We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away for a 'Tasteful' Hen Do....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New London Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The New London Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
The New London Carlton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   120 Maida Vale, London W9 1QA, England (Paddington / Maida Vale)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Southwest
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Weekend away for a 'Tasteful' Hen Do....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

And we could not have picked a better Hotel. Staff were really friendly, the Apartment, at the back of the Hotel, ground floor everything we needed and more. Spotlessly clean, Clean good quality towels daily, Comfortable beds, Self contained kitchen. 15 minute walk to the Tube, 2 stops from Paddington Station. On our final day, the Manager looked after all our luggage until 4.30pm so we could enjoy the glorious sunshine and go shopping.
Fantastic. Would recommend to all ages.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter as it is on a Main Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepak R, Manager at The New London Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The New London Carlton Hotel. I am grateful for your feedback.

My team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the service provided to you.

Thank you once again for your review and I hope to see you again at The New London Carlton Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
19
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stay a lot in really nice 4 star hotels etc with work and stuff but needed a very last minute room (day before) for after a show (had originally planned on coming back) and aboslutely nothing was available that didnt look a total £50 a night fleapit or £250 plus for some very modest places that normally I would pay £110 a night for. This was the one exception that popped up.

It isnt flash and isnt the best looking hotel but in a reasonably pleasant leafy area. It doesnt have a nice reception or bar etc, just really rooms--- but the rooms were very clean indeed, pretty ok furnished, everything worked, bed was perfectly comfortable and nice bedding and the overall decor was quite nice too and tasteful. Clean little kitchen with fridge ,decent bed, couple of armchairs, ironing board and iron, decent shower-all very acceptable in the budget range. Ive stayed in worse 4 stars if just the room was taken into account. We had room 31. the staff were also very pleasant. A decent little budget find.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Manager-TNLC, Manager at The New London Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The New London Carlton Hotel. I am grateful for your feedback.

My team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had a nice time. Very soon we will be opening a small bar next to the reception area.

Thank you once again for your review and I hope to see you again at The New London Carlton Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephenson
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

the room was very clean it had a kitchen and a small bathroom the bed seemed to be at an angle it was very noise not good double glazing the traffic was not good breakfast was good little more than I would pay but it was a special weekend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Manager-TNLC, Manager at The New London Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The New London Carlton Hotel. I am grateful for your feedback.

My team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had a nice time. Sorry about the noise issue but we will certainly look into this. We welcome all feedback at The New London Carlton Hotel as we constantly seek to improve the experience of our guests and thank you for taking the time to review your stay.


Thank you once again for your review and I hope to see you again at The New London Carlton Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Located on Maida Vale road this hotel is very well placed for cricket fans attending Lords, about 15 minutes walk away. Our bedroom on the road side was noisy enough to keep the windows shut but was clean, well furnished and relatively functional. There was a double bed and two bedside tables but only one bedside light so no reading in bed for one of us - a major drawback. The shower produced only warm water at 6.30 pm and the plug in the wash basin leaked requiring constant topping up. The knob on the shower door was missing so one had to open the door by grabbing hold of it on top. A very short person could be trapped in the shower! The TV remote would function within a metre of the set as the battery needed changing. It was indicated that breakfast would (only?) be served in the bedrooms but this was not so and, although we declined the meal, we passed the breakfast area when leaving and the arrangements looked very good.
With a little more attention by management this hotel could be a gem. It.s a pity that it failed on small points that attention to detail could have obviated.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Manager-TNLC, Manager at The New London Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The New London Carlton Hotel. I am grateful for your feedback.

Sorry for the inconvenience you had to face during your stay. We welcome all feedback at The New London Carlton Hotel as we constantly seek to improve the experience of our guests and thank you for taking the time to review your stay.


Thank you once again for your review and I hope to see you again at The New London Carlton Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The rooms were very clean and properly furnished despite the negative pictures posted. You get what you pay for with this hotel in terms of size but it's still very comfortable.

the staff were pleasant and accommodating although we had trouble with our tv the entire time (that's why I only gave if 4 stars).

very central location with easy access to the bus and to the tube station. On the down side, no laundry services.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I booked this with some trepidation because of the negative reviews - but clearly it has been refurbished and upgraded.
This place is clearly a mixture of self contained apartments and more traditional hotel rooms - but the quality and finish of my room was very good.
This place is smart and clean and 5 mins from Maida Vale tube which got me into Oxford circus in 10 mins.
Best of all the hotel offers onsite parking for £10 a day - which actually seems comparable. Overall the price (although objectively high) is still reasonable for London and compares well with the large chain hotel 200 yards up the road !
Overall I would recommend ignoring the older reviews and give it a go

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A small hotel on Maida Vale Road, on major bus lines, a couple blocks from a tube station, easy to get into central London, stores and pubs within easy walking distance, hotel staff very helpful. The room had a few problems which were taken care of, but hotel is clean, comfortable, reasonably priced, neat, good location, and I would stay there again. No fitness or business center, in room Wi-Fi, daily breakfast served but extra.

Room Tip: backside is quieter, but only a couple rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The New London Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New London Carlton Hotel

Address: 120 Maida Vale, London W9 1QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New London Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New London Carlton Hotel is a luxury apartahotel located in the heart of central London, providing corporate and individual visitors with a more spacious and carefree alternative to Hotels. The apartments offer a relaxed residence, a home away from home, but with all the facilities of a hotel. The New London Carlton Hotel is located close to the open spaces of Regents Park and Hyde Park as well as the shopping and entertainment facilities of the West End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The New London Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New London Carlton Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New London Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.