We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Italy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Negozio Classica

Negozio Classica
283 Westbourne Grove, London, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
02070340005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,056 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Description: In the heart of Notting Hill, Negozio Classica serves as a haven for fine Italian wines. Try over 20 wines by the glass, buy by the bottle for drinking on the premises or taking home and choose from our delicious range of antipasti and other delicacies.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little bit of Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The best thing about this place is the chilled friendly atmosphere. We enjoyed a perfect Cappuccino, followed by an even more perfect glass of chilled Rose (sorry can't remember the the name) recommended by one of the staff. The food is simple - but tasty and true to the Italian roots. Lovely!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    10
    15
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Appalling service, absurd portions, avoid like the plague”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Blatantly rude unprofessional waitress who literally snapped 'can't you see how busy we are' when we enquired if our bruschetta was on its way after 15 minutes. When it did finally arrive the bruschetta consisted of a slice of toasted bread with a microscopic sliver of cheese on it. This is really taking the p** but the waitress's rudeness (witnessed by other staff who didn't bat an eyelid) says it all about this overpriced, poor quality and frankly unpleasant establishment.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Negozio Classica, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Nina P.
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at Negozio Classica Notting Hill. We are all deeply saddened to hear that you were so terribly disappointed. We pride ourselves on our warm, friendly team and I am really shocked and upset that you were treated in such a way. We are taking this matter extremely seriously and hope to get to the bottom of how it happened and to also ensure that it never happens again. In addition a single slice of crostini with fontina cheese is absolutely not the normal portion size and again we are investigating to make sure this does not happen again. We would very much like to try to make this up to you and will contact you personally to see how we can do it. Thank you once again for your comments, feedback like this is vital for us to continue to improve Negozio Classica.
Warm Regards, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

moved us in from our table in the rudest if fashions. shame cos the wine list, over priced though it is, is tasty

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“wine lovers dream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

quiet and calm even on a friday night.
Perfect place for a relaxing glass of wine.
Excellent wine list!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“South Europe tastes for wine lovers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

It is a place that I really love first of all for it's simplicity and their taste!Excellent variety of really good wines in quite reasonable prices as well.The variety of cheeses as a dish is probable the most lovely choice and also the quality mozzarella with avocado.All the varieties of bread are also quite good.On the other hand cold cuts like prosciutto and smaller sausages all the times I tried were disappointingly not fresh and average quality.One more disadvantage is the weak ventilation system of the kitchen and as a result some bad smells are coming in the main area of the restaurant.Nevertheless it is an excellent solution if you just want to nibble quality stuff for wine lovers!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Negozio Classica also viewed

 

Been to Negozio Classica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Negozio Classica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.