We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, but at what price?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctum Soho Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctum Soho Hotel to your Saves list
Sanctum Soho Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Warwick Street, London W1B 5NF, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #608 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Arlington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Location, but at what price?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I stayed at the Sanctum Soho instead of my usual go-to London hotel choices, but won't make that mistake again. The hotel is very clean and the staff was great, checking me in early after my overnight flight arrival. But I just can't recommend the hotel to anyone given how noisy it can be and that, no matter how well informed you might be, the standard size room is tiny.

I realized, in retrospect, that what my corporate travel site deemed a "standard room" is what the Sanctum calls a Crash Pad. The room was large enough for a bed and space enough to pass by the foot of the bed on the way to the bathroom. The bed was quite comfortable, but that's something I expect in any decent hotel these days. The room had a few hooks for hanging clothes and a small cabinet for clothes which doubled as a nightstand.

The bathroom was clean but very small with a sink, toilet, and shower head. The shower isn't separated from the rest of the bath- it's tucked into a corner directly behind the sink. A drain in the floor takes care of the water though it felt like a race to shower before the puddle on the floor advanced past the bathroom door and into the bedroom.

On the plus side, there was free wifi in the room. But no desk (or even a chair) where a laptop might be utilized.

Larger rooms are available and look quite nice, but the cost to upgrade was close to 130 GBP a night on top of an already significant room rate.

Last, I would warn guests about the roof-top honor bar. It sounded like a lovely feature. Less so in the middle of the night when I could hear roof-top bon vivants above my 4th floor room and trudging down the staircase past my room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    69
    33
    24
    29
See reviews for
12
113
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

I stayed in the hotel a couple of weeks ago. The location is superb, no doubt. Actually this is the only advantage of the place.
In my booking confirmation the price for 2 nights was 300 pounds (there was a special rate, 1 night was 80 punds and the second was 120, or so). Can you imagine my surprise when I was charged 300 pounds for each night? I did not have a booking confirmation with me and had no time to fight that is why I paid and decided to settle the question later.
I've sent several letters to the customer service, reservations and reception. No reply. I called several times and each time was assured that I will receive an answer asap and they are handling my request. Nothing happened. Last time I called again and I was told that there was a mistake in the system and it indeed charged me extra money. The clerk assured me that I will receive the money refund confirmation on e-mail and soon all the money back. It was on May 6. No e-mail, no money, no nothing.
Here is the question: guys, why do you [--] up everything and don't want to solve this problem? Is this the way a respected hotel should treat its customers?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CI
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

First off let me say that it was a great location. Could not be faulted. The staff were friendly and really made our stay. The room was comfortable and well furnished with lots of extras including a Wii. It was faultlessly quiet and very discrete. The one real problem was the lift being out of order for all three days which is apparently a recurring problem and as there is only the one it left us to navigate the very dark narrow stairways. Also don't rely on the alarm calls, set the room alarm.

Overall I would say staying there is an interesting experience. Try it and find out and remember take your swim suit for the roof bar jacuzzi!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

room was well equipped with good quality furniture and fittings. iPhone dock was a much appreciated nice touch. Bathroom was fine with great water pressure on the shower and a nice heated floor. Room was quite small (superior double) and I stubbed my toe several times trying to make my way round things. The four poster bed dominated the room and added to the claustrophobic feeling along with the very dark colour scheme.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, but the kitchen staff seemed to be having a bad day at breakfast and made a complete hash of the service, much wringing of hands by the poor waitress as she struggled to cope. However, when we mentioned this on check out, the receptionist was most apologetic and refunded our breakfast bill.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

This place ruled - it's the nicest hotel I've stayed at in ages - people who know London will be impressed when you tell them you stayed here. When we got there it was raining, so someone took our bags and dried them off. The staff is sooo nice and professional (James the concierge is adorable, but you can tell he sends you to places the hotel has a relationship with not the best ones - so come prepared with your restaurant picks). The room has a glitter doorhandle. Now the shower is right in the bathroom, no curtain no separating feature at all - there's a sink, a toilet, and a shower head - so when you are done showering there is water all over the place. But the rest of the hotel is so nice that you honestly don't end up caring - my friend said the shower was amazing (and the water pressure was nice). The bed was huge - but a bit soft, my back actually hurt a little the next day. And I never usually watch tv - but i love British tv - and the digital service on the HD tv is awesome. Right in the middle of Soho - close to good shopping and gay bars (and horrible sceney bars with half dressed slutty British [in freezing Feb] girls and lines to get in). The bar is nice upstairs, but the bartender was 15 - makes you feel guilty for having a drink from him - in a he should be at home not working kind of way.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Have now used this hotel quite a few times for personal and professional use. Personal use - they are brilliant. Warm and friendly and incredibly accomodating. Food is fabulous. The Steak is amazing!! On the professional side - they are faultless. Our clients wanted for nothing. The Roofdeck is a must for an evening of superb fun and frivolity. And you never know who you might be sitting next to at the bar!! Oh yes, Sanctum has it all if you want to experience a celeb hideout without the celeb price tag. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

We've actually stayed here a lot now and although they struggeld to get things right at first like any other new hotel just opening, they really have got it right now. Friendly faces with unpretentious service and great food this Hotel has become a second home to us because the staff and the owner actually care unlike the big corporates. We're going back again and again be it business or pleasure, location is fantastic service is fantastic and food to die for. If you want boring corporate don't go, if you want to be looked after then go and enjoy the whole experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctum Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctum Soho Hotel

Address: 20 Warwick Street, London W1B 5NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#336 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctum Soho Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today’s rock’n’roll hotel is less about threats of incidental bodily harm and more about a glamorously decadent atmosphere, and the new model is a place like the Sanctum Soho.Here it means a dash of modern minimalism, a sprinkling of baroque opulence, and an emphasis on the darker end of the color palette. The in-room electronics are totally up to date, while some throwback touches are retained for atmosphere’s sake. It’s a twenty-four-hour hotel with a liberal, tolerant service concept; what you want, you’ll get, without so much as a raised eyebrow. In that, it’s not so fundamentally different from some of London’s more conservative luxury hotels — it just feels naughtier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sanctum Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctum Soho Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctum Soho Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.