We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for The City and at a reasonable price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Tower Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge London Tower Bridge to your Saves list
Travelodge London Tower Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Goodmans Yard | Lloyds Court Business Centre, London E1 8AT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #420 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Handy for The City and at a reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This one night stay (for business purposes) is fading a little in the memory a month later but here goes.

This was the first time I had used Travelodge; there is a certain blandness about the brand that had previously put me off. It was better than I expected.

But it didn’t get off to a good start as the reservations system kept crashing on me and multiplying my room requests. At one time I had four bookings for one room for one night.

The building is well situated for the (financial) City of London and is within a short walking distance of Tower Hill Underground station and the Tower Gateway Docklands Light Railway station as well as bus services on Aldgate and Whitechapel High Street to various parts of the City and West End (though it is a long way to the West End by bus, especially during rush hour).

There are bars and sandwich shops nearby, especially on The Minories, though you really have to venture up to Whitechapel High Street, a few hundred metres away, to access restaurants and you shouldn’t expect them to be Mayfair standard. This is the edge of The City but not really in it. And it’s ever so slightly edgy. There were City of London Police warnings outside the hotel about plain clothes officer patrols in the area, suggesting crime may be rife. The cash-strapped British police don’t so that sort of thing without good reason.

For tourists there are some key attractions (the Tower, Tower Bridge etc) very close by but most of the places on the typical ‘must visit’ itinerary aren’t. I took a five minute stroll to see the World War 1 poppies at the Tower but they’d just pulled up the last one. The dead grass seemed to be at least equally as poignant to me.

The building itself is odd. It doesn’t look as if it was designed purposefully as a hotel but I couldn’t work out quite what it was before. It could have been an office block or even a multi-storey car park. Whatever, the windows are small and grimy and the external view is further obscured by vertical concrete columns. But the rooms are very well soundproofed, minimising both internal and external noise virtually to zero.

The double bed (booked as a single) was very comfortable indeed. No problem there. Lighting, tea & coffee making facility, television etc were all quite adequate though choice of TV channels was limited. I was surprised to find no clock in the room; nor a trouser press (a relatively small investment that fewer hotels seem to make these days, you’re expected to lug an ironing board around instead). The décor was quite adequate for the price in my room.

The shower worked well (I was in a room without a bath) but the head wasn’t detachable. I find that irksome.

All the staff members were pleasant and helpful and sounded like they really meant it. You can get a meal (really a glorified snack) until quite late, and there is room service; neither is expensive. There are copious amounts of water available in the café area which several people (including me and colleagues) used extensively for business purposes. The wi-fi connection was good.

The check-out can be extended until 2pm for a nominal amount, which could be useful for people with late afternoon or evening flights.

I do have one security concern. Having been locked out of the corridor to my room on the morning of departure, for no good reason (I had to be let in via a master electronic key) I then realised you can access that corridor from the street outside without having to pass the reception area. On two occasions guests held the door to the corridor open for me as they were leaving, so I didn’t need to use the key. That’s how criminals get in. (I hope none read this).

Overall, I think this hotel is quite good value for money, less than GB£100 a night on the edge of the city of London and if you’re on business and on a budget it’s ideal. For tourists, it’s handy for some major sites but a long way from others, so it depends very much on your preferences.

Room Tip: Some with baths some without (though those they don't have showers). Better if you know this in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    180
    73
    30
    24
See reviews for
61
213
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 3 nights at end of November . Great room great location right near tube and the central attractions . Pub next too it is nice for a few drinks before bed. Reasonable rates too for location. Breakfast was ok could do too be more on offer but was fine for us. Would recommend!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Decided to book Travelodge for a short break to London for Christmas .. Was very satisfied with the Tower Bridge hotel. Brilliant staff who were helpful, polite and interested. We did have 2 evening meals in the restaurant, the food was good hot tasty and reasonably priced. The staff cared that we were satisfied and made sure without becoming intrusive. The chap on the bar made it his business to 'remember' us which was very kind. The location is perfect for Tower and Thames, London Bridge and St Paul's also Bus 15 ( usually a Route-master) direct to Trafalgar Square every 15 mins. Room prices extremely reasonable for location - shared with my sister... extra coffee and milk on request, beds comfortable, whilst we were directly beside the DLR didn't hear it at all and slept well. Good security with access keys and staff were more than happy to print off e-tickets required for a visit to Winter Wonderland booked whilst we were there. Staff on duty 13th - 19th December 2014 you are a credit to your employer .. Thank you.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm a regular stayer at this hotel and this visit was of the usual good standard. The express check-in wasn't working but the reception staff worked us though very quickly.

I have a room on the 5th Floor, relatively quiet. The beds are so comfortable at this hotel, I sleep better here than I do at home!

Pricewise, I booked three months in advance for the very busy xmas party period and paid around £50 less than the walk-in rate - well worth it considering I could cancel up to arrival.

There's 30 mins free room wifi but I got a pretty good 3G signal on the Three Network.

Location wise, 5 min easy walk to Tower Hill tube which is on the Circle and District Line.

Room Tip: Higher floors work for me as they seem to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location in a great area of London. Easy tube links and friendly staff and a 24 hr bar ..priceless :)
Had to ask for twin room as none advertised, was given disabled room.. Better then sharing a bed with my mate but the single beds are really really small.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this hotel for a weekend break with my partner to celebrate her birthday. The hotel is in a great location for sightseeing around London with Tower Hill tube just around the corner and bus stop outside with service to Covent Garden every 10 minutes. There's enough pub/restaurants within 5 minutes walk to keep you occupied if you don't want to head into the West End at night. This is a Travelodge so don't expect the Hilton but the rooms are clean and comfy and the staff friendly and helpful. I suppose in summer with the windows open the railway side of the hotel could be a bit noisy but this wasn't an issue in our case. Will definitely go back

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was nice and clean with a desk, tv, a kettle and tea and coffee.
The bed was comfortable and I got a good nights sleep.
The bathroom was nice and clean too and I enjoyed using the shower. It is a good size, good pressure and easy to use.
The breakfast is not included in the price of your hotel room and is under £8. It is pretty good. The sausages were the nicest thing on the breakfast. The scrambled egg needed a bit of salt for flavour, but I am fussy about my scrambled egg and have come across few places that have do scrambled egg that I would say is very good.
The hotel is in a brilliant location. It is a 5 minute walk from the Tower of London and Tower Bridge and about a 30 minute walk to St. Paul's Cathedral, Tate Modern and The Globe.
It is very close to the financial district and if you are there during the week the pubs and restaurants will be open. The restaurants and pubs/bars in the financial district close at the weekend.
There is no car park at the hotel, but there are car parks nearby.
It is very close to the tube too.
The staff were friendly and polite.
I enjoyed my stay here and would stay here again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge London Tower Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Tower Bridge

Address: 1 Goodmans Yard | Lloyds Court Business Centre, London E1 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#222 Family Hotel in London
#322 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Tower Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Travelodge London Tower Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Tower Bridge Hotel London
Travelodge London Hotel Bridge
Travelodge London Tower Bridge England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge London Tower Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.