We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, convenient, and great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kensington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Kensington Hotel to your Saves list
The Kensington Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109-113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LR, England (South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Breakfast on Us !!
Ranked #32 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Chic, convenient, and great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I love the Kensington. I stay there every time I visit my daughter who lives in Chelsea. The Kensington is a wonderful hotel, the staff are super accommodating, and the rooms are lovely. I stay here probably 4 or 5 times a year and I never have had a bad stay. The Aubrey Doyle bar is really gorgeous and has an amazing mixologist, Allesandro. The food is also delicious. Make sure to order the brownie sundae!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear ChristyO661,

Thank for once again choosing to stay with us at The Kensington Hotel. We are delighted that we continue to meet your high expectations and offer a memorable experience every time you visit.

We are all dedicated to offering a luxury service for every guest, so your praise of us, the team in Aubrey in particular, is greatly appreciated. Please accept our thanks from all of us here.

We very much look forward to your visit.

Kind Regards

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    335
    77
    26
    8
See reviews for
262
671
132
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was my second stay. On business this time. Great staff remembered my preference for room and arranged without asking. Nice to see the restaurant staff recognising and welcoming. Closer to tube station and not far fron central london its a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear samyu1981,
Thank you for continuing to choose to stay with us at The Kensington Hotel. Your loyalty means a great deal to us. We strive to make every guest feel welcomed and at home whilst our guest. Your wonderful review lets us know we are achieving our aims.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had two superior rooms for a week. Wonderfully welcoming staff, nice concierge. The rooms are small, but not necessarily small for London. Not a great deal of storage.
Room noise was OK. I think I'd request a room away from the elevator, as hall-walking was fairly creaky-sounding. On the 4th floor, little exterior noise to speak of, even though we were on the street side.
I loved the area. Tube stop 400 yards away, seemed like a quite safe walk. We had dinner near the hotel (french, italian, and gastropub), and were very happy.
I didn't use the restaurant, bar, or gym, but my wife was happy with the bar (but expensive).
The sitting room was large, had a fire and multiple newspapers, and comfy chairs and couches.

Room Tip: High, back side, away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear mikemeg,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel. We were delighted to read you and your family enjoyed your time in London. Our entire team work tremendously hard to enhance you time in London so your praise means a great deal to us.

It is a pleasure to know that our location in South Kensington, so close to Museum row, transport links and so many wonderful eateries was such a highlight during your stay.
We hope to welcome you back as our guest on your return to London.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

One of the best experience .. Stayed there on a special day.. The staff's made it more memorable & one of the best experience .. Awesome location, excellent service... Afternoon tea was highly commendable ...highly recommended..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear 860michaelc,
Thank you for choosing the Kensington Hotel to celebrate your special day. We were thrilled to be a part of your experience.
We believe that every detail, from the décor in our lounge to the 300 thread count linen on your beds, to a team that truly cares for your comfort to everything in between goes towards creating a truly memorable experience for you, our guest, so it was a pleasure to read you enjoyed and appreciated our efforts.

We hope that you will think of us again on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

pros : location -close to south kensington subway st , walking distance to museums, harrods
quiet
cheap compared to other 5*
lovely reception /dining area
very attentive staff

cons : superior room(4th floor) room 414 very very small with an almost useless wardrobe (again very small) unless we paid for superior and got standard

wine stained carpet , not a good look for a 5* wanna be hotel
tried some sandwiches of the lounge menu , just average

Room Tip: be careful what you are offered
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our second stay in 4 months - we love this hotel. Rooms are clean spacious and child friendly. Breakfast is beautiful and very filling. Food in general is of high standard and children are well looked after. Bar is beautiful I had a personalised cocktail made by the barman and on both occasions we spent a lot of time here. Staff are all brilliant Mischa had another fan stay with the Easter hunt being a treat for her. Looking to book another stay very soon. Thank you for another pleasant stay! Maisuria family

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear BChohan,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback following your most recent stay with us. All of the team here at the Kensington take great pride in delivering the service that we are famous for,It is just so encouraging to hear such positive comments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon for another memorable stay.

Kind Regards,

Vincent O'Gorman.
General Manger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Overall, the hotel was very good and a decent value for London. The atmosphere at the hotel was a very nice one in the common areas, especially in the evenings around the fireplace :-)

Stayed in a superior room which was on the smallish side but clean and generally well-equipped. The only thing missing really that I needed was an iron / board, which could have been provided at a hotel of this standard.

Breakfast and room service were a little on the pricier side and not worth it - much better options on Old Brompton road. Staff were friendly and welcoming (although there was no doorman when I arrived). South Ken / Gloucester road tubes are within a 5 - 10 minute walk. Would stay here again for a similar price...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Quiet_Traveller1,

Thank you for taking the time to Review our Hotel following your recent stay.

I appreciate these things take time and wanted to express my gratitude for your feedback as is both valued and useful.

It was a pleasure to look after you and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kensington Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Vincent O'Gorman.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Address: 109-113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in London
#20 Business Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
#51 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington Hotel offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sqft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Jurys Doyle, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kensington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.