We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break residence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlin Apartments Limehouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marlin Apartments Limehouse to your Saves list
Marlin Apartments Limehouse
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   577 Commercial Road | Limehouse, London E1 0HJ, England (Formerly Marlin Apartments Mission Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Abergavenny
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Weekend break residence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A three night stay was excellent value for money in a high quality studio apartment - all mod cons and good concierge service. Local facilities are mixed but on the up, a Sainsbury's in the process of being fitted across the road to challenge the Costcutter nearby.
Good links to centre of London via Dockland Light Railway, from door to Oxford Circus is 30 mins.
Locals friendly and a safe area if you use common sense as you would in any city in the world.
Will definitely use again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabby E, Manager at Marlin Apartments Limehouse, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Lawrence

We are pleased that you found your stay with us “excellent value for money” and happy with our standards of service. For your information, the local Sainsbury’s is now fully up and running. There is also a Tesco nearby as well as the Costcutter and so we feel that the local grocery services are quite good. Do not hesitate to contact me directly to obtain the best rates available.

Pleasure was ours to have you.

Gabby Eckersley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    83
    19
    4
    15
See reviews for
30
63
19
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

In Zone 2 of the London transit system, it just requires a switch at London Gate (across from the Tower of London) to take the light rail to the proper station and then a two-block walk.

The room was light and airy and very comfortable with a very large bathroom and complete kitchen.

The only negative, at least for us, was a very hard mattress. We later found out we could have asked for and received a second duvet to use as a mattress cover.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabby E, Manager at Marlin Apartments Limehouse, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear VJS

It was such a pleasure to serve you during your stay with us at City Docklands. We were sad to see you leave. Upon departure you pointed out that the mattress was hard.All our apartments have the same standard mattresses. I have noted in your booking that the next time you stay in any of our buildings to ensure the mattress has extra padding.Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Wishes

Gabby Eckersley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The apartment was clean and spacious and the check in/check out was quick and easy. I travel for business and this is a great place to stay. Be aware that they do take a £200 deposit on arrival. It is very convenient for the DLR.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabby E, Manager at Marlin Apartments Limehouse, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear ScOt1961

Thank you for chooisng to stay with us at City Docklands and sharing your experience with us.

Upon arrival Marlin requires a pre-authorisation of a credit or debit card at check in. No money is transferred at that time and the pre-authorisation is used to cover any incidentals.

Kind Regards

Gabby Eckersley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Even though I had checked out the map before booking this accommodation, I had thought it was just a short walk from the Tower Bridge area. It isnt. However, it is no more than a 5 minute walk from Limehouse DLR station, which is just two stops from BANK. I had chosen to stay there in order to go to a concert at the O2, a little bit more of a pain to get to but actually only requires one line change and certainly seemed a lot quicker on the return route, which late at night is a bonus.
The accommodation is modern, fashionable, very clean and the one bed studio that I had was very spacious. The kitchen is modern and well equipped and when I realised it was short of a can opener, the concierge lady was quick to sort one for me. The heating is storage radiators and it will pay to get the functions demonstrated to you on arrival to make sure you have warmth the next morning....I got it wrong and it was a particularly cold spell of weather whilst i was there. Plenty of hot water though.
It would seem that Marlin owns perhaps two thirds of the apartments here, so some are privately owned and may be rented out independently. Slightly annoyingly therefore, there was a resident who sounded as though they were laying a wood floor and were tapping continually through both evenings. It finished at a reasonable time but was annoying when you wanted to relax.
I was allocated a 2nd floor apartment on the east side of the block which overlooked a quiet side street, good location. Good view across Canary Wharf from the window.

More about the general location, if you are not used to being in proper East London, Commercial Road is not the iffy location that it was 15 to 20 years ago. It is very ethnic but as safe as anywhere else, and like anywhere else, you simply keep your wits about you. As a single lady traveller, I did not feel in the least bit threatened, even during the hours of darkness. The walk along Commercial Road towards the City, along that road or via the old docks streets is very interesting. If you hop across to Whitechapel, you will pass, and visit if youre interested, The Whitechapel Bell Foundry, where the bell of Big Ben was produced. If you walk past Limehouse Station into the old dock streets, to the East you find quaint Narrow Street, which used to be a cut through to the A13 back still in the 70's early 80's, and then in a westerly direction, following the river bank past Tobacco Dock and into lovely Katherine's Dock.

