We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of iYara Thai Restaurant

iYara Thai Restaurant
136 Merton Road | Wimbledon, London SW19 1EH, England
+44 20 8543 6213
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We also provide a Takeaway service. NOTE: This is COLLECTION ONLY.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A delicious gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We booked a family meal at iYara Thai Restaurant last week, and I am delighted to report that we now have a new local! Having lived in Wimbledon for a couple of years and being a big fan of Thai food since visiting the country a couple of times, it is fantastic to discover the gem that is iYara. We were warmly welcomed by the excellent host and enjoyed a fantastic meal. The mixed starters were a delicious prelude to a beautifully presented and tasting selection of curries and pad thai. All of the food was fresh and as authentic as I have tasted outside of Thailand, and I would thoroughly recommend it. They were accommodating and more than happy to adjust the dishes to our very mixed palates, and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    23
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely atmosphere and good value. What more could you want?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We love Thai food but stopped going out as we could not find authentic Thai at a reasonable price locally. IYara is exactly what we have been looking for. The owner is lovely and makes you feel very welcome. He was even able to remember our special requests about spicyness after our very first visit (we like things hotter than they normally do it). We overheard a conversation about a particular Thai dish that we love but was not on the menu and now the owner now lets us order this as well. It is not very often you can order such specific things that are not on the standard menu. Awesome customer service. The food is freshly prepared and made with high quality fresh ingredients. You can tell the difference. I also love the fact that some things like Mango desserts are only available in season when the fruit as at their best. Only the best will do in this place. I highly recommend you try it. You will not regret it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good value, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It's always good to go to a restaurant where you meet the owner and clearly see the care and thought put into a restaurant. I felt like that with this restaurant. The service was very friendly, relaxed and genuine yet not invasive. The restaurant decor is beautiful and the lighting is just right - making for a lovely atmosphere. The food is also delicious!! That's about all I have to say really. It's always a delight to discover a great restaurant close to where you live.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I love this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I love this restautrant. The food is absolutely delicious, so fresh and authentic. The charming and friendly service always adds to a very enjoyable evening. We are now regular dinners.

Sally and Andrew Kingsley

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great taste small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

tried this place after reading some positive reviews, nice warm friendly atmosphere and spotlessly clean. Welcoming waiter, I had prawn with squid and the portion consited on 4 prawns and 4 tiny pieces of squid, although nice taste I stil felt hungry. Usually go to Hi Bangkok and have to say the food is on par but the portions at Hi Bangkok are much better. shame as everything else is nice. Also waiter by himself so service was a bit slow.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed iYara Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to iYara Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage iYara Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.