We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location and Perfect Afternoon Tea, courtesy of George” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kensington Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Kensington Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Kensington Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109-113 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5LR, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 1,073 hotels in London
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and Perfect Afternoon Tea, courtesy of George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We searched for that elusive combination of a proper afternoon tea with value, and found it here. Just blocks away from The Victoria & Albert Museum. 3 courses, with a Gin & Tonic sorbet for palate cleansing. Each course was better than the next. Our server, George, was knowledgeable, attentive and very entertaining. He deserves a promotion! Great selection of teas, as well. We will be back, and will likely stay at the Hotel next time we are in London.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your memorable experience with us following your recent visit. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your afternoon at the kensington Hotel. I have passed on your kind comments to George as well as the rest of the team who were very pleased to hear your lovely feedback. Once again, thank you very much and hope to have you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    931
    272
    61
    18
    8
See reviews for
201
506
102
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked this hotel for it's central location plus we have stayed at Doyle Collection hotels in the past and always found them to be super.
It is beautifully decorated, the bedrooms and bathrooms are small but more than adequate and have lovely complimentary toiletries.
We had afternoon tea in the lounge area and later pre dinner drinks in the bar and both areas are comfortable and cosy and not a jot of stuffy Kensington attitude that you get with most central London hotels. Breakfast is not included in the price but there is tea & coffee making facilities in your room.
All in all we would recommend it as a great place to stay in a superb location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We were pleased to welcome you as guests and thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here at the Kensington Hotel. We continouisly strive to create a truly memorable experience for our guests. Thank you for recommending the hotel and we look forward to welcome you back in the nearer future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in August and had a wonderful time. The staff is great and Martyn the concierge was very helpful since this was our first visit to London. Location was also very good. Close to the tube station and excellent restaurants near by. Room was a little small but I think that is common in London. My only complaint was that the check out staff advised me there was no difference in paying with dollars vs. pounds. But there is a 3.5% foreign currency fee added to the bill which I was not advised of.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for recommending Martyn in our Concierge Department who was thrilled to know that he had been able to make such a difference to your stay. I was sorry to read your comments regarding check out but I would like to assure that by paying in dollars we do guarantee that the exchange rate offered is competitive with the market including the fee and I am sorry that this was not explained correctly to you. I look forward to welcoming you back but if in the meantime I can be of any help to you please do email me on beccy_gunn@doylecollection.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were quite happy with our stay. We were a group of friends staying in four different rooms. First we were surprised to see how small the rooms were, but we were quickly moved to bigger more comfortable rooms. The service is very good, but I have to mention that we were quite dissapointed with the concierge service. This was poor concierge service compared to similar hotels. But the personnel working at the front desk are very helpful and professional.

Also I was annoyed with the way the mini bar works where you can't store anything. I had some sweets I bought and I eventually had to throw them out.

This is good value for money in a very nice area of London. I would stay here again, and I would recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Standard and superior rooms are too small. I would say a superior room would only suit one person. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
I was delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and thank you for recommending us. We were so pleased to welcome your party to the hotel and it was great to hear that the Front Desk team were able to look after you so well. We are currently looking into our minibar system as we always try to act on all comments made and I would like to thank you for brining this to our attention. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I discovered The Kensington a couple of years ago and, honestly, this is my first and only choice hotel in London.

As others have previously pointed out, the staff here is simply incredible. Flying in from New York, one of my favorite things about a trip to London is that first moment at check-in. Really awesome people, really awesome vibe. Such a great start to any trip.

The hotel itself is a cool mash-up of historic old townhouses with beautiful, yet timely, decor; I love having my London friends over for a drink/dinner at my temporary home in one of the living rooms downstairs.

The rooms are, admittedly, not enormous, but this is made up for with the attention to detail inside, right down to the toiletries. Between the details, the overall decor, and of course the staff, you've got an upmarket hotel without any of the pretentious nonsense.

The location can't be beat; the South Ken tube station goes like this: walk out the front door, turn left, and then another left, then walk for a couple of minutes and you're there. Lots of great restaurants in the neighborhood too, the museums are close, and shopping's nearby too (including a couple of great grocery stores and quick lunch places).

If you're thinking about staying here by all means do it!

Room Tip: Anything overlooking Queens Gate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review of the hotel and we are delighted to be your hotel of choice when travelling to London. It is always greatly appreciated when we know that the service we strive to deliver is recognised and thank you for recommending the hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great to come across a hotel that is unswerving in its commitment to deliver a really high quality of service at all levels.

This hotel must have strong management as every staff member is committed and clear on their mission from the door staff to reception to the bar tenders - all offered a consistent and top quality level of service.

The hotel facilities are excellent with a very nice lounge, comfortable and elegant furniture, nice bedrooms well kitted out and all pristine and clean.

Location is a short 5 minute stroll to the tube station with a plethora of South Ken' eateries and bars on the door step.

Don't hesitate to book this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Managerment at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for recommending the hotel and for taking the time to write such a lovely review of the hotel following your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all the training makes such a difference to your stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a delicious afternoon tea at the Kensington last week. exemplary service from the charming and funny George. Attentive but not intrusive. Lovely explanation of the sandwiches-great combination of fillings. the scones were exceptional-warm and beautifully presented. loved the lemon curd and passion fruit as well as jam.

Couldn't quite manage all of the cakes but of those we sampled the Bakewell tart and lemon tart stand out.
Lovely setting, great service and good value. we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I am absolutely delighted that George was able to look after your afternoon tea and thank you for taking the time to recommed him and the hotel. We are very proud of the service delivered by the Restaurant and Bar team and it is great to hear that you will be back to sample more of the delightful food prepared by our Head Chef, Simon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Address: 109-113 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in London
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Family Hotel in London
#25 Luxury Hotel in London
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Exhibition Road and Fulham Road is The Kensington Hotel, reborn following a £20million refurbishment to bring The Doyle Collection’s sense of contemporary, memorable luxury and a private club ambiance to historic surroundings. With 149 stylish bedrooms and suites, a vibrant cocktail bar, modern restaurant and full-service gym, it is a South Kensington treasure you cannot afford to miss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Jurys Doyle, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kensington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.