We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If music be the food of love, play on.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Canto Restaurant

Bel Canto Restaurant
1-7 Lancaster Gate | Corus Hotel Hyde Park, London W2 3LG, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
+44 20 7262 1678
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bel Canto Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 17,944 Restaurants in London
Price range: $77 - $84
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Description: Located just a few minutes from Lancaster Gate tube station, Bel Canto is suitable for all events and celebrations including birthdays and romantic evenings. Our opera restaurant attracts everyone from opera enthusiasts to curious tourists and culinary explorers. The classic French menu changes seasonally, and is complemented by a diverse selection of both French and Italian wines. Bel Canto has approximately 60 artists on rotation. Every evening 4 singers and a pianist will perform a variety of arias from celebrated operas. The talented waiting staff will belt out everything from Verdi to Wagner while serving fine French cuisine! During the evening you will receive a glass prosecco to join in with the artists to toast with them for the "Libiamo" of the "Traviatta"! Bel Canto is an intimate Restaurant and is decorated with ruby red wallpaper, ornate opera costumes and crisp white linens. Bel Canto offers truly unique and intimate dining experience - the whole team cannot wait to share with you!
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“If music be the food of love, play on.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We tried this restaurant to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and had a great time. There was plenty of room when we first arrived but by the end of the evening the place was packed. The food was fine although the choice was limited. The staff were friendly and helpful and the singers were great - a soprano, mezzo-soprano, tenor and baritone. The operatic songs being sung were accessible and there was even one opportunity for audience participation, with everyone joining in heartily. The pianist who played for the singers also played in the background through the evening which added to the atmosphere. For a night out with a difference - especially if you enjoy opera - this place is well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    123
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fab evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Wasn't expecting too much of the food and hoped the singing would be acceptable, but was delighted at the standard of both. The food was very good, although limited in choice, but I guess with the timing factor due to not serving between songs, some allowances have to be made. But what was on offer was excellent. The opera performances were of a good standard, with popular renditions to appeal to all - and even some fun 'join in' moments! We had a trip advisor offer and therefore price very acceptable, would be a bit high at the regular rate. A lovely evening was had by all and would highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Josephine,

We are so happy you had a nice time at Bel Canto and that the food and singing were both enjoyable! We hope to see you soon.

Lyrically yours,

Jean Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fab food and even better voices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just got home from a superb evening at Bel Canto, what fun. The meal was excellent and all freshly cooked albeit a fairly limited menu. The food was served by efficient and friendly waiters and waitresses, who every so often burst into song! Terrific voices to equal any operatic singer! They reached notes I didn't even think existed! I was really surprised to find that we were actually being served by the opera singers. We went on a livingsocial voucher, but will deffo return voucher or not!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
So happy you enjoyed your time with us and that the food and - especially - the music were pleasing! Come back soon! :)

Jean Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseillan, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful singing, good food too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We love opera, and several years ago went to a restaurant with opera-singing waiters in, we think, Budapest. So when we heard about Bel Canto we thought we should try it. We expected the singing to be good - there are so many really talented classically-trained singers in London - and it was. What's more, it was great fun too. The four young singers were magnificent. Opera has brilliant songs, but sometimes it's a bit too reverential in an opera house. Here, relaxing over a meal, with the singers only a few metres away, it was a sheer delight.

We were not expecting too much from the food, because too often restaurants which have some special feature apart from the meal don't bother too much about the menu. We were very pleasantly surprised. The menu was limited, but interesting, and we really enjoyed the food, and people at the tables nearest us also seemed very happy.

Anything to detract from this really enjoyable evening? First of all, Bel Canto is located a block to the west of Lancaster Gate tube station. Unless you know London well, or are well placed to use the Central line, get a taxi. It's a long walk from Marble Arch. Secondly, although the acoustics of the room suit the singing, it is decorated in a fairly dowdy 'opera house' style which ROH or ENO would have no time for. Finally, it's not cheap, but in my view it's good value for money for a great evening out in which to enjoy good songs, good singing, good food and good fun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Robin,

Yes, London is filled with brilliant opera talents... but there are only a handful of bona fide opera house... an excess of talent but not enough ROH's for everyone to star as Mimi! We are proud to have among the best singers in London at Bel Canto and elated that our guests and enjoy their talent in the relaxed atmosphere of a restaurant whilst sipping on a glass of wine!

We hope to see you soon!

Best

Jean Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Delightful and engaging this left everyone smiling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

As a dining experience Bel Canto is totally worth the visit. Everyone was left smiling and applause for the excellent operatic singers grew louder as the evening went on. The mini performances are timed so that people can dine. The menu is fixed prix, the food is good and the wine list is modest. A visit to Bel canto is like no other! We'll be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
So happy you enjoyed Bel Canto! It is true... there is no other experience like Bel Canto... that is unless you go to one of our Paris restaurants! :) We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in London!

Best

Jean Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Canto Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bel Canto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Canto Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.