We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kensington Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Kensington Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kensington Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109-113 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5LR, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 1,073 hotels in London
NW Leicester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Outstanding & faultless in every way. All the staff we encountered were professional and courteous and did everything possible to make our special one night stay a thoroughly fabulous experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and particularly that you found our staff so friendly .We believe all our guests need to be treated to the little things that make a difference. We look forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    902
    261
    59
    17
    8
See reviews for
190
482
102
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Kensington is a nice hotel. It's in a great location, and was very clean. The room was very small for the price, but that's what you get in London. The staff were very helpful. I would recommend and I would go there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We couldn't have asked for a more comfortable and relaxing hotel to stay. George & is a genuinely wonderful host and was very accommodating We have been traveling for weeks and staying here with my partner was wonderful, it was like a brief rest at home in the middle of a long overseas journey. Highly recommend this hotel Few hotels are as clean and as comfortable as with great service Furthermore, this hotel is perfectly situated in London, close to everything. Thank you for a wonderful stay and we would love to comeback soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
What lovely comments, thank you. We are so pleased it felt like "home” at The Kensington Hotel. George is just thrilled to receive this wonderful feedback; he is delighted to know that he was able to make a difference. We hope it wont be long until you return to see us all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My partner booked deluxe room upgrade. Unfortunately when we arrived it was not the room we had booked. The staff particularly duty manager Amy fell over backwards to make our stay the best she possibly could. The hotel was full and the only room available was the President Suite. The Kensington Hotel picked up the tab and allowed us to stay there. It was the most wonderful experience I have ever had in a hotel. We were treated like royalty and given lovely additional touches such as having our beds turned down with a cool thermos of pineapple juice and chocolates laid out on the bed. Amy wrote us a lovely card to welcome us to the suite and apologised. The four poster bed was huge and so comfortable and the bathroom was to die for with deep roll top bath and a TV in there also. So many first time experiences for me. Well ....Amy and the staff of the Kensington hotel.....thank you so much for a truly wonderful experience you exceeded all our expectations. We can't wait to be able to come back for another stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked through Secret Escapes so didn't really know what to expect but was hugely delighted.

I called ahead the night before as it was our first wedding anniversary and wanted to let the hotel know. Amy and Laura didn't disappoint and helped make the trip really special for us with a room upgrade and chocolates.

The hotel is stunning inside- every detail thought of and no 'chain' feel. The rooms are on the small side but beautifully put together and very comfortable. The added touches of a nespresso machine, turn down service and luxury bathroom packs add to the overall experience.

We had a full English breakfast as part of the deal and it was wonderful. Luxury ingredients, well presented, stunning dining room and friendly staff. A perfect way to start the day.

Overall, a wonderful hotel. Will not hesitate to stay here again. Would like to try their afternoon tea- looks amazing! Thank you for making our anniversary so special.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

If you want a typical British non-chain hotel with great service and location this is the place. Wonderful breakfasts, great neighborhood with lots of restaurants, easy access to the tube, Victoria and Albert Museum, Museum of Natural History, and Kensington Park. Loved our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
What lovely comments, thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed our location and especially our service at The Kensington Hotel. Our team are all thrilled to receive this wonderful and very encouraging feed back and they were delighted to be able to make a difference. We hope it wont be long until you return to see us all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here several times. The staff are wonderful. Rooms are well appointed and the location is perfect. A short walk to two Tube stops, or a nice walk to many major attractions. Plenty of restaurants and coffee shops in the area. On our last stay, we were both under the weather and the kitchen was kind enough to make us chicken soup. Really a very nice place to stay while in London.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Deluxe rooms. Also I think it is best to join their frequent guest program (free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in this amazing review. It is fantastic to read how our team continue to exceed your expectations and make your time in London so comfortable. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Address: 109-113 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in London
#11 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Family Hotel in London
#23 Luxury Hotel in London
#47 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Exhibition Road and Fulham Road is The Kensington Hotel, reborn following a £20million refurbishment to bring The Doyle Collection’s sense of contemporary, memorable luxury and a private club ambiance to historic surroundings. With 149 stylish bedrooms and suites, a vibrant cocktail bar, modern restaurant and full-service gym, it is a South Kensington treasure you cannot afford to miss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Jurys Doyle, Amex, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kensington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.