We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Cafes Ever-S. Kensington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raison D'etre

Raison D'etre
18 Bute Street | South Kensington, London SW7 3EX, England (South Kensington)
+44 20 75845008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 17,733 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Sandwiches, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: South Kensington
LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the Best Cafes Ever-S. Kensington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed at the Regency Hotel, just across from the Kensington Hotel. This little cafe is just a couple of blocks away. I've been on a lifelong quest for the perfect pastry, and found it here. Great coffees too, and superb sandwiches with fresh made baguettes. Stop by in the morning for a pastry and coffee, and have proprietor Matthieu (really nice guy) make you sandwiches before you head out on the trains to Brighton, Bath, Edinburgh, or any of the other wonderful day trips accessible from London. Nice little neighborhood farmer's market on Saturdays. I think he's closed on Sunday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    28
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We visited this cafe based on the recommendations of previous tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. While Matthieu the owner explained the various menu options to us, we watched as freshly-baked baguettes came out of the oven. The food was delicious and very reasonably-priced, and the service was friendly, welcoming and efficient. We will not hesitate to return during our next trip to London.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I happened to stumble across this place whilst galavanting around West London on a friend's Hen's Party...these guys made it an amazingly memorable and fun day! Matthieu the owner was a complete gentleman and they really made our day! They have great service, great food and are a fantastic place to stop in at. Really personable staff in a chilled environment! Loved it!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was studying London across the street and after finding Raison D'etre I started going there for lunch every day. Delicious bread and a great assortment of fresh meats and french cheeses. Incredibly friendly atmosphere, the owner will gladly talk to you about the different sandwiches and make recommendations. Perfect spot for a great sandwich and great coffee.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great start to the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Best find for breakfast while staying nearby in Chelsea. I tried a few different bagels and panini with my morning coffee, they were awesome. Menu is very big so was worth going every morning just to try the different fillings. Service was fantastic with the owner very personable and having a daily chat with us. Great start before our big walks around London. Would totally recommend this little gem!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raison D'etre also viewed

 

Been to Raison D'etre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raison D'etre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.