We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Earls Court” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Balans Earls Court - CLOSED

Balans Earls Court
239 Old Brompton Road, London SW5 9HP, England (Earls Court)
02082448838
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: American, British, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Earls Court
Transit: Tube - Earls Court; Bus - 14, 74, 148, 328, C1, C3
Description: Located at 239 Old Brompton Street, Balans is open from 7.30am until midnight Monday to Friday and Sundays. On Fridays and Saturdays it stays open till 1am. The comfortable dining room and conservatory offer the perfect location to enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. Balans offers a seasonal menu as well as changing daily specials using the best and freshest ingredients available. Breakfast specialities include eggs Benedict, blueberry pancakes as well as a traditional English breakfast. House specialities are steaks, seafood, the famous Balans burger as well as truly tempting desserts. With a varied modern brasserie style menu Balans really hits the spot. Balans also offers an extensive wine menu and a cocktail bar serving a wide range of delicious drinks, including martinis, mojitos and frozen daiquiris. Famous for a warm welcome and friendly service, Balans Earls Court is the perfect place for a great dining experience.
UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Convenient for Earls Court”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a bit of time to spare before watching Olympic volleyball at Earls Court, so we walked down the Old Brompton Road for a coffee and found Balans. Location is good, cappuccino was fine and mint tea was enjoyable. Staff were friendly too. We didn't eat, but several were doing so. Looks like a good safe bet. We'd go back if we were in the same situation again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Public Relations Manager at Balans Earls Court, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to recommend us. We're very glad that you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    35
    43
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
TORQUAY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Worst meal and service in a week in London”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Arrived at Balans earls court early tonight and had a table by myself ordered a bottle of white wine that was warm but after a long day wasnt worth complaining about starter arrived and was very nice but the offer of fresh pepper which I agreed to never materialised again not worth moaning about but the restaurant which used to have queues was half empty I ordered the main course. chicken with golden potatoes which arrived quickly (a bit too quickly) but after eating one of the potatoes I noticed they had a funny taste cutting open the others they were rotten and green right through I spoke to the waiter who said "they don't look right at all" I'll speak to the chef however my replacement meal arrived in 2 minutes much too quick to be re prepared and the potatoes again were rock hard and didn't taste right they were like leftovers from a Sunday roast that had been microwaved , I didn't eat them and the same waiter took away the plate without even a word but brought the bill with a 12.5% surcharge forserving me warm wine and bad food , I paid the bill including the meal I couldn't eat but minused the service charge again he never said a word

Avoid Balans earls court like the plague it was the most expensive and worse food of my week in London

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Public Relations Manager at Balans Earls Court, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Customer,

On behalf of Balans I am deeply apologetic that you had such a negative experience. We always welcome feedback whether it be good or bad. Your comments have been reviewed and we will take action accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Although we are not gay, as we work nearby we sometimes go to Balans in Earls Court as a post work venue, most recently this week. The venue is friendly, confortable, and the waiting staff are always helpful, welcoming you as thgough you were old friends. The happy hour cocktails make them good value and there is a wide range, although it is a shame mojito's are no longer included :(. We all had dinner and the food was lovely as always. The burgers are huge, with giant chips, and the tuna was perfect (I love mine 'blue'), although it would have benefitted from a side, such as rice or a salad being included. For once we also had desert and all picked the brownie, with pistachio ice cream which was delish! There was also a live band, which we havent had before, so were looking forward to the extra entertainment, but sadly they left a lot to be desired and what was billed as jazz sounded more like untuneful noise. However, the band were not loud and did not detract from a very enjoyable evening.
Will continue to visit and enjoy this venue

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Public Relations Manager at Balans Earls Court, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for such a fantastic review! We're so glad you enjoyed your evening with us. For future reference, Music Nights are every Wednesday and we're refining our acts so hopefully next time you visit you'll enjoy it more. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant good for dinner and breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Good value for £ food, pleasant surroundings and excellent service. Eggs Benedict were great!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Public Relations Manager at Balans Earls Court, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and are always looking to improve. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't drink the tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We've been going to Balans West for Sunday Brunch for many years and they do an excellent eggs benedict. The service is friendly but efficient and it had a nice atmosphere.

However, I get the feeling that whoever buys the tea for the Balans group is a coffee drinker - the so-called "English Breakfast" tea is as weak as dishwater and while it is served in an infuser with a filter, you could leave it there all day and it still wouldn't taste of anything.

My tip - take you're own tea bags and ask for some boiling water.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balans Earls Court also viewed

 
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balans Earls Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.