We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart, chic and delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitechapel Gallery Dining Room

Whitechapel Gallery Dining Room
76 - 82 Whitechapel High Street, London E1 7QX, England (Whitechapel)
+44 20 7522 7888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,997 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Whitechapel
Transit: Right on top of Aldgate East tube station on the District and Hammersmith and City line.
Description: The new Whitechapel Gallery Dining Room offers a unique dining experience, championing British ingredients and using local seasonal produce in an eclectic and interesting way. Acclaimed Head Chef Maria Elia has adopted a ‘short but sweet’ eclectic menu, which will change and evolve on a regular basis. She introduces diners to different textures and flavors of vegetables, as well as seasonal fresh fish and meat. With the launch of her new book The Modern Vegetarian, there will always be something on the menu to tempt vegetarians!
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Smart, chic and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked this restaurant as we had previously been to Murano, another of Angela Hartnett's culinary hotspots. We certainly weren't disappointed! The atmosphere is established immediately from the busy exterior of East End contrasting with the sophisticated interior of the intimate setting. We went for a family meal but would be a perfect setting for a romantic dinner. The service was impeccable and the food was original but done to the best standard. I had blue cheese, pear and walnut salad to start which was suitably delicate but packed full of flavour. A beef pie followed by chocolate fondant and salted caramel ice cream made for an exquisite meal. Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    25
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“top rate at a sensible price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The entrance to this lovely restaurant is slightly hidden at night, you need to enter via what looks like an empty corridor. That out the way, the dinning room itself is immaculate - modern, warm and comfortable.
The staff were very helpful and the chefs created some lovely dishes.
The food was full of flavour, well presented and there was an ample potion. The truffle chips are an excellent side dish. The desserts were also full of flavour with that home made taste.
The atmosphere was relaxed but it also felt like a special place where you can have a romantic meal...but without the price tag.
I would definitely come back here again..though i hear the restaurant is being sold. This will be a shame. its a great restaurant with some great chefs behind it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“British cuisine in stylish surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Visited on impulse on a Saturday night and was pleasantly surprised. An intimate dining room tucked away between Aldgate East Station and Brick Lane, this place definitely deserves consideration. I enjoyed razor clams with radish & bacon as a starter followed by leg of rabbit with peas & cream. Both dishes tasted as good as they looked. At last I've experienced truly authentic British cuisine!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Elegant dining room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Step off the chaos of the Whitechapel Road, dodge the Jack the Ripper tour and you enter a beautifully designed dining room with all the design touches you might expect from a leading centre of the arts. The lighting is particularly lovely.

The menu was simple, Italian inspired but with a nice twist. Short wine list worked well. Both waitresses were charming, informed and attentive without being overbearing.

So the mystery was why we were the only table for most of our meal? It may be August holiday desertion (London is a ghost town at the moment) but the restaurant certainly deserves a loyal following.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went for dinner on a friday night. Delicious food, elegantly presented and fairly priced. Our waitress was delightful and not remotely pushy. Great selection of appetizers for those who prefer something smaller than a starter.

It was quieter than we had expected for a friday night yet the atmosphere was pleasantly relaxing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitechapel Gallery Dining Room also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Whitechapel Gallery Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitechapel Gallery Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.