We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The menu has a hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sahara Restaurant

Sahara Restaurant
39 Hereford Road, London W2 4AB, England (Marylebone)
020 7792 0770
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sahara Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,782 of 17,938 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Description: Drawing on 30 years' experience, Moroccan Sahara conjures the flavours, aromas and ambience of North African dining. Specialising in the national dish of Morocco, the tagine, Moroccan Sahara offers an array of clay pots filled with tender meat, fish and vegetables, and a selective list of complementing native wines. In the dining room, swathes of plush silk fabric, North African portraits and suspended lanterns make for an authentic hideaway.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The menu has a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Ignore its unpromising looks. This is an old-fashioned family Moroccan restaurant and those who walk past have not tried the hidden gem in its menu. The B'astilla - a lightly and subtly spiced round chicken pie, carefully decorated with icing sugar and cinnamon dusted over its thin filo pastry crust - is truly wonderful. It is regarded as royal food at home in Morocco and is rare and expensive there. This quiet little restaurant with its sweet proprietors make it superbly - one of the best bargains in London. Try it once and you will go back - as we do - over and over again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not for weekday visits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

we have been to Sahara twice and did not eat there the first time because it was too dull and Alounak with its vibrant ambience was close by. Its tiny and in one of the inside lanes and i guess that contributes to the lack of visitors. We went in this time because we had made a reservation and felt guilty but it turned out to be a bad decision. The tagine was alright, not as good as some of the other places. The chicken kebabs were just about ok and did not taste fresh. The mint tea was ok but not as good as the one at Alounak. The old gentleman who i guess owns the place is friendly and courteous although the service was pretty slow. Overall, a very average experience and even slightly boring.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Eaten here twice as I stay nearby for work sometimes. Really delicious fresh home cooked food with a simple but tempting menu. Friendly informal atmosphere, I'm just surprised it isn't full every night. This is the first time I have been moved to write a review, I can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious food, uncomfortable chairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Ate here last night. We tried two tagines - lamb with tfaya and chicken with veggies. I enjoyed the lamb more as the chicken breast was a little dry. Very tasty sauces. Both were served with couscous and olives with bread were served as a free starter. Tagines were around £12.50-15.
Not being used to London prices yet, we found the meal a bit expensive, but portions were big. The restaurant was nearly empty on a Sat night when other places were very full. Decor was nice, but the chairs were very uncomfortable.
Overall I'd go again, but I did wish the prices were lower.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Authentic flavours at an average price range, great spices and salads too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We dived in here during Carnival, as we wanted somewhere to sit down. We looked at the menu and realised it wasn't budget, prices range from £12-16 for a main meal. However you quickly realise that's a good deal, as you're getting authentic flavours served in the traditional way, in a tagine dish with cous cous or rice. It's a filling meal. Water, bread & olives are brought to the table free, without asking. The starters are excellent: salad, grilled halloumi and borek, a mini cheese puff pastry. Our waiter wasn't chatty but they were polite and didn't pressurise us. Service is added to the bill. A good find and a realustic taste of morocco.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sahara Restaurant also viewed

London, England
 

Been to Sahara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sahara Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.