I found Marlin Apartments good value, the concierge very helpful. In fact the day before my arrival the concierge telephoned me to ensure I had directions, which I was very impressed with. There is no reason that I would not stay here again, other than it depends where I want to get to when I next stay in London. I would certainly recommend them for a stay.

Room Tip: Try to ask for an upper floor apartment, on the East side, furthest away from the reception/lifts if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabby E, Manager at Marlin Apartments Limehouse, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Gail T

Thank you for your comments. You certainly seemed to make the most of your stay here visiting many of the nearby sites! We are very pleased to note that you found the apartment modern, clean and spacious and that our staff were polite and helpful. We await your next visit to us.

Thank you for choosing us.

Gabby Eckersley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Thank you for two great nights at Marlin Apartments Limehouse.
I had a studio apartment which was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spotless.
Reception was friendly and helpful.
i will definitely be back...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabby E, Manager at Marlin Apartments Limehouse, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Angelia R

What a pleasant feedback! Thank you for pointing out our service. Indeed we work very hard to achieve such standards and it is extremely encouraging to hear that guests enjoy their experience with us.

Sincerely

Gabby Eckersley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Last December I had to go on a business trip to East London and decided to try these apartments. I went with 3 colleagues so we took a 2 bedroom apartment.

The apartment was really large (like 100 squared meters or so), very clean (really important to me) and we could easily turn on the heaters so it was very warm. Free WIFI access is also a plus, as well as the close location to Limehouse DLR station and close to a couple of supermarkets

It's not a hotel so don't expect to find a really nice reception or stunning premises. Everything is quite basic but practical.

I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabby E, Manager at Marlin Apartments Limehouse, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Peterplato

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am so pleased that overall you really enjoyed your time with us at Mission Court and in particular the service our team provided. Thank you also for your other comments , which will be forwarded onto the relevant team. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again on your next London trip.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The apartment we stayed in was spacious and well equipped. Everything was clean and well kept. The only downside is the area the apartments are in. It's a rougher part of London, and not really near any nice places to eat etc. The Limehouse DLR station is a only a few minutes walk away, so it's easy to get to other places via the tube, or to visit Greenwich and Canary Warf.

There is a £200 deposit, so be aware of that.

Overall our stay was pleasant.

Room Tip: A room facing the court is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabby E, Manager at Marlin Apartments Limehouse, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear thexev

Commercial Road is not the location that it was 15 to 20 years ago. It is very ethnic but as safe as anywhere else in the City. The walk along Commercial Road towards the City, via the old docks streets is very interesting. Whitechapel is a stone throw away,The Whitechapel Bell Foundry, where the bell of Big Ben was produced. If you walk past Limehouse Station into the old dock streets, to the East you find quaint Narrow Streets, towards the westerly direction, following the river bank past Tobacco Dock is the lovely St. Katherine's Dock which houses lovely boats.

Street Markets and Quirky Shops like Petticoat Lane-Spitafiels-Brick Lane_ Shoreditch are not far away.

Looking forward to showing you the sights next time you visit us.

Best Wishes

Gabby Eckersley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marlin Apartments Limehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments Limehouse

Address: 577 Commercial Road | Limehouse, London E1 0HJ, England (Formerly Marlin Apartments Mission Court)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Apartments Limehouse 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin Limehouse is cleverly situated just outside the hustle and bustle of Central London but within easy access to the financial and touristic areas across the capital. Explore the vast waterways of the Limehouse Basin Marina that is minutes away, take a leisurely stroll along the Thames or visit the nearby Canary Wharf for a sophisticated excursion.Our guests appreciate the energetic vibrancy of the Docklands as well as the modern, luxurious serviced apartments. Their location makes them the perfect preference for corporate and leisure guests alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Marlin Apartments Limehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments Mission Court Hotel London
Marlin Apartments Limehouse London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlin Apartments Limehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.