We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Orchid @ The John Baird

The Black Orchid @ The John Baird
122 Fortis Green Road | Muswell Hill Road, London N10 3HN, England
+44 20 8444 8830
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,826 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Price range: $30 - $61
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolute gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were staying in Muswell Hill for a couple of days and walking around looking for somewhere to eat when we came across the John Baird pub. Both being big fans of Thai food we decided to give it a try and oh! are we so glad that we did! Totally delicious food, exceptionally presented - the sea bass will be long remembered and the classic stir fry with thai basil was oh so tasty! The wide range of real ales and quality ciders must also be mentioned. We sat in the pub side to enjoy our meal which was just as nice as if we had sat in the restaurant. Excellent quality, excellent value for money, highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Thai food in John Baird pub in Muswell Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

A lot of pubs in London have Thai on the menu, but this one is a bit special. Great pad thai and curries. You can eat in the pub, the dining room or there is an outdoor space as well. It was a nice day and aren't partial to watching football, so sat outside in the sunshine. Great service and reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Restaurant quality in a pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The John Baird is a great pub, with a great and ever-changing selection of ales, and the Black Orchid is the Thai restaurant that shares the space. But if you are drinking in the pub, the restaurant does proper table service with the same quality food. It is reasonably priced and the quality is always good (we've eaten there plenty of times) - faultless.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great Thai food while watching your fav match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

this place has 2 sections. either you sit down at the restaurant or at the pub and order. during foot ball season they have 2 large screens, tvs going on. well located, friendly service, nice food, not very expensive. will go when we want Thai food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Pad Thai ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

One of the best thai meal I ever had. Relaxing atmosphore and very attentive staff which brings over the authentic Thai flavours. The taste is awesome and the price quite reasonable. Take away available and strongly recommended a walk around Muswell Hill after dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Orchid @ The John Baird also viewed

 

Been to The Black Orchid @ The John Baird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Orchid @ The John Baird, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.