We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Fellow

The Fellow
24 York Way, London N1 9AA, England (Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras)
02078373001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,457 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $26 - $40
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Transit: The Fellow is located 2 minutes from Kings Cross & St Pancras train stations, Kings Cross Thameslink and the underground. We are a short walk from Kings Place music and arts centre on the corner or York Way and Caledonia St.
El Jadida, Morocco
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“What a shame”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had decided to come here on the basis of good reviews. When we arrived, we took a table near the door as the place was reasonably full. After 10 minutes, no one had come to see us and we wondered if perhaps we needed to order at the bar and the waiting staff simply brought the food to the tables. My friend went to the bar to ask and was told that someone would deal with us, but that it would take a while as they were behind. We gave it another 5 minutes and then decided to give it a miss.

We could see food arriving at other people's tables while we were there. Well, it looked like ordinary pub grub. I don't think we missed anything too exciting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    60
    16
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“6 star hotel quality cuisine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

There is nothing to dislike. The drinks service was fast and the bar choice was excellent and fast. Staff were courteous and prompt. The food arrived promptly and piping hot. the chef knows what he is doing, this probably the best meal in London, pricey but worth it. I would go to this place for an important business meeting, anniversary, etc

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great family reunion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Well actually great family union as most of us had not met each other before.

We had a private room perched atop some rickety stairs but did not have to move as Adam our waiter was very attentive.

There was a good choice of pub food (burgers were very popular) and range of beers was attractive

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would really liked to have given four stars…”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

But there were a couple of major let downs on the plate. Biggest crime was the Yorkshire Pudding. Stone cold and undercooked. Takes a bit of effort to stuff those up, even if you are busy.

We had a bill for just over £160 for three of us. That’s including a house added £20 tip, which didn’t add anything to us loving the place for value.

Staff were happy enough, most seemed to have interesting creative backgrounds. No faults with their team, in fact they added a great deal to the good vibe in the place.

Drop the service charge, trim the wine prices and take more care with what is essentially very good food and a stream of five star reviews must surely follow.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Miserable, joyless and devoid of atmosphere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a lifeless, joyless bar with stuck up management devoid of a sense of fun - avoid at all costs.

Myself and two friends went in for a quick drink on Friday in Halloween outfits as we were on our way to The Egg, they refused to serve us and told us to leave as they have a 'no costume policy'. If we had been creating a scene then fair enough, but we were all sober and well behaved.

All the other bars in the area we visited (Lincoln Lounge, Big Chill House) were very welcoming, laughing at the costumes and generating a fun atmosphere.

I never normally wear fancy dress, but I don't see any reason why you should be kicked out based on what you are wearing for one night in the year when everyone dresses up - stuck up bars like this are the scourge of London, destroying any chance of the city getting a friendly reputation. For the short time we were in there the mood of the place was cold and lacklustre, about as enjoyable as an episode of Made in Chelsea - which I guess is how the management want to keep it.

I won't be returning, and nor will anyone I know.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fellow also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Fellow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fellow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.