We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year's eve extravaganza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Retsina Restaurant

Retsina Restaurant
48 Belsize Lane, London NW3 5AR, England
+44 20 74315855
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,550 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New year's eve extravaganza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were visiting London to unite family and friends for NYSE and stumbled across this amazing little restaurant. The food was amazing especially the fish, and staff we friendly and welcoming. We saw in the new year with two complimentary bottles of champagne as we watched our fellow dancing join in with the Greek dancing around the restaurant. This was the perfect end to our evening. Thank you to the staff for their hospitality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

A lovely Greek-Cypriot restaurant not too far from central London. Definitely worth the trip out. The food was fresh and flavorsome. In particular, the grilled sardines for starters were delicious. As some other reviewers have commented the main courses are all excellent. The food is a little bit expensive but worth the price. Be sure to book as it was very busy the night we dined here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Greek restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I went with my family recently. I highly recommend the mezze menu - £22 per person and you are given an absolute FEAST of food. The table was thrice covered with delicious Greek cuisine. The taramosalata was heavenly. The service and value were really top notch. I will definitely be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best Greek food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a great family type Greek restaurant run by Mama and Minos who serve amazing food in a friendly , warm atmosphere. The fish is amazing and the lamb chops to die for! Great on the weekend for family lunches and you can linger over your coffee as long as you like

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I discovered this place over 2 years ago, the food is very tasteful & dishes are really nice. Everything in this place is special, starters are tasteful and mains regardless what you are having is very well prepared and marinated. Although it might look a bit expensive but it's well worth the price. we had many good memories as family and with our extended family at this place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Retsina Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Retsina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Retsina Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.