We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent New York-style steakhouse in Mayfair” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodman

Goodman
26 Maddox Street, London W1S 1HQ, England
020 7499 3776
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Goodman is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 16,942 restaurants in London
Price range: $44 - $68
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Oxford circus tube station is within 1 minute walk
Description: Goodman is a uniquely British interpretation of a New York grill, offering the best beef from both sides of the Atlantic. Most of the meat we serve in our Mayfair restaurant is from American USDA ‘Prime’ corn-fed herds, but we also source grain-fed Irish Angus, rare breed Belted Galloway from Devon and grass-fed Scottish meat. Every steak we serve has been dry-aged on site – it’s the best way to concentrate flavour – then we cook it over charcoal. To accompany your steak, we’re proud of the American red wine collection we have amassed – we know it’s the best way to complement red meat. Our Mayfair restaurant is located just off Regent Street.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent New York-style steakhouse in Mayfair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

While Goodman seems to have originated in Russia, the steaks the restaurant uses are (primarily) USDA Prime meat. We ordered sirloin steaks and they came cooked to perfection. The steaks were oozing with flavour. The side dishes were tasty and the portions generous. Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable with great recommendations for wine and dessert. The Honeycomb Parfait with Banana Sorbet was a great way to end a very satisfying steak experience indeed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    664
    253
    45
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Steak & Chips!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I came across this restaurant when I did a google search for the best steak house in London and a review for The Telegraph recommended this place as No2 (The Hawksmoor was No1 but was so far out of our way and not an option.) As Goodman's was in Mayfair, this was the perfect location for us.
I have to state that this was one of our best overall experiences we have ever had in a restaurant, as the food in our humble opinion only counts for 50% of the experience, we feel that the staff and service are as equally as important as the food.
When deciding on what we wanted to eat, one of the waiters explained in great detail about the different type of steaks available and the different strengths in taste (grass fed & corn feed) as grass fed is a more fuller earthier flavor. We decided on a 650g English Porterhouse & a 400g USDA bone-in Sirloin, so we could compare the difference on the recommendations from the waiter.
Our starters were pan fried foie gras, roasted fig, oyster mushroom, truffle honey for me and a lobster cocktail, greens & lemon mayonnaise for my husband. With our steaks we ordered truffle chips, beef dripping chips, roasted garlic & a roasted white onion, We had 3 different sauces with the steaks (blue cheese, bearnaise & a peppercorn) We drank a bottle of Luigi Bosca, Pinot Noir from Mendoza, Argentina with our meal.
We skipped desert and had the cheese board with a glass of port.
I can not compliment the staff enough as they were so friendly and made us feel so welcome, we even helped our waitress out on planning her own night out and another waiter for his upcoming holiday to Sitges (our favorite place in Spain)
At the end of the meal, Tom (I think he was the Assistant Manager) came over asked us how the meal was. After informing him that this was one of the nicest meals we have had in a long time and especially the cheese board - which was the best one we had eaten since Bentleys last year. Tom then invited us to have a tour of the restaurant and took us down to the kitchen and showed us around and introduced as to the head chef!, who explained to us in great detail the 3 different types of charcoal used to cook the steak (which gives the steak their distinctive taste and charring). We where also taken to the Dry Air Store where all their meat is stored, plus the lobster tank where they keep their fresh English lobsters.
Everything was completely faultless and cannot stop raving about this place and will recommend it to all!!
We will be returning in a couple of weeks (hopefully to found out how the waiters holiday was!!!)
This is an absolute must for carnivores who are a touch more adventurous than just a mere fillet steak.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Amazing restaurant, the steaks are to die for. Will always return

The staff are so friendly and happy to come to work

Really good restaurant

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The only steak place we go to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great steaks and burgers coupled with fine and friendly service. We have recommended Goodman to friends who live closer to it (as we don't) and who surprisingly haven't heard about it. They have now become regulars and thank us for it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I went with family to the Goodman in April 2013 for my birthday after arriving in London from Australia. Unbelievable steak, just the best, my son and I had a rib eye,just brilliant (he is a chef also and loved it) the waitress was fantastic, told us exactly how the menu worked,great,drink staff great also. It was wonderful experience,great food, but very full when we left, be careful ordering too many sides because you won't need too many,steak brilliant. Wait staff very good with drinks, whole restaurant very good will go back there when in London.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodman also viewed

 
London, England
London, England

Been to Goodman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.