We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Pirata Detapas, Westbourne Grove, London W2” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Pirata Detapas - CLOSED

El Pirata Detapas
115 Westbourne Grove, London W2 4UP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
+44 20 7727 5000
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“El Pirata Detapas, Westbourne Grove, London W2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We went for the tasting menu. The food here has always been excellent, but this time it seemed even better than on previous occasions. The tasting menu was well judged in terms of quantity, and every round of the 6 courses offered something unusual and interesting. We went with friends, who are excellent company (including perhaps Notting Hill's funniest racconteur) and perhaps due to this, the hurried nature of the service became very noticeable and slightly annoying. It was compounded by a cardinal sin - the rest of us having our plates removed during one round while my wife was still half-way through her dish. Overall, I'd give it 5 for the food and 3 for the service, hence the 4-star rating. It was a Friday night, so perhaps the service might be calmer at lunch or evenings earlier in the week.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    55
    27
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very average, if not disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The service was good but the food we had (the £21/person degustation) - had too many carbohydrate dishes and nothing really that special, lots of average tapas like croquettes, patatas aioli, bread, deep fried squid (yawn!) - the pork belly was delicious and there was a mousse with endives which were all used up before even a third of that dish was eaten.
I will revisit the mayfair one again because it's more fun and I will just be more careful to read the menu rather than taking the 'easy' option of a 'menu' which was sorely disappointing.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, limited and pricy selection of wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I was there with friends and food is very good, been there before and was amazed by quality of food. Get a little bit disappointed by 1) selection of wines il limited and quite pricy 2) we kept asking for bread as was really limited for 4 people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Spanish in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We've been to many Spanish restaurants all over the world and El Pirata is in the top 10 if not the top 1!!! Consistently delicious on all the favourites as well as with a nouveau twist. Must try the Pork Belly, Broken Eggs and for dessert Crema Catalana 'two ways'. Traditional paella also worth a mention. Good wines at reasonable prices and friendly staff complete the experience.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Went here with some colleagues for lunch recently and was very surprised by how authentic and delicious the tapas were here. We got the lunch menu for just under 10 pounds each which included a glass of wine, bread homemade aioli, and two tapas. I got a Spanish omlette and some chorizo - the portion sizes were great, tapas were the most authentic I've had outside of Spain, and very reasonably priced. Will definitely be returning soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pirata Detapas also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pirata Detapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.