We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality but London City Price Tag” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Pierre White Steak and Alehouse

Marco Pierre White Steak and Alehouse
109-117 Middlesex Street, London E1 7JF, England
+44 20 7247 5050
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Marco Pierre White Steak and Alehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,354 of 17,929 Restaurants in London
Price range: $58 - $97
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Marco Pierre White Steak & Alehouse is a traditional steakhouse in the heart of the Square Mile, serving a mouth-watering choice of steak cuts and a range of timeless English dishes. Its discreet entrance, just off bustling Bishopsgate, leads you into an archetypal steakhouse dining room, complete with a stylish cocktail bar. As well as the finest quality steaks, the menu features grilled and roast meats, fish mainboards and classic English puddings. Marco Pierre White Steak & Alehouse is popular during the week with the City for client entertaining and boasts a private dining room that seats up to 30 guests. At the weekend, local residents and discerning steak lovers enjoy great food at this hip location just off Spitalfields.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good quality but London City Price Tag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

In my own errror I visited this restaurant using a voucher, being shunned into a corner of the restaurant with other people grasping their vouchers we were not treated unkindly but needless to say kept away from the full price paying clients ! The reduced menu was well executed for the so called value £109's. I confess I did expect more WOW factor after all this was a first visit was it not meant to entice me back ? That said the staff were exceptionally good, I have lots of praise for them. The food whilst delicious didn't impress particularly. Watch out for the service charge as this is not awarded in the same way as cash tips. Ambience and decor were comfortable. What were the tv screen fireplaces up on the wall really about I am still pondering !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    429
    306
    165
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Three course and champagne cocktail at special price.

Expensive and certainly nothing special.

Would not go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We dined at this restaurant after someone gave us a voucher. This included 3 courses and a champagne cocktail. The pork belly served on a bed of cannelini beans was in particular was absolutely delicious. The service was great, the only thing I would say is that it was a bit dull decor wise, not what you would expect. Would highly recommend and would love to go back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very enjoyable can not fault”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

It was my wife birthday and our first visit. We found the atmosphere relaxing and we did not feel rushed in anyway. The service was very good and the food was excellent, my steak was to die for!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nothing special, dig deep for mediocre treatment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Staff indifferent, steak thin and hevasily salted but very pricey. Lamb disappointing. Pate lovely. Potted shrimp no different from anywhere else, except a price prermium. Fruit flies buzzing around my plate whilst eating. Just simply did live up to the legend that is Marco Pierre White. His name is on the door on and on the menu, but I doubt he would be pleased with the food nor would he be pleased in paying for it, or at least the premium prices charged I assume that his name is meant to bring in. In truth I could have had 4 better meals for the same price elsewhere in London. As said - if the service was great then maybe you would feel special, if the food had more love put into it you might sing its praises, but simply put, even at half the price I was charged, I would not return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco Pierre White Steak and Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Marco Pierre White Steak and Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Pierre White Steak and Alehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.