We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kensington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Kensington Hotel to your Saves list
The Kensington Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109-113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LR, England (South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Breakfast on Us !!
Ranked #32 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wigan, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Two nights weekend (Sat-Mon) here, a very pleasant and quite posh hotel, convenient for South Ken tube (5 mins).
Room was described as 'superior' but it was quite small. I don't know what the standard room would be like. Shower only, and would have preferred movable shower head instead of fixed. TV had plenty of channels, inc. Sky Sports, a bit jumpy on some (e.g. BBC1)
But those minor criticisms are nit-picking really, and on the whole we were delighted with our stay.
We got a good deal via Sunday Times offer, and for that price (just over GBP 100 per night) it was superb value.
Excellent standards throughout, lovely decor, rooms and public areas attractively done out. Helpful and pleasant staff. Breakfast was fine, GBP 20pp for hot choices, but we received a 20pc discount on this and on drinks in the bar.
Would gladly choose this hotel again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Jackdog85,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel. It is only with our guest’s feedback that we can continue to grow. We were delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your issue with the television. I have highlighted it with our maintenance team to be investigated. We were disappointed to read you were not entirely happy with your room allocation, should you be returning please do not hesitate to contact us at the hotel and we would be delighted to discuss your room needs.
We very much hope that you will think of us again on your next trip to the capital.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    335
    77
    26
    8
See reviews for
262
671
132
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent a very-long weekend and treated ourselves to the Kensington Hotel. Extremely happy about our choice!
As family with two kids, our room was a double+single (+cot). Most probably it is also suited for guests with special mobility needs.
The room was very spacious (allowing the kids to stretch themselves!), excellent beds, comfortable bathroom. (reading the hotel map we could noticed that not all the rooms are so big). Excellently maintained. Very clean and very well serviced.
Pleasant view on the neighbourhood roofs (and far away some London’s skyscrapers).
Appreciated the service by many representatives of the staff (door, reception, concierge, room…).
The hotel is excellently located in a quiet road, just some 300 meters from South Kensington underground station (and Gloucester road station is not far away). Shops and restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Dave_Milan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us with the travelling community. We greatly appreciate your wonderful words, regarding our team in particular. We work very hard to ensure your time with us is memorable so we were delighted to read you and your family enjoyed your time with us.

Lastly we thank you choosing to stay with us at The Kensington Hotel, we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the capital.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We just spent the weekend in London and I haven´t stayed in this area before, it was lovely, very cosmopolitan with loads of lovely restaurants and wine bars. The Hotel was very nice and the staff very friendly. We ate in the Aubrey Restaurant with our family which was very good value and beautiful food. I would definatly recommend it. It´s very close to South Kensington underground and one stop from Knightsbridge for Harrods and all the shops and very close to the theatres. The Hotel room was nice and clean but nothing special,the only criticism that I would have is that we left the hotel at 9 am the first day as we were on business and arrived back at 3.45pm to have a rest and found our room hadnt been made up. I wouldnt call it superior as advertised, very small and the view was also very bad as we overlooked all the aircon units in the centre of the hotel, Infact we left the curtains closed the whole time. However the down stairs lounge and eating areas are really nice and you feel like you are in a five star hotel and I would go back as we like the location and the staff and probably up grade to a nicer room next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Caroline B,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel, a member of The Doyle Collection, for your visit to London. We were delighted to welcome you as our guest. We were so happy that our location, so close to public transport links, a short walk from Knightsbridge and all the wonderful shops and Theatres was such an asset to you.

We were disappointed that you were dissatisfied with your room allocation on this occasion. On your next visit please do not hesitate to contact a member of our team here and we would be delighted to discuss your room needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed for 5 nights. Really enjoyed the location and friendly staff. The hotel was well worth it. Just a short tube ride away from just about everything. After leaving London and arriving in Paris, the difference between each hotel is night and day when compared to the roomcharges each day. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear MDinCT,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. We were thrilled to read your review, thank you for taking the time. I have passed on your wonderful words regarding our team; we are so pleased that you thought so highly of us.

We hope that you will think of us again should you be returning to London.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located to the South Kensington and Gloucester tube stations. The good thing about these 2 stations is that they are on the Picadilly line, which goes direct to Heathrow for only £2.90 (using an Oyster card). We mostly used the South Kensington station to get back to the hotel, and the walk from the station to the hotel was a nice one, with many cafes, restaurants and a qwik-e-marts like the Waitrose and Tesco along the way. The area is also convenient to various museums, many of which are free. It's not the most convenient as being right in the center of the city for some of the tourist attractions, but we enjoy being a little outside of the tourist areas in general, and the area had a lovely feeling to it. The South Kensington station interestingly felt a lot like a station in Tokyo (the Gotanda station) and getting around on the tube was easy to figure out.

