We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice staff, good hostel and mix between conscious and unconscious people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of No.8 Hostel Willesden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added No.8 Hostel Willesden to your Saves list
No.8 Hostel Willesden
305 High Rd | Willesden, London NW10 2JT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #375 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Crest, France
1 review
“very nice staff, good hostel and mix between conscious and unconscious people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

It was a very good experience, for me and my daughter of eleven years old. it's really clean! there was a man who broke all stuffs from toilets and shower and they replace it immediatly;
the kitchen