's a variety of different dishes but the atmosphere and service makes the visit even more enjoyable. It's a favourite with local residents so you might have to wait if you've not reserved a table. If you're coming for dinner don't forget to arrive before 7pm or you'll miss the happy hour two-for-one cocktail special!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very patchy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Always great service and atmosphere but food only average at best. I've had great breakfasts but dinner always hit and miss

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Used to be better.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Used to be regular customers of both Balans Earls Court and Soho. We will not be back in a rush. Service was mixed - one friendly waiter but the rest of the staff nonchalant at best and not interested in comments about food. Wine was not chilled enough, and food was very disappointing. Shrimp linguine was dreadful - overdone chilli masking an unpleasant taste. Huge home cut chips not touched. Other diners were also complaining about food. Shame. It all felt rather unloved and needing a revamp. Wish we'd gone elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Public Relations Manager at Balans Earls Court, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Customer,

On behalf of Balans please accept my sincere apologies for your recent negative experience. We always welcome feedback and are always looking to improve. I'm sorry that your comments were not handled properly by your waiter and I hope you won’t be deterred from giving us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
166 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Convenient for Earls Court”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a bit of time to spare before watching Olympic volleyball at Earls Court, so we walked down the Old Brompton Road for a coffee and found Balans. Location is good, cappuccino was fine and mint tea was enjoyable. Staff were friendly too. We didn't eat, but several were doing so. Looks like a good safe bet. We'd go back if we were in the same situation again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Public Relations Manager at Balans Earls Court, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to recommend us. We're very glad that you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balans Earls Court also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balans Earls Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.