We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They sing for your supper!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Canto Restaurant

Bel Canto Restaurant
1-7 Lancaster Gate | Corus Hotel Hyde Park, London W2 3LG, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
+44 20 7262 1678
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bel Canto Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Price range: $76 - $84
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Description: Located just a few minutes from Lancaster Gate tube station, Bel Canto is suitable for all events and celebrations including birthdays and romantic evenings. Our opera restaurant attracts everyone from opera enthusiasts to curious tourists and culinary explorers. The classic French menu changes seasonally, and is complemented by a diverse selection of both French and Italian wines. Bel Canto has approximately 60 artists on rotation. Every evening 4 singers and a pianist will perform a variety of arias from celebrated operas. The talented waiting staff will belt out everything from Verdi to Wagner while serving fine French cuisine! During the evening you will receive a glass prosecco to join in with the artists to toast with them for the "Libiamo" of the "Traviatta"! Bel Canto is an intimate Restaurant and is decorated with ruby red wallpaper, ornate opera costumes and crisp white linens. Bel Canto offers truly unique and intimate dining experience - the whole team cannot wait to share with you!
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“They sing for your supper!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I was taken here for a surprise Birthday treat and what a treat! There are four professional opera singers, two men, two women, who burst into song whilst acting as your waiters and waitresses. The food is good, although not great but this is far surpassed by the quality and entertainment from the singers.
They sing all your favourite arias and more. At the end of the evening, everyone received a free liqueur and they sang the Drinking Song!
This is a wonderful treat for anyone who loves opera and even if you are not a keen buff, you will still have an evening of pure entertainment. My cousin bought a special deal on Groupon and we received a free glass of Prosecco as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear AdrienneL
Many thanks for your fantastic review. It is always pleasing to read such a positive response to the experience we offer here at Bel Canto. We think, and I hope you agree, that Bel Canto offers a unique dining experience where we couple opera with food of the highest quality. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    126
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mixed emotions...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The food was no doubt fantastic but very small portions and therefore left feeling hungry.
Atmosphere was good with the signing waiters and performances. Very entertaining. Little too loud when performing otherwise lovely.
Kind staff
Wouldn't say the greatest value for money but enjoyable

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear DumbBlondes
Many thanks for your feed back. I am so happy to hear that you found the food fantastic. At Bel Canto we strive for perfection, combining excellent food, service and of course opera singing! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful singing. Food not so much.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The staff in this restaurant varied quite significantly. Some were incredibly sweet, the others quite rough. At the beginning there was some confusion with our order which was not too complicated.

The food was good. The rabbit roulade was cold bit yum, the gluten free pasta was normal nice pasta, however the dessert - panna cota - was tasteless, which was a shame.

The singing and entertainment was truly marvelous. The staff/singers were excellent with beautiful voices. At the end we all joined in a bit and the inclusion of the audience was great fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear Rozinka
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so glad that you found the singing and entertainment to be marvellous. We pride ourselves on our world class entertainment and I’m happy to read how much you enjoyed yourself. Thank you for your remarks with regards to the food served. We always strive to make improvements were possible and certainly take your comments on board. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The restaurant was lovely, the service was fantastic, the food was amazing and the performances were wonderful. One of the best nights out I have had in ages.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear MissElizabeth7
Many thanks for you fabulous comments! It really is the best part of my job receiving feed back such as yours. We make every effort to provide the best dining experience possible at Bel Canto and it fantastic to receive such a glowing report. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Fantastic experience...great service...atmospheric...I was unsure of opera before i went but now i love it...I even bought the CD :) We will be going again for sure, and recommending it to our friends.
#

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear MartinJ
What a fantastic review! Many thanks for writing feedback and for your glowing assessment of Bel Canto. We strive for perfection and it is very gratifying to read your kind words. Even better was to read how we have converted you into an opera fan. I hope you enjoy the CD and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Canto Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bel Canto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Canto Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.