We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Canto Restaurant

Bel Canto Restaurant
67 Bayswater Road | Corus Hotel Hyde Park, London W2 3PN, England
+44 20 7262 1678
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bel Canto Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $82 - $89
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located just a few minutes from Lancaster Gate tube station, Bel Canto is suitable for all events and celebrations including birthdays and romantic evenings. Our opera restaurant attracts everyone from opera enthusiasts to curious tourists and culinary explorers. The classic French menu changes seasonally, and is complemented by a diverse selection of both French and Italian wines. Bel Canto has approximately 60 artists on rotation. Every evening 4 singers and a pianist will perform a variety of arias from celebrated operas. The talented waiting staff will belt out everything from Verdi to Wagner while serving fine French cuisine! During the evening you will receive a glass prosecco to join in with the artists to toast with them for the "Libiamo" of the "Traviatta"! Bel Canto is an intimate Restaurant and is decorated with ruby red wallpaper, ornate opera costumes and crisp white linens. Bel Canto offers truly unique and intimate dining experience - the whole team cannot wait to share with you!
London, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I've been here three times now and each time the food had been delicious and the service excellent.
One of the benefits of going to dinner with friends who are as passionate about food as you is being able to share everything, and every single plate was rich in flavour and textures that made us crave for more. The attention to detail in the presentation of our meals was a work of art.
I strongly recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    141
    20
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Food Excellent Opera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My friend and I visited this restaurant with a couple of Groupon Vouchers, which made it a very reasonably priced evening. Because we had the vouchers we had to go at 6 o'clock and leave by 8.00 p.m. We thoroughly enjoyed the food and the singing was excellent but we decided that when we go again we would be prepared to pay the full price and get a better atmosphere. The service was very good although obviously when the staff are singing everything comes to a standstill.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An amazing evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

What an amazing evening. We were a little anxious as we took my step-mother to the restaurant to celebrate her birthday. She is experienced in both fine dining and opera (Royal Opera House and Glyndebourne). We needn't have worried. Both the meal and the singing were first class. In the intimate atmosphere you get up close and personal with the singers as they stroll round the tables. We were overwhelmed by the power and range of the voices and were moved by their ability to convey emotion. All the staff, singers (who also waited on tables) and waiters (who didn't sing but assured us that in the shower they were virtuoso) were pleasant and friendly. The singers welcomed the opportunity to talk about their art and the pieces they had sung and we also engaged the pianist in conversation as his playing, not only for the singers, but also between opera as accompaniment to the meal, was perfect. We would highly recommend Bel Canto and intend to go back again and again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“42nd wedding anniversary dinner at Bel Canto London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We just enjoyed a lovely evening dinner with excellent music provided by opera singers and pianist at Vel Canto on Bayswater Road London. A perfect wedding anniversary evening. The entertainers also waited on the tables a great fun evening and the quality very high.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Great Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We visited Bel Canto on a get together weekend with family members who live in England. The singers were wonderful and just enough to allow time for talking at the table too. The food was delicious with plenty of choice and was served hot on hot plates, which doesn't happen too often. It was an altogether top rate experience and we would go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Canto Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bel Canto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Canto Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.