We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't even swing a cat!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 39 Suites

Save Saved
You added 39 Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Agoda.com
and 7 more sites!
39 Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Queensborough Terrace, London W2 3SY, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #770 of 1,071 hotels in London
Manchester
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Can't even swing a cat!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Dreadful place, the address is 39 Queensborough Terrace, but you have to check in at 43 - so allow an extra 15 minutes for the messing about walking up and down the street.

I needed another pillow but was told this is only possible to order one before 9.00am as the cleaners go home. - sadly I had not read TripAdvisor because this is a common complaint.

There were 2 of us, just friends, but all they had was a (small) double bed, a bit cosy! they really do cut down on everything, a tiny rubbish soap (remember to take your own) rubbish shower gel in packets that you can't open without scissors - no scissors in the laughable kitchenette, 1 glass, no bottle opener, no corkscrew, no tin opener, only a bed side table on one side, another one would not have fit. If you are over 6 foot tall, dont even attempt to sit on the toilet, you will not get your legs under the basin. I could go on and on - but basically don't bother staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    16
    12
    11
See reviews for
6
31
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nahariya, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for a week and I have no complains. Clean, good bed, good shower, and nice service. They fixed quickly small problems in the room. We used the facilities to eat at the room. Near to Queensway and Bayswater stations, Buses to many places, enough for a visit to London. Nice and simple restaurants - italian, chinese, pubs and many others - nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel needed maintenance. In the bathroom the el-system did not work properly. The floorcarpet had spots and dirty. The mattress we got, was worn and a disaster to lie on. I could feel the metal in the mattress fill and my body hurt in the morning.
In the reception there were foreign young girls who scarcely understood English. I guess they were from some East Europa countries .Who are the owners of the hotel? I guess there could be an east European mafia.

On arrival we got a room in the basement which I refused to accept. The hotel was full, and we had to stay there the night over, and got another room the next night. I think it was very bad as we had booked a 7 nights' stay. This was absolutely the last time we visited the above hotel. In the reception on our leave was also another woman claiming and was very angry about things which is not my issue to comment.

Please, I do not want to have my name mentioned. (A very dissatisfied guest)

We had a better impression of the establishment after our first visit there in 2009.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked the 39 Suites for a weekend stay to include the Proms in the Park. Queensborough Terrace is a great location with Kennsington Gardens and Hyde Park a short walk away, great food and drink outlets in Bayswater and the hustle and bustle of the Portobello Road Saturday market but a short stroll away. Rooms were basic but clean and adequate with a regular change of towels. The kitchenette facilities were a boon for food preparartion for a picnic at the park proms. Only downside was the shortage of customer relations skills of one of the receptionists but she did end up in a more pleasant frame of mind. A plug for the kitchenette sink would have been handy too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my other half booked some time away with each other and we were delighted to come across this '4* studio appartment'. We promptly booked it as the pictures looked amazing and the description was excellent. We arrived, only to be disappointed. The DVD player they advertise Did not work. The room was very dusty, the white walls were dirty. The wall surrounding the windows was all cracked and the windows so thin, we could here the footsteps walking past outside. The shower door was broken, as was the actual shower hose. The bathroom was so tiny you could shower, brush your teeth and go to the toilet all at the same time.
On a brighter note, the towels provided were nice and big, and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

A basic hotel that's reasonable value in an expensive part of London. Very close to Hyde Park. Queensway underground is a few minutes walk away.
The hotel is basic, although the inclusion of room safe, microwave and fridge means that you can stock up on a few snacks and stuff and save a little bit of money. The rooms and items are clean and the staff reasonable. There are a few minor irritations. The lift in our block didn't stop on our floor. The entry system didn't work and a small queue of people formed, each would try their hand at the same task...and fail !
The 2 main problems (for me) were
1. The rooms are very small, the bathroom, well, what can I say, you can sit on the toilet , brush your teeth in the sink and have a shower all at the same time !
2. The bed, it's a bouncy castle cleverly made to look like a bed. Didn't sleep well, but then that's a matter of personal taste.

Basic, but reasonable for the price

Room Tip: Hints: Ask reception for a quiet room, they will know best which to chose. Queensway is the neares...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 39 Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 39 Suites

Also Known As:
39 Hotel
39 Hotel London
39 Suites London, England
Address: 43 Queensborough Terrace, London W2 3SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Hotel Style:
Ranked #770 of 1,071 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 39 Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of a well regarded and reputable group of hotels and serviced apartments in London, 39 Suites offers a great alternative to a hotel, with stylish, modern apartment in a great location. Newly refurbished to a high standard offering modern and stylish apartments. Fully equipped kitchen including fridge, hob, oven, microwave, kettle and cooking utensils. With all the freedom, independence and convenience of an apartment, you can explore the city at your leisure. Whatever your reason for visiting the vibrant and exciting city of London, 39 Suites caters for discerning business travelers and tourists alike. Situated in the heart of London's West End, just steps to Hyde Park, Paddington, Notting Hill Gate and bustling Oxford Circus and Marble Arch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your 39 Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 39 Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.