We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amjadia Pak-Indian

Amjadia Pak-Indian
15 Picton Place, London W1U 1BW, England (Marylebone)
+44 20 79350885
Improve this listing
Ranked #11,890 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Köln
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“AVOID!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I wish we would have read the reviews on Tripadvisor before visiting Amjadia Pak-Indian restaurant in London. I fully agree with the negative reviews on here - do not go to this restaurant! We were two adults and one child (11 years old) visiting Amjadia restaurant. We specifically asked to have something "not spicy" for our child. A chicken skewer was recommended by the waiter. The portion was small - and it was meant to be for adults! Seven tiny pieces of chicken and some roasted onion pieces - no sauce, nothing.
When we ordered our drinks, we were asked if we wanted some papadam (bread crackers), which we thought were complementary. In fact we had to pay almost 5 GBP for six crackers! 3 drinks (small glasses!) of coke and similar were billed with 10,00 GBP.
The rice had to be ordered separately. We asked for plain white rice but the waiter served us a portion of pilau rice, which cost one Pound more.
We paid about 55,00 GBP!
The food was not nice and tasty but far too spicy, although I had asked for something NOT spicy. When we received the bill I complained about the size of our sons portion and some other things. The waiter was very slimy and didn't apologise at all. He said that everything we had ordered was "as described in the menu".
Don't go there!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    10
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amjadia "best curry in town"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I went to this restraunt with my family as i found it while i was walking past selfridges then i saw this restraunt in the way......first i ordered popadoms which was perfect...the staff where very polite and friendly.....the atmosphere was really good......the restraunt was quiet busy but i was suprised the service was just excellent....starters was chicken tikka and tikka .....main course we had lamb biryani with lamb bhunna and the biryani was just out of this world however it was pricey but then again it was in central london...deserts we had traditional indian ice cream(kulfi) the portions where quiet small bt after all the food we had we where really stuffed despite the fact my wallet was half gone my family honestly loved the food and the kids wanted to come back again....in the future i would definetely come back......bt if i was to come with my friends i would like a shisha lounge

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Marginal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Amjadia was recommended by the concierge at the nearby Marriott. We like to explore London's Indian restaurants and walked to this establishment from the hotel. It was about half-full but one of the large tables seemed to be occupied by a family known to the owner. We have enjoyed Indian food in many places around the world.

Food quality was disappointing and we will not return. Service was adequate. Overpriced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
“Absurdly expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The food at this restaurant is not too bad but nothing special. Service is slow and lacking in charm. On the surface it appears to be a fairly typical, small Indian restaurant with a rather surly and unhappy looking manager and staff. But wait until you get the bill!

Two run-of-the mill curries; one vegetable side dish; one pillau rice; four poppadums (badly cooked); two large bottles of Cobra and coffee – £60 (yes, sixty pounds) for a meal which in the average Central London restaurant costs between £32 and £36. A complete rip-off.

Avoid at all costs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for an Indian restaurant in London as it started raining we decided to go to nearest one which happened to be this one. We felt forced to sit down and one of the waiters actually put the napkin on us which was very strange. He brought us over a couple of burnt poppadoms and sauces which we had not even asked for. Our meal was average nothing special. We had water and coke for drinks and 2 curries which came to 40 pound! Ridiculous avoid at all costs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amjadia Pak-Indian also viewed

 

Been to Amjadia Pak-Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amjadia Pak-Indian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.