We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and unusual experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Canto Restaurant

Bel Canto Restaurant
67 Bayswater Rd | Corus Hotel Hyde Park, London W2 3LG, England
+44 20 7262 1678
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bel Canto Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 18,488 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $80 - $88
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located just a few minutes from Lancaster Gate tube station, Bel Canto is suitable for all events and celebrations including birthdays and romantic evenings. Our opera restaurant attracts everyone from opera enthusiasts to curious tourists and culinary explorers. The classic French menu changes seasonally, and is complemented by a diverse selection of both French and Italian wines. Bel Canto has approximately 60 artists on rotation. Every evening 4 singers and a pianist will perform a variety of arias from celebrated operas. The talented waiting staff will belt out everything from Verdi to Wagner while serving fine French cuisine! During the evening you will receive a glass prosecco to join in with the artists to toast with them for the "Libiamo" of the "Traviatta"! Bel Canto is an intimate Restaurant and is decorated with ruby red wallpaper, ornate opera costumes and crisp white linens. Bel Canto offers truly unique and intimate dining experience - the whole team cannot wait to share with you!
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Fabulous and unusual experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I booked a deal to Bel Canto from Groupon for two persons, which we used yesterday. We had a fabtulous evening. The Opera singing was wonderful and it was such an unusual experience to have live Opera singers who also work as waiters and waitresses in the restaurant. In addition to the great entertainment the staff were all really nice and friendly. We even got a free glass of Presecco towards the end of our meal to encourage us to sing-a-long. The food was good and the venue good with a really good central location, minutes walk from Lancaster Tube.
This restuarant is a rare find and treat in the heart of London and I would definitely recommend it for those who enjoy Opera and good ambience and food.

Thank You to the wonderful staff/opera singers at the restaurant. I do hope to return in the future!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind words... We are thrilled you had such a fabulous experience with us at Bel Canto! It is amazing how our professional singers are also servers! Anyone who has ever been a waiter will know that it is tough enough even when you don't have to belt out the occasional aria!
We hope to see you soon! :)

Best

Jean Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    133
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Was a great experience. Food was very good, although the main reason we came was for the Opera singers!!! Would definitely recommend. Wonderful experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Anna!

I am so happy you had such a lovely experience! Chef will be pleased to hear you enjoyed his food; our singers will be delighted to know you loved the opera! See you soon.

Jean Paul Maurel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Really lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I booked through a Bookatable offer (4 courses + champagne cocktail and opera for £35 per person), which was really terrific value. We were accompanied by family members from New York and Brisbane and they thought it was a really fantastic evening. The portions were small but absolutely delicious and had they been any bigger would have been too much. The lamb which we all had for the main course was really tender and tasty. We also really loved the chocolate fondant with salted caramel ice cream.

The singing was absolutely beautiful, the singers who were on the night we went were incredibly talented and would not disgrace an international opera stage. Pure magic!

Service was both friendly and efficient!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A Night At the Opera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The food was good but the singing was wonderful. It was a special way to start a vacation. The young singers were friendly and accomplished. It was a great experience I'd recommend and repeat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Will be Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I hadn't heard of this restaurant until an offer came through on Bookatable for 4 courses for £35 including the opera. Seemed too good to miss.

We went last night and it really was one of the best meals I've had. A good choice on the menu - about 6 starters, main courses and desserts, and then a cheese plate to share. All the food was very well cooked and presented, and the staff all efficient and friendly. A good bottle of wine was a very reasonable £22.

As for the singing - even though most are students - they sound and present themselves as professionals, and interact with the audience throughout the evening. The pianist was also very good.

A very enjoyable evening in nice surroundings. The restaurant is in the basement of a hotel, but on a warm evening they had very good a/c, and you have your table from 7pm-11pm if you want to spend the whole evening there. Also, there's a very nice Fullers pub next door, with outside seating area, if you want pre-dinner drinks watching the world go by.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Canto Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Bel Canto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Canto Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.