We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time at Goodman and it was as superb as the first” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodman

Goodman
26 Maddox Street, London W1S 1HQ, England
020 7499 3776
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Goodman is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 17,147 Restaurants in London
Price range: $43 - $66
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Oxford circus tube station is within 1 minute walk
Description: Goodman is a uniquely British interpretation of a New York grill, offering the best beef from both sides of the Atlantic. Most of the meat we serve in our Mayfair restaurant is from American USDA ‘Prime’ corn-fed herds, but we also source grain-fed Irish Angus, rare breed Belted Galloway from Devon and grass-fed Scottish meat. Every steak we serve has been dry-aged on site – it’s the best way to concentrate flavour – then we cook it over charcoal. To accompany your steak, we’re proud of the American red wine collection we have amassed – we know it’s the best way to complement red meat. Our Mayfair restaurant is located just off Regent Street.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Second time at Goodman and it was as superb as the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Second time at Goodman and it was as superb as the first. Great service from really friendly helpful staff especially Jess who looked after us and made my wife’s birthday dinner special .It has to be the best steak we have ever eaten. There is a terrific choice of varying selections of steak and they bring a platter to your table to show you the different cuts of meat we will definitely be back again on our next visit to London

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    687
    265
    47
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redbourn, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, the steaks are amazing, every mouth full was awesome. The chips we the best I have ever tasted and our waiter was very attentive and helpful with suggestions on cut of beef.
Loved it, will definitely go back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Night out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Reservations a necessary as you would have a long wait ,food excellent friends had steak cooked the way they liked. I had the chicken it was delicious (a full one) .resturant had loud music that you found yourself shouting, but the staff were well informed and made sure your table was important to them And received in your orders in a timely manner. Sides were plenty for two reminded me of Ruth's Chris and steaks we're USA grade

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great steak and a great wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've been to goodmans a few times now and can never fault it, no matter which steak you go for its always cooked perfectly to your liking, the staff are always very attentive and the wine list is fantastic, can get a little pricey but worth paying a little extra for the quality

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey,uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service and steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had reservations for early Saturday evening,glad we reserved as this place was already busy.We skipped the starters as my hubby decided he was going to tackle a 800g rib eye with sides!The waitress was very helpfully on advising us on cuts/size and flavours.When steak arrived,the tables next to us couldn't believe the size of my hubby and the size of the steak he was about to devour.I ordered USA fillet 250g cooked medium rare and it was perfect,for sides we had Truffle chips and Garlic mushrooms,both were delicious but defininately enough to share.Anyways,we both finished the meals completely satisfied and with the hubby deciding that he could easily polish off a 1kg cut next time around!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodman also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Goodman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;