We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great doner kebab” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bosphorus

Bosphorus
59 Old Brompton Road, London SW7 3JS, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)
Improve this listing
Ranked #427 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Turkish, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great doner kebab”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A few minutes walk from South Kensington Underground station, and the Natural History museum, Bosphorus is a tiny Turkish restaurant, specialising in various types of kebabs, both Chicken and Lamb.

I discovered this place about 10 years ago and have returned almost every time I am back in London. My usual fare is the Lamb Doner Kebab. Today, being no exception, I ordered the extra large and was not disappointed. Fortunately I was able to get a seat outside, sitting on the pavement of a fairly busy road, but never mind. The interior is extremely narrow and, to be honest, this is not your conventional restaurant.

But it is the food that matters and I have never been disappointed. Highly recommended, and the staff are polite and friendly too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great kebabs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Awesome kebabs, just like in Istanbul. You get to choose between a number of freshly made shishes and a great big döner.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Kebabs Excellent but Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

OK I'm not joking when I say that I ate here first as a uni student over 20 years ago! It was excellent quality even then but the prices have rocketed in recent years. They really ought to expand with a bigger sitting area or open new branches - reduce the price a little and I'd happily rate Excellent overall.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Without doubt the best kebab place in I've been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is the best kebab place I've been to in the UK.

Conveniently located near South Kensington station, this is not your run of the mill kebab shop you see on every corner that every Tom, Dick and Harry are running.

These guys know what they're doing. It apparently has quite the following, with postcards from customers from all over the world.

Not the biggest place with limited seating, but it's not designed to be a restaurant.You can taste the difference in the meat here. Turnaround is quick, the sauces are really good and they have excellent choice. Go for a mixed grill and you can't go wrong. They give a pitta bread and serve in a silver tray.

You might have to pay a bit more for a kebab (about a pound more), but it's absolutely worth it.
If you're in the area, there's a Maroush next door. Don't let the decor fool you, go for Bosphorus instead. Well worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, d.c.
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
329 helpful votes 329 helpful votes
“nice vrysmall restaurant withgreat kabobs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

it's a small neighborhood kabob house with nice chicken kabobs and salad, a good inexpensive quick lunch next to gthe larger beirut express which was always quite empty and pricier.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bosphorus also viewed

 

Been to Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bosphorus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.