We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and grey atmosphere,service equally cold” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Searcys | The Gherkin

Searcys | The Gherkin
30 St Mary Axe, London EC3A 8EP, England (City of London)
+44 20 7071 7215
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Searcys | The Gherkin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,229 of 17,052 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City of London
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Cold and grey atmosphere,service equally cold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Expensive and lacking in ambiance.We had a bottle of mineral water, 2 glasses of house champagne, 1 beetroot salad and 1 Caesar salad, coffee and Petit fours and the bill was £83.00.
The salads were very small and not particularly interesting to set them aside from other salads. The service was distinctly slow and the whole ambiance pretty cool.I would not visit again

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    68
    22
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a members bar at the top of the Gherkin bar.
The bar itself is really something special, with stunning views across London.
The staff were friendly and the service was good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good, very good, but I would not be able to afford it at my own expense”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Can't beat the location. Stunning views of the city and great to chat with friends with a glass of champagne, looking down on the Tower of London, St Paul's Cathedral and across to the Shard. Food was good, but I ended going home and raiding the fridge! (That might just be me.)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"fine dining in a nightclub" - hmmm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Having eaten in many of London's top locations - I was looking forward to eating in "the Gherkin". I knew it would be pricey and the portions on the small side (from other reviews) - but we wanted to give it a spin for the view and overall wow-factor!

First impressions were great - the view at the top was stunning... But as we waited & waited for a drink in the top bar, the DJ in the corner started getting a bit on our nerves. So we decided to go and find our table, get a drink and enjoy the ambiance over a nice meal.

Guess what... the music spills down from above and you are effectively eating in a "hippodrome" dance party. It's so loud you can't even hear the waiter explain your dishes or talk to anyone at your table... And the beat goes on and on and on...

We also found the table service quite slow (it's been ages since I've had to ask for more bread after the starters... Partly from hunger waiting for the next course, and partly to have something to bite down on as the crappy club beats pounded on and on).

When we did get courses - they were actually quite good, nicely seasoned and well presented (possibly the plates were a bit lukewarm) - but it's hard to enjoy this kind of food in a disco.

It's worth saying that there were some fairly priced decent wines on the menu which is nice to see.

We skipped the extra cheese course, our ears were bleeding at this point and took the lift back down. It was blissfully quiet, apart from other couples murmering they felt the same way...

Apparently the music is on every night according to the head waiter... I just can't see them continuing to serve good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Venue - Overpriced Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Attended a private dining event a few days ago - Although the venue is great the food is average and the portions are small. For what you pay you could get Michelin star dining elsewhere.

I was disappointed I would have expected a minor gastronomical experience from a venue that trades from a landmark building in a major global capital city what I ended up paying for (along with the other guests) was for fantastic views of London which are not unique to the Gherkin.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Searcys | The Gherkin also viewed

 

Been to Searcys | The Gherkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Searcys | The Gherkin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.