We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect baguettes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raison D'etre

Raison D'etre
18 Bute Street, London SW7 3EX, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)
+44 20 75845008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 16,892 restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Kensington and Hyde Park
tsdsw7
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect baguettes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Quintessential french baguettes. Good service, prices. Friendly neighborhood go-to. Regular visit every time we are in London. Never disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    92
    14
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Candy Yeldham loves Raison D'Etre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I love this restaurant. If you would like to spend a hour away from work and experience fresh ingredients and a lovely sandwich this is the place the go. The service is good and it really is a magical place. My favourite place to go in mid week! X

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great selection of sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

raison d'etre sandwiches are truly delicious - ingredients always taste really fresh and flavours are perfectly balanced. service is also great - the owner/manager is super friendly and keen to make recommendations when needed. have rated a 4 instead of 5 as i'd like to see a greater selection of breads for the sandwiches. apart from that - no complaints!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I stopped here due to TA recommendations and was not disappointed. The sandwiches here have all been great. I have been back 5 times now and tried a different one each time, all very satisfying. If you are looking for a nice lunch time sandwich this is a great choice. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A delight for the tastebuds and the soul!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were so fortunate to notice this place while eating dinner across the street. We went for breakfast the next day and then again the day after that. I ordered the exact same thing it was so amazing! The fresh bread - to die for, the fresh avocados, tomatoes, cheeses - amazing and the coffee - the best we had our entire trip!
Matthieu, the owner, is an artisan with a passion for good food and he is a delightful person as well.
Go meet him and let him tell you what's on the menu! You will not be disappointed, I promise!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raison D'etre also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Raison D'etre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raison D'etre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.