We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smart Russell Square Hostel

Save Saved
You added Smart Russell Square Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smart Russell Square Hostel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   70 - 72 Guilford Street, London WC1N 1DF , England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #390 of 609 Specialty lodging in London
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A good hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Pros: cheap, quite close to the center, breakfast included, kitchen and tv rooms, clean

Cons: rooms are not very big, you have to pay for lockers

All in all, a good hostel for the price you pay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    38
    74
    57
    97
See reviews for
7
23
66
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hostel for 7 nights and found it to be perfectly adequate. Considering the cost of accomodation in London, this place is cheap!!
1. Yes, the breakfast is very ordinary - toast (white/half-half/wholmeal), cornflakes, tea and coffee. Not gross, just plain.
2. The rooms are small and the beds short. BUT - sheets were clean, doonas warm. The rooms do get quite warm at night with 9 people sleeping in them and the windows don't open far.
3. Showers - only on set each for ladies/men in the basement and it is quite a maze to get to them! There are LOTS of shower cubicles though, so no waiting! Lots of hot water, although you can't adjust them, not good if you like a cooler shower.
4. Toilets - fine
5. Security - great. After about 10pm you have to show your keycard to get in. There were a couple of school groups staying there while we were and they made sure that they were not noisy or disturbing others. Lockers are available to hire (we didn't) and you need a keycard to get into your room.
6. Location - pretty good, not far to Oxford Street on foot, tube station and bus stops very close. There are a couple of Tescos and a Sainsburys nearby too.
7. Facilities - Kitchen is pathetic. Stove, a microwave and a couple of pots, a kettle and a toaster are available, but other than that... no tea towels, about 2 mugs, maybe 2 or 3 pieces of cutlery... Fine if you want to make a sandwich or some pasta perhaps, don't bother trying anything else. If the kitchen looked messy to the previous reviewer, it was probably because towels etc. are not provided for people to clean up after themselves!

Overall, I'd probably stay here again, but mostly because London is very, very expensive and you don'y get much for your money. For my 17pound per night I had a good bed, linen, wireless internet and a simple breakfast included - way more than you'd get in other hostels.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

First of all, the beds are stacked 3 high, so unless you're an acrobat, it's really hard to get to the top. The bedding is very smelly and the bedrooms are very tight on space. You practically have to go through a maze just to find the toilets, and when you do it's pretty disappointing. We stayed in the basement and it felt like a dungeon down there. When we tried to use the internet, none of the computers ever worked. THE FREE BREAKFAST IS GROSS!!! All they do is set out bags and bags of white bread, a toaster, and butter and jam. If you stay here, don't plan on eating the breakfast! The only good things were that the staff seemed pretty nice and they had good security.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Losser
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

What a terrible place to stay, to say the least.
We're from Holland and were in London on a field trip with a group of students.
The beds are way too short (about 1 meter 75 long).
Rooms were warm, windows couldn't open very wide.
Security was terribly rude and not welcoming at all. Don't know what they were doing there anywhere, because it was noisy all the time.
Together with the noise from the traffic outside the hotel, it was impossible to sleep.
You're only torturing yourself if you stay here, so please don't.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Europe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Oh my gosh! My husband and I weren't expecting much from a backpackers, but this place is TERRIBLE, please please ONLY stay here if you're desprete and at risk of being left stranded on the streets. London is a big place, you can do better I assure you. There are so many things wrong with this place that I truly don't where (or how) to start. Firstly, we checked in to be told we owed more than what was quoted on our print out, they gave us some 'snazzy reason' which we ended up just giving into and not questioning. We were then given our bedding to take with us so we could make our beds up. We were staying in a 9 room dorm, when we arrived we found only 1 bed free. We contacted staff who came down to assess our situation who told us "Ummm, just make up this bed, if the person wants there bed back tell them to come see us at reception" WHAT?! We were assured that they had looked at the bookings and that there were 2 beds avail in this room. We then had to go and get sticky tape to tape our little signs stating which bed was ours, to the bunk. Right... We then had to pay X amount of pounds per night for a locker, which we choose to do, only to find that our locker didn't lock at all. We saw staff about this (had to wait 5 mins to be seen) and then they fixed it so that we now couldn't OPEN the dang locker at all! ARGH! Staff at the counter constantly had "back in 10 minutes" signs up, though there were often 3 of them standing idly about, and would not help you. I ended up having to be really rude and talk over the staff as they were telling me that they were 'closed' just to solve the multitude of problems. This place is dirty, packed and has the worst service I've ever come across. The kitchen is a mess, no one seems to clean up after themselves, cups are as rare as hens teeth. Oh, and we also had dirty sheets in our locker (that we'd paid for) Please, like I've already stated, don't stay here. There are far better places. Don't make the same mistake we did!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smart Russell Square Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Russell Square Hostel

Address: 70 - 72 Guilford Street, London WC1N 1DF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 609 Specialty lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Smart Russell Square Hostel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Smart Russell Square Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Russell Square Hotel London
Smart Russell Square Hostel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smart Russell Square Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.