We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kensington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Kensington Hotel to your Saves list
The Kensington Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109-113 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5LR, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Coming all the way from New Zealand and after hours of flying, it was a relief to arrive at the Kensington Hotel and be warmly greeted, along with some hot towels to freshen ourselves while checking in. They even gave us a free upgrade, which was most welcome. Beautifully presented hotel. All the hotel staff were very friendly & accommodating. Our daughter & niece arrived later to meet up with us, and we went to the bar to enjoy some of their award winning cocktails, which were a hit with the girls. Handy to the tube, and great restaurants in the area worth trying. (Make sure you visit the Italian restaurant Rocca). Would definitelly stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear CraigBAuckland,

It was such a pleasure to read that our location in South Kensington, a short walk from many the delicious dining at so many eateries on Old Brompton Road, was so perfect for you.
Our team truly care that your experience of us is memorable and we do all that we can to enhance your time in London. We believe that every detail from a refreshing towel at check in, to an extensive knowledge of London and its attractions, to a bottle of water at check-out counts. We want to be sure your time with us is a memory you will cherish.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We were very glad to know that you and your loved ones enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    310
    67
    23
    9
See reviews for
223
586
117
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix, az
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

The staff at the Kensington is wonderful. Friendly and helpful. We had daily breakfast included with our stay and it was excellent. We had a basic room which is small but I think pretty typical for the area. Common areas are quite nice as well. I went slightly over my travel budget to stay at the Kensington because it got very good reviews and I wanted to make sure I was comfortable during my week in London. I was very glad I did.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear mirazira,
Thank you for taking the time to write lovely review about your recent stay at The Kensington Hotel. We appreciate your sharing with the online travelling community.
We all share the belief that a memorable experience starts with a team that is dedicated to doing all we can to enhance your time with us, your kind words let us know we are succeeding in our aims.

We hope you will think of us again should you be returning to London

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantic beach, NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Do not hesitate to stay at the kensington hotel! we were 2 first-timers to london, and this hotel was perfect in every way - location, the staff, and the price! Concierges vincent and martyn were super helpful with advising us about tours, the tube, and walking directions. yes, the rooms can be small - but that's european hotels in general. the lobby is welcoming and has a wonderful scent. the neighborhood was super fab - quiet and clean and near 2 tube stops on the yellow circle line, and walking distance to several streets with good restaurants and lively cafes, and also near the natural history museum. we also walked to harrods - which really wasn't that fantastic a store but we did find a great restaurant near the store - brompton asian brasserie....we are planning on returning to london next year and will certainly book the kensington! our room had a comfy king bed, and a large bathroom and was very quiet - facing out to the courtyard. the price was amazing - 132 GBP per night. every staff member was helpful and friendly! the air conditioning was also very quiet - which is a pet peeve of mine - i really hate it when the AC switches on and off loudly all night. we were very happy not to be staying at a 'chain' hotel like a marriott or a radisson - so give the kensington hotel a try! you won't be disappointed! it's absolutely LOVELY!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear mrsez,
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed our location in leafy South Kensington with our proximity to Museum Row, good transport links and so many wonderful eateries. As well as shop of London’s best shops just a short walk up the road.

We are dedicated to doing all that we can to ensure your time with us is memorable so we really appreciate your kind words, especially about Martyn and Vincent in Concierge. I have passed on your wonderful words to everyone here to enjoy.

We hope that on your next visit to London you’ll think of us again.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked this hotel via a luxury hotel website... And boy did it have the Wow factor. The seating and bar areas were not too ostentatious but were luxurious and inviting. the staff were excellent, especially reception and the porters who we dealt with a fair bit! They were on hand with a map and advice with what we should see and do!
We had dinner and cocktails which were lovely and there was a good selection of tipples on offer. breakfast was enormous and we ate in our room which was also great. The bedroom was furnished to a high standard but the bathroom wasn't as amazing as it could have been, although it still has a TV by the bath (not all channels worked) and his n hers sinks, heated mirrors etc.
The location of the hotel is fab and serves as a good base for exploring. Can't wait to go back and try some more cocktails - and of course, afternoon tea!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear BMY89,
Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. We are thrilled to know that we met your high standards.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our suite. While every room is furnished to the highest standard our suites have the added benefit of extra space for your comfort and relaxation and as you have discovered some have an extra TV for you to enjoy.
Thank you for your comments regarding Aubrey. We were pleased that you enjoyed your dining with us. We really appreciate your kind words regarding our team. We are all passionate about creating a memorable experience for your time with us; your kind words serve as a real motivator and confirmation that we are reaching our aims.

