We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local favourite, but recent concerns over pizza standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stingray Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stingray Cafe
135 Fortess Road, London NW5 2HR, England
02074824855
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,471 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A local favourite, but recent concerns over pizza standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We love the Stingray, and have been going almost weekly for the last 2 years. It used to have the best pizzas in north London, and our friends would come from as far away as Wimbledon for the experience.

However, I am concerned by the recent change in management. They have made the once excellent sized thin based pizzas smaller and fatter, an unfortunate downsizing. I now feel the pizzas have lost their pizzazz. Whilst the recent £1 price hike was understandable, the recipe change is not.

Aim higher Stingray and reclaim your crown!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lostwithiel, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, miserable waitress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This had to be one of the nicest and largest pizzas I have had for a while. The atmosphere was OK, the waitress must have been having a bad day cos she was a right misery, but that added to the amusement of the visit. Odd relationship with the customers it must be said, but the food made up for it and there plenty of people there enjoying the grub.
Under 8 quid for a large pizza, that tasted great is a result up that London.
Going back tonight I think to see if t'old lass has cheered up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very very slow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I am gluten free and thought this was a real find. I was very pleased that they did gluten free pizza and on their own home made bases. It was a lot better than quite a few gluten free places BUT we had to wait an hour for our food!!!! No one asked if we were ok or if we wanted more drinks. After our food arrived they did ask if we wanted a round on the house but we had just ordered more drinks - they did not take those off the bill.

The pizza was ok, I'm not desperate to go back, it was a bit dry. Try Ask Italian next time, much better gluten free pizza.

I gave it an overall good because at least they put the effort in to making home made gluten free pizzas which you don't often find.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beyond Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is an example of what restaurants should be aiming to offer. Great food, great service, great atmosphere. Ideal place for a family to enjoy themselves how we did.
I am impressed beyond words and will return again and again and again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good value Italian joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Have been here 3 times in the last two weeks, so they're clearly doing something right! Initially put off by the drab exterior, turns out the upstairs on the inside is quite nice, and the food is very good value. Pizza + Beer for £6.95 is perfect for a quick dinner fix - and the pizzas are bigger and more tasty than your typical high street Italian (e.g. Pizza Express, Ask, etc). Their pastas and salads have also been good sizes and value. Will be coming back :).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stingray Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stingray Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stingray Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.