We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality and good value considering its location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Troia

Troia
3F Belvedere Road | County Hall, London SE1 7GQ, England
020 7633 9309
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Troia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,995 of 17,944 Restaurants in London
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: European, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: This smart glass-fronted caf��, restaurant bar on Belvedere Road is neighbours with the Royal Festival Hall, Yo Sushi! and Chez Gerard in that cultural hot-spot, the Southbank. The 82-dishes (excluding set, special and children meals) offer a comprehensive taste of Turkey's national (healthy) diet. There's kisir, a cold starter of nuts, bulgar wheat, herbs and spring onions. Hearty mains include kuzu guvec, a lamb casserole, and a delicious mariage of runner beans and onions served with a rich tomato sauce and rice called yesil fasulye. There are fish, pasta, rice, and special veggie dishes too. Desserts make an intriguing change from treacle pudding and cheesecake. How about kaymakh kestane - sweet chestnuts sprinkled with chestnuts and served with home-made cream?
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and good value considering its location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

You can get a reasonably priced meal in London near the attractions.This place is easy to find and offers a good selection of meals on a fixed price menu.I think it was two courses for £7.95. The houmus and taramasalata were as good as we have had and the fresh bread was first rate and plentiful.The service was fantastic and the children were made very welcome. The main courses were filling and well made with fresh salad. Very clean and a good setting, we will go back when next in London. There is a discretionary service charge added to the menu, I would rather choose to tip than have that choice made for me but in fairness it was worth evert penny.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    192
    54
    16
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Turkish Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Visited on 17th Feb 2013. What a find,not easy but well worth the search,near the London Eye the Troia is just around the corner in Belvedere Road. A friendly waitress greeted us, that is my wife and I and took us to our table,on looking around found the Decor bright and cheerful,then I decided to pay a visit to the toilets and found them to be very clean and and tiled in bright colours along with other pleasing decorations, a good sign of a good restaurant in my opinion. On return to my table the the vey helpful staff took our order. The food was of high quality. My wife had the Mixed Grill(Minced Lamb,Chicken Kebab and Lamb Kebab served with salad and rice) for my self Lamb Kebab also with salad and rice. The taste buds were singing praise to the tenderness and taste of all the meats on our plates(the Lamb was marinated Filet Tasty ) All in All a fitting end to great day out (Had been to see Let It Be up town,Sun Matinee, but still plenty of Rocking in the aisles) Could have done The Eye in the morning then that would have A Hard Daze Night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fresh Turkish food at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Comfortable relaxing restaurant, food was how Turkish should be.
The staff were welcoming and the boss a real charmer. All food was good and large portions.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“No flavour and small portions”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Until you get in the door and sit down, they are very attentive and engaging. Lots of push to get you inside, and then no service at the table, very disappointing. Nice decoration, lovely lamps, beautiful colours but frenetic loudy noisy atmosphere. Had to wait for service, wait for food. Which was overcooked-the seabream-and undercooked, the lamb. The bread was not fresh, and everything the salad the yoghurt the meat, had the same seasoning on it, which was not particularly middle eastern, tasted like it came out of a bland premixed jar of cheap spices. Very disappointing. Won't bother to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very disappointing!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

After making several trips to visit a friend in St. Thomas's hospital over the past three weeks and passing the Troia which looked very inviting we decided to eat there on Saturday evening.

All started well with a pleasant greeting, seated nicely and asked for our drinks order. After viewing the menu which was very varied with a fairly large choice I asked the waiter his recommendation between two dishes to which he replied that both of these and in fact all the cassrolle dishes were finished. (8.30 pm) I quickly had to make another choice and asked about the king prawn dish which the waiter recommended saying it was tasty dish with large king prawns.

Our starter was grilled mushrooms with home made bread. This arrived with pitta bread (not convinced this was home made!) The mushrooms were tinned and the whole dish lacked any flavour. We were half way through the starter when the waiter came over and asked it he could bring our mains as they were ready. We asked to finish our starter - a few minutes later he came back and said that he would like to take our small plates as he wanted to bring our main course.
When the main courses arrived my dish contained rather small "king prawns" and the sauce resembled and tasted the same as the mushroom starter dish - both of which had very little flavour. My friend had ordered the Spinich and potatoe dish and it was just that, potatoes with spinich - no flavour at all. We had a side of basatimi rice with almonds which was the same rice as given with the dish but with almonds sprinkled on top.

The food was completely tasteless, not well presented and the service poor. Wine a bit grim too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Troia also viewed

 

Been to Troia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Troia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.