Lastly from all of us here thank you for your kind review. We understand it takes time and we really appreciate it.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Kensington Hotel part of the Doyle Collection is conveniently situated between South Ken Tube and the Natural History Museum. It is billed as a Town House Hotel and certainly oozes charm and character often missing in some of London's larger prestigious hotels. From the pleasantly perfumed reception dest to the beautifully appointed rooms this hotel feels special. The bar and restaurant area is wonderful. I only ate from the bar menu but the food was really good and very reasonably priced. The staff were able to accommodate me when I requested something which wasn't on the the menu too, which I always think is the mark of a good establishment! The gym facilities were good and usually quite which is a good thing! The overall service was of a level which would have embarrassed many of London's better known hotels. If I could level a criticism it would be that my room, though charming, was very small indeed and there was effectively no clothes storage apart from a tiny hanging wardrobe, shared with a folding suitcase rack (Though exactly where you were supposed to put this up I have no idea!). The bathroom, likewise, was tiny with only a shower and no bath (Though a high quality and perfectly good shower none the less!). I had booked a "Superior Double" so exactly what you get from a standard room I cannot imagine. For a single guest it was more than adequate. I think two guests would get in each other's way!

Room Tip: Make it quite clear that you want a decent sizes room and pay a bit extra if necessary. THe room I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear RichardVUK,
Thank you for your review; we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience if us here at The Kensington Hotel with the online travelling community.

Were disappointed to read that you found your room small. While all our beautifully appointed rooms are to the highest standard and include amenities such as 300-count bed linen and ultra-plush duvets, every room is different owing to the fact that we were converted townhouses. Should you be returning one of our team here would be delighted to discuss your room needs to assign you a room more suitable to you. Or perhaps you would like to opt for one of our Deluxe rooms which would afford you these wonderful amenities as well as a larger more sumptuous space.

Thank you for your comments regarding our lounge service and bar menu. We were pleased that you enjoyed it. We really appreciate your kind words regarding our team. We are all dedicated to delivering a discreet yet personal service which represents excellent value at all times, your comments serve as a real motivator and confirmation that we are reaching our aims.

We hope that you will think of us on your next visit to London

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at The Kensington last week. An otherwise nice stay was ruined because someone on the staff stole a diamond necklace out of our luggage. The piece was hidden in a very discrete part of the luggage and would only have been found by someone conducting a complete search of our belongings. The manager insisted that his staff would not have done such a thing, but the item was stolen. I would not post a negative review of this nature unless we were absolutely certain. We also filed a police report, but the staff denied it. Unfortunately the culprit is still working there and I could not recommend staying at this hotel as a result.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gozo
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The common areas - bar and lounge, reception, restaurants - are inviting, elegant and cosy. Staff are attentive and friendly. The rooms are well appointed, though I missed a bedside clock and a long mirror in the room I stayed in. And if that is all I have to complain about then this is a very good hotel indeed! One certainly worth returning to and recommending.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Katarina T,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay and share your experience with the online travelling community. We were thrilled you chose to stay with us here at The Kensington Hotel and welcome you as our guests.

We are continuously striving to offer a personal service that each of our guests feels at home whilst staying with us, and so it was truly a pleasure to read your feedback. We believe that a memorable experience starts with a team that is dedicated to doing all we can to enhance your time with us. Your kind words regarding our team, the décor and everything during your stay lets us know that this ethos has led us to meet your high expectations.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Address: 109-113 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in London
#15 Business Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
#60 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Exhibition Road and Fulham Road is The Kensington Hotel, reborn following a £20million refurbishment to bring The Doyle Collection's sense of contemporary, memorable luxury and a private club ambiance to historic surroundings. With 150 stylish bedrooms and suites, a vibrant cocktail bar, modern restaurant and full-service gym, it is a South Kensington treasure you cannot afford to miss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kensington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.