We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Bermondsey Square Hotel to your Saves list
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England (Southwark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #269 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Really nice hotel, location is good close to London Bridge, Borough and Tower Hill.

Rooms are quite no wardrobes exposed hanging things, small beds are really comfortable, good selection of complimentary reading material.

Food is excellent, connected to Gregs Grill they tell me hes some kind of chef. The square has a Sainsbury and a small 10 seater cinema, and 2 mins from Bermondsey Road.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi Mr S
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your dinner in the Restaurant. We have changed the name to GB Grill & Bar, same great team and delicious food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    337
    92
    23
    20
See reviews for
84
423
61
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Used this Hotel often because it's convenient to whereI need to be......but it is more than that. The staff are friendly, breakfast is good....but best of all. A great nights sleep.
Only fault - getting a taxi on some days is a nightmare - but then you cannot really blame the Hotel for that.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you Mario a. Our investment in great quality beds has really paid dividends. We use madison beds in our superior rooms and ViSpring beds in our clubs & suites. What a difference a good nights sleep makes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I had my 30th for 50 people at Bermondsey street hotel, the event was seamless, the staff very organized and helpful and the food was really really great + the menu was very reasonably priced for such excellent food. It could not have been a better evening, i highly recommend the venue / restaurant for any special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Had a super weekend away with my Mum. They also have small organic veg stalls outside independently run with super offers. Hotel staff was super as always. This trip was my 3rd visit & yes I would stay with them again. Had an evening meal there with a fab fish which reminded me of Doley's in Australia! All in all a really nice Hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear ShazieJordie
Thank you for your kind words. Please come back for a fourth and fifth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel on a weekend away with my partner. The room was comfortable, nicely appointed and very clean. I have to say that I felt the foyer and bar/restaurant area left a lot to be desired. It was cold and unwelcoming and had no appeal whatsoever. As we arrived late on Friday evening, we decided to eat in the restaurant. The food was average at best, but I did think the staff were friendly and efficient. The bar area would not inspire you to sit down and have a nightcap as there was no warmth or ambience. The nearest train station London Bridge was a good 10 mins walk and that was fast walking not a leisurely stroll. Overall, the hotel is a bit off the beaten track even though the locality does boast some excellent restaurants and bars. I would not choose to stay in this hotel on my next visit to London.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear SusieFerg17
I am pleased that you enjoyed your room but sorry that your impression of our bar and restaurant was univiting. I must apologise that dealing with a leak that we had before Christmas in the bar took a little longer than anticipated and meant that the area was less welcoming than usual. Please rest assured that the works are now complete and I hope that I can encourage you to return to see the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Nice hotel in a highly gentrified area of Central London Beat the River Thames with lots of bars, pubs, cafes and restaurants. The hotel is crowded with hip (or At least meant to be hip) people and also a bit overpriced but definitely worth a stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, clean and tidy...quite a walk from the nearest tube... Approx 15-20 mins. Nice area quiet with good amenities local.

Nice comfy bed with good facilities in the room. Nice big towels in the bathroom... The only slight downside is that there was quite a lot of noise when people walked past the rooms and the interconnecting doors between the rooms also let a lot of noise through...

Good value and would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#198 Luxury Hotel in London
#219 Business Hotel in London
#229 Romantic Hotel in London
#313 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood.Gregg Wallace's latest restaurant venture, Gregg's Bar & Grill, is open at the Bermondsey Square Hotel. The warm decor in the Restaurant is in line with the Hotels 70s style and the menu in Gregg's is focused on good key ingredients, unadulterated by complicated flavors and reliant on good provenance and sourcing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square
The Bermondsey Square Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bermondsey Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.