We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak and cheesecake session” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Atelier des Chefs

L'Atelier des Chefs
19 Wigmore Street, London W1U 1PH, England
+44 20 7499 6580
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Steak and cheesecake session”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The tuition was great and the food delicious. However, the experience would have been improved had the introductory coffee/tea been complementary and a glass of wine served with the main course. I would not have minded paying a little more for these as part of the original price- I just did not like having these extras pushed on me! Despite this complaint, the experience was still good value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    29
    3
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“FABulous, FUN, and serious cooking and dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

RUN, don't walk, to organize your next teaming event at this cooking school venue. Our group of 20 business executives had an excellent time creating their meal in teams, feasting on their creations, and having an extraordinary good time together. it was 4 hours of camraderie, laughter, and genuine enjoyment of a group experience rare in their busy workday schedules. It was amazing how so many could be engaged and motivated to win the top chef award, or perhaps to avoid the worst cook award - all in good fun!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb experience, fun and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I attended the Cooking with Spices class. It was a fantastic 3 hours of learning kitchen skills, handy tips, building a knowledge about the dishes and Sri Lankan cooking. I couldnt have asked for more! It was a Friday afternoon and only 2 of us in the class. I would absolutely reccommend going mid-week as we had the full attention of the head chef for our entire class. Wonderful! Given the volume of food we ate and the knowledge i gained I think this was excellent value and would highly reccommend to anyone. The service during the whole experience was excellent. Everyone was very attentive and made me feel at home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Splendid introduction to cookery classes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our "Cook, Eat and Run" at L'atelier Wigmore Street. The session was booked using a gift voucher that my daughter had given me and it was the first time that I had taken any kind of cookery class. Although it was a short (30 minutes) class I did learn a few things, and the session is then extended by eating, and enjoying, what you have cooked with your classmates. This adds a very nice social aspect to the experience.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and our Chef/Instructor, Andrew, showed a great deal of skill including good tuition skills.

It is a pity that there isn't a L'atelier closer to us, I guess that we will just have to find another excuse to visit London soon so that we can take another class, perhaps something a little more challenging next time.
:-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great cooking class and tasty food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went here in a big group and the staff were warm and friendly. We took part in a wine tasting experience learning the basics of wine tasting and 3 course cooking class. The chef was great and interactive and managed to keep over 20 of us organised to make great meals. The recipes were great and tasted like top quality food you would find in a great restaurant. Fun experience and something different to do with a group of friends etc..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Atelier des Chefs also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to L'Atelier des Chefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Atelier des Chefs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.