We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel at an excellent price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kensington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Kensington Hotel to your Saves list
The Kensington Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109-113 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5LR, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel at an excellent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at the Kensington for the Easter weekend, and we all found it definitely lovely. It is a very charming boutique hotel, in a nice location at a good price (I mean, this is London) for the service given.
Rooms all clean and well mantained, soft beds, soft spotless towels, the hotel offers bathrobes, slippers, hot water heater and they even hand you a bottle of water as you check out. They have those fridges that charge you automatically when you pull out the drinks, which I hate, but at least this worked well (usually you get charged when you sneeze too close to the fridge).
Good wireless connection in the rooms, a Mac with printer on the ground floor (you don't get charged for b/w prints) helps printing your boarding passes. There's always fruit or sweets in the hall.
We occupied 4 rooms, all nicely decorated. Room service and concierge, impeccable.
Note: some rooms and some bathrooms are SMALL. But very nice big showers.
CONS: they could not offer us adjoining rooms, so we had to leave the kids in a separate room (else we would have needed to book a suite, but did not know) nearby. No big issue for us, but remember to get a suite if you travel with small children.
We did not have breakfast in the hotel, instead we went to Le Pain Quotidien behind S. Kensington Tube station.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear Mrs McGonagall,

Many thanks for this wonderful review following your recent stay with us.
I was very pleased to read how much you enjoyed spending the Easter holidays with us and I have shared your lovely comments with all of our team.

I am delighted to inform you that we will shortly be replacing the current mini bar system for a more user friendly version, I hope this will be in place for your next visit.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Kensington hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrea Doyle
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    311
    67
    23
    8
See reviews for
224
587
117
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I arrived at this hotel, straight from Heathrow, at about 7:25 in the morning, expecting to check my luggage and come back later to check in. I looked (and felt) like a zombie. They checked me in immediately, showed me where the breakfast room was, and were utterly gracious. The public areas are beautifully decorated and this was like walking into the inside of a jewelbox. The only downside is that the room was tiny with absolutely no view - but I really didn't care. All I wanted was a soft bed, a nice bathoom, and a comfortable place to crash after my overnight flight. I got all that and more. I would definitely stay here again, even though it was something of a splurge.

Room Tip: Perfectly located near the South Kensington tube
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear Tripadvisor guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. I am delighted to read that our team took such good care of you and that you enjoyed the whole experience at The Kensington Hotel.

I do hope I will have the opportunity to personally meet you and show you our different room categories on you next visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrea Doyle
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford City, Ireland.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Stayed here in May 2010 for 3 Nights with my Wife and two Kids. I could not fault this hotel. Excellent Service, Food and Location. Ideally located for visiting Science and Natural History Museums. Close to transpost links into the center of London

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear Tripadvisor guest,

Thank you very much for this excellent review.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to The Kensington Hotel again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrea Doyle
Guest Relations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Checked in Friday evening with a young toddler in tow, greeted at the desk with a warm welcome and was at once put at ease. Lovely comfortable room, tastefully decorated with all the extra touches. Perfect bed added to room for young child and plenty of extra towels etc. Have to say we loved the expresso machine in the room. Staff warm, friendly and refreshing, all meals at hotel were good quality and excellent selection. Location is deal for visiting London with small children and the staff definitely go the extra mile. Turn down in the evenings is fab.......... Highly recommend this London hotel !!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

From the warm hand flannels on arriving to the bottled water for our journey when leaving, everything was just right. Friendly without being fussy, but also very proffesionally organised. So impressed this would be my first choice on any future visits to London.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

The hotel staff and service are excellent. Our room was larger than expected for two beds, but we did upgrade as suggested by the hotel. Well worth the added cost! The hotel is located just a couple of short blocks away from the So Kensington station - super convenient. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Call and ask for recommendations
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear Tripadvisor guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review following your recent stay with us at The Kensington Hotel.

I’m so pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrea Doyle
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

First visit to hotel since 20 million pound transformation from the old Jurys Kensington Hotel. This hotel is everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel. From the welcoming reception staff, very helpful concierge and super efficient Duty Manager - nothing was a problem! Large breakfast room with a very generous and varied breakfast fare. Dinner in the Aubrey dining room was no less than you expect from a 'Michelin star' supervised kitchen. The bedroom we had on the 2nd floor was luxurious with super modern bathroomand large flat screen tv. The cocktail bar and lounge areas were first class and perfect after a day out in London. The location of the hotel is very convenient for the South Kensington and Gloucester Road tube stations and many local cafes and bistros.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Address: 109-113 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#15 Business Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
#56 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Exhibition Road and Fulham Road is The Kensington Hotel, reborn following a £20million refurbishment to bring The Doyle Collection's sense of contemporary, memorable luxury and a private club ambiance to historic surroundings. With 150 stylish bedrooms and suites, a vibrant cocktail bar, modern restaurant and full-service gym, it is a South Kensington treasure you cannot afford to miss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kensington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.