We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice spot...credit cards at ready!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boundary Restaurant

Boundary Restaurant
2-4 Boundary Street | Shoreditch, London E2 7DD, England (Shoreditch)
00442077291051
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Boundary Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,825 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Price range: $44 - $224
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Shoreditch
Winchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice spot...credit cards at ready!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The place is a bit hipster but then it's Shoreditch. Albion Caff on ground floor for small eats at not too extortionate prices but the drinks are hilariously expensive. Staff range from very cute and organized to very cute and barely there. Rooftop bar is also very nice. Didn't eat but it's Conran so should be OK. In all nice but expensive and you need to time your visit well to avoid queues.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Boundary Restaurant, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for the review Tim, I hope you have the chance to return and try the food next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    86
    42
    19
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Rooftop bar is perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We joined the back a the line waiting to go up to the roof terrace and wondered if it was worth waiting - well it was. The terrace is such a cool place to have a drink and nibbles (the meals looked amazing too although we did not eat on this occasion) we had a drink and bread with oil which was probably the best range of tasty breads we have ever had. Not overpriced either which was a relief. Loved it! There is a covered area too for inclement weather.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Boundary Restaurant, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review the Roof Top. I am glad you enjoyed the experience and hope to welcome you back again soon when hopefully you can enjoy the food on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great rooftop bar on a summer's day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've tried to get in to the rooftop bar a few times but it's always been full and we've always been asked to wait. The queue can get pretty long and there's not too much movement from those upstairs when the weather's nice...

For a special occasion we booked a table for a Saturday afternoon and were able to go straight up. We only wanted drinks but they tried to put us in the more restauranty part (a bit of a greenhouse on a warm day) but after a couple of minutes they offered to move us outside (much much nicer).

We ordered some beers, gin fizz (long drink, £9) and a pitcher of Berry pimms (£23.50 - serves 4 small glasses). All very nice. Naturally the drinks do add up a bit but it's a very nice place to spend a couple of hours on a sunny day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Boundary Restaurant, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Great that you eventually got to try the Roof Top at the Boundary, we agree it's a really great venue to hang out at even when it's not that sunny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“nice place but not well organized”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed there a coule of weeks ago, as a walk in, and we were to have come drinks my friend and I, and they let us go there without any booking which is good, but half an hour after having our drinks, they told us to move because the table that we were in, was booked another people. If the table is booked for another people, why didn't they toell us before? why did they sell us drinks knowing that we couldn't have it there?
besides that, is a very nice place

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Boundary Restaurant, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
We should have advised you that due to the popularity of the Roof Top, tables are usually reserved with a time slot and made available for 'walk-ins until the reserved party arrives. I am sorry, this should have been explained more clearly to you and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wow! Roof Top dining at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The place was amazing both the quality of the food and the service could not be faulted. The venue and atmosphere felt Scandinavian open fires, home grown herbs and tomatoes in around the rooftop restaurant. We both had the most exsquite beef burger and salad, sounds nasty but no! The beef was cooked to perfection (pink) with a slight charing. We had a glass each of red and coffee to follow. The cost was around £40 for the two of us. Well worth. Amazing space, tranquil and relaxing in the heart if east London. Best tiolet soap and handcream too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Boundary Restaurant, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and hope to welcome you back soon. The toiletries are made by Aesop and they have a store nearby, so maybe you can arrange to do some shopping when you next visit....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boundary Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Boundary Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boundary Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.