We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La mejor cafetería de Londres by far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raison D'etre

Raison D'etre
18 Bute Street, London SW7 3EX, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)
+44 20 75845008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 17,144 restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Kensington and Hyde Park
San Luis de Sabinillas, Andalucia, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“La mejor cafetería de Londres by far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

What can i start with?
Raison d'etre was just one of my best experiencies i've had, and trust me my life is very peculiar.
I used to work for Mcdonalds, what wasn't very valued and i was wondering to leave London.
Then is when Raison d'etre appeared in my life, one day i went for a interview and i met Matt, the owner of the shop and a very good friend who i will always be greatful.
From then on everything improved a lot, we did a big things speaking about a humble coffee shop.
We became the fifth best restaurant in whole London, just that, next to Michelin restaurants.
The secret was just our amazing food what was homemade and daily, our passion and teamwork, and we just simply tried to make a nice stay for our costumers. We also have a very good ambient made mostly by the owner and the background music ;)
Raison d'etre is a place where you can taste amazing coffees, enjoy the warm foccacias and paninis or have one of the best salads i've tasted.
Ir your are around there dont doubt about make a visit, for sure you'll have a great time.
I just hope my recommendation helps somebody to meet this fabulous place.
Now sadly im not there, but i will always remember this moments and i'll be back for sure.
Dearly, un pequeño cabeza!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    107
    15
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the Best Cafes Ever-S. Kensington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed at the Regency Hotel, just across from the Kensington Hotel. This little cafe is just a couple of blocks away. I've been on a lifelong quest for the perfect pastry, and found it here. Great coffees too, and superb sandwiches with fresh made baguettes. Stop by in the morning for a pastry and coffee, and have proprietor Matthieu (really nice guy) make you sandwiches before you head out on the trains to Brighton, Bath, Edinburgh, or any of the other wonderful day trips accessible from London. Nice little neighborhood farmer's market on Saturdays. I think he's closed on Sunday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We visited this cafe based on the recommendations of previous tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. While Matthieu the owner explained the various menu options to us, we watched as freshly-baked baguettes came out of the oven. The food was delicious and very reasonably-priced, and the service was friendly, welcoming and efficient. We will not hesitate to return during our next trip to London.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I happened to stumble across this place whilst galavanting around West London on a friend's Hen's Party...these guys made it an amazingly memorable and fun day! Matthieu the owner was a complete gentleman and they really made our day! They have great service, great food and are a fantastic place to stop in at. Really personable staff in a chilled environment! Loved it!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was studying London across the street and after finding Raison D'etre I started going there for lunch every day. Delicious bread and a great assortment of fresh meats and french cheeses. Incredibly friendly atmosphere, the owner will gladly talk to you about the different sandwiches and make recommendations. Perfect spot for a great sandwich and great coffee.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raison D'etre also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Raison D'etre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raison D'etre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.