We reserved a deluxe double room, and we were able to check in early, as we had taken a direct morning train from York. The room was a very comfortable size, especially given that this was London and we had expected it to be on the smaller end. We did note from the hotel room layout on the back of the door, that some of the other rooms (probably the standard rooms) appeared to be a lot smaller. Our room was decorated in the fashion that I like, with nice wallpaper and traditional furnishings. The bed was supposed to be a king size, but it was actually two twins or doubles pushed together. This was actually fine for us and the beds were very comfortable. The window faced the back of the hotel and so it did not have a nice view, but the bottom of the window was opaque so it didn't bother us too much. By the window, there was a little table with two chairs that we used to sit at, and have tea in the mornings.

The bathroom was a nice size, but it only had a shower (no tub). The shower floor was a black material that didn't appear to clean well, as it showed a white film in some areas. It also was lacking in places to hang towels; it only had one towel bar. The closet was roomy with nice removable hangers, and fancy bathrobes/slippers were provided. Complimentary teas and coffees plus biscuits were kept in the closet, and we found out too late that during turndown service they would have brought us bubbly water.

However, they were very helpful and attentive when requested; we borrowed a DVD player and a DVD, requested more tea/biscuits, plates/utensils and also a bucket of ice, which they provided promptly. There was an odd issue that we experienced during our stay, with water running out around 10PM one night. I thought my husband wasn't operating the shower correctly but with a call to reception, found out their boiler was down. They apparently fixed it sometime between 3:30AM and the morning, which was a relief (I'm sure probably more for them, than even for us!).

We did not get breakfast there as it would have broken the bank and the hotel was convenient to some nice breakfast cafes; our particular favorite was Cafe Floris on Gloucester, where we got a full vegetarian breakfast with coffee for a good price (and you get a free croissant with your coffee!).

Although it was pricey for our four night stay, if we were to visit London in the future, we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Konnichiwawa,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your experience of us. We were thrilled that our location in South Kensington, with our proximity to public transport links, with so many wonderful eateries and Museum Row was such an asset to you. Your kind words regarding our team have been passed on and we greatly appreciate them.
We sincerely apologise that our problem with our boiler caused you any inconvenience and we were glad to read that it did not affect your experience of us too much.

London is such a vast city, with so much to offer and we are so glad that we able to enhance your time in our capital. We hope that you will think of us again should you be returning. Perhaps next time you will book a package that includes breakfast and this will allow you to enjoy breakfast.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here last weekend to visit our Daughter and see George Michael at Earls Court. Our room was absolutely beautiful with a gorgeous 4-poster bed, huge chandelier, lovely view to Queens Gate over the front door. Chocolates, cake and water left at turn down.. and the bathroom! Wow! 2 basins, stand alone bath and the best power shower in London! Fantastic location too - minutes from South Kensington tube, or walking distance to Harrods and Knightsbridge shops/Hyde Park etc if you wish to avoid the crowds underground! We didnt take the hotel breakfast as there are lots of beautiful little Italian cafes nearby. We were able to avoid all the crowds trying to get home from Earls Court as well - just a 15 minute walk to hotel from this venue. (And a great kebab shop "Bosphorous" just across the road too). All the museums are on the doorstep and there's a great exhibition "Ideas" on at Christies. London at it's best! Free wifi too and excellent cocktails! And George Michael was amazing by the way :)

Room Tip: We had room 115 - it was a little noisy as facing front, but we didn't mind in the slightest! Qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear joanne2662,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel while visiting London. We have such wonderful things about George Michael’s show, we are glad we could enhance your experience. We were thrilled to read your wonderful words regarding your room; our design team were particularly thrilled to read your comments regarding the décor. Your wonderful review has been passed on for everyone to enjoy. We are very grateful.

We hope that you think of us again on your next visit to the capital.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here to combine our attendance at The International Dance Championships at the Albert Hall (just up the road), business meetings and a few "spoil yourself days" for our 16th wedding anniversary. Never before have I stayed in a hotel where the staff were so attentive, every request received with enthusiasm to please - and an afternoon tea to totally die for!!!
Our bedroom featured a luxury bathroom up a seperate flight of stairs, really comfortable bed, quiet side location (room 335), mini bar, plenty of wardrobe space plus chocolates on the pillows after 'turn-down.'
I would also recommend taking up the "Irish Welcome Pack" when it's on offer as it includes full English breakfast, cheese board (it was delicious... and I don't normally eat cheese - which we had at about 11.30pm on return from the theatre) more chocolates and a cocktail each (which started at £12.50 and went up and up...)
If you want a bit of pure luxury be sure to book into the Kensington Hotel, Queens Road, London.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a quiet room as the main road outside can be noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Nick G,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for such a special occasion. Allow me to offer best wishes from everyone here on your anniversary. We were delighted to be a part of your celebrations. We believe that every detail goes towards creating a truly memorable experience for you our guest. Everything from the thread count on your bed linen to the scent in the lobby is important. So we were thrilled to read that we met your high standards. We so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel. Thank you for your wonderful words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kensington Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Address: 109-113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in London
#20 Business Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
#51 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington Hotel offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sqft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Jurys Doyle, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kensington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.