We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and very wecoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northfields Bed and Breakfast

Northfields Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northfields Bed and Breakfast
36 Leighton Road | Ealing, London W13 9EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 517 London B&B and Inns
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant and very wecoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

I was visiting london to attend my daughters graduation and as she lives on northfield avenue Northfields bed & breakfast was only round the corner. My son & i stayed in a twin room which was very comfortable, the shared bathroom facilities were very good and clean. Deirdre was very nice and i had pleasant conversations with her.I will definitely be staying at Northfields B&B again when i visit my daughter

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
5
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Being new to the London area, this B&B is very conveniently located near the stores, buses, and the underground, while still being tucked away enough to be quiet away from the busier streets.

Deirdre was genuinely interested in me and made pleasant conversation during breakfast which included cereal, toast with jam, a variety of fruits, and juice. She is direct and to the point, but kind. To address the complaint of her announcing breakfast everyday, this was not the case. She called out that breakfast ended at 9 (which is made clear on the websites, so if you are not an early riser, be aware) the first morning, but left me quite alone for the next 3 mornings when I decided to sleep in.

The rooms are on the smaller side, but my roommate and I were able to stay in a "double" with about 6 suitcases and still be able to move around fine.

Overall, I believe Northfields B&B is a nice place to live for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

A quiet place in a quiet neighborhood in a quiet town about 20 minutes by Tube from London. Situated only two blocks from Ealing's main street which has many eateries, (Asian mostly), a park, a train station, stores, a cyber cafe, a Laundromat and anything else you'll want. The owner is very helpful and accommodating. The house is grand and clean, There is no TV but if you must watch the soccer match of the day - try Duffy's Pub where you'll be surrounded by fans and foes. I would be glad to stay at Northfields Bed and Breakfast again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Conveinent location from Heathrow and Northfeilds facilities, Pleasant 12 minute walk to Tube and onto Central London. First positive experience is the warm friendly welcome form Deidrie who is only to happy to help with requests and advice. Northfields B & B is in a quiet location. The single room I had was small but perfectly adequate. The share bathroom has all facilities and very clean. Breakfast is Continental, but very adequate with added yogurt and delicious fresh fruit salard. A great base for visiting London. No fancy frills just all that you need.

Room Tip: Depending on need Single, Double or Family
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011 via mobile

Flexible over arrival time, very clean and well presented (except mildew around the bath rim).

Downsides:
No locks on doors
No water glasses in rooms - got chided for requesting one!
Sunday "breakfast" (toast) finished by 9am. A loud knock on the door at 0830 woke us to remind us of this, whether we wanted it or not.
Further knocking at regular intervals to remind about the 10am checkout.
Fighting the other residents for the single shared bathroom made achieving this deadline difficult.

All but the most hardened travellers (and early risers!) may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uup North
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Very friendly and considerate reception. Superbly placed for convenient access to underground, buses and shops.

Comfortable accommodation, which was enhanced by the absence of hum from TVs, making for a peaceful and less stressful visit than anticipated. No tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubeck
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Northfields B&B is a tastefully furnished, clean and comfortable place. The landlady Deirdre is very friendly and offers help whereever it might be needed. She gave me a very warm welcome indeed. I especially liked the fruit salad for breakfast that she made fresh every morning.
There is a very good bus service a 5-minutes-walk away that will take you to a choice of two Tube stations in a very short time. The journey into Central London takes around 45 minutes.
There is only one thing that one must know before booking. The single room is very small and only good for those who do not mind living directly out of a suitcase for a couple of nights.

Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northfields Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northfields Bed and Breakfast

Address: 36 Leighton Road | Ealing, London W13 9EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 517 B&Bs / Inns in London
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northfields Bed and Breakfast is a friendly family-run guest house ideally located for Heathrow Airport and Central London. It is a traditional Edwardian town house within a 2-minute walk of Northfield Avenue with its cosmopolitan mix of restaurants - Thai, Italian, Sri Lankan, Greek, Nepalese and Chinese, and not forgetting the traditional English and Irish Bars and Pubs. Parking is freely available on adjacent streets. Do visit! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northfields Bed And Breakfast London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northfields Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Northfields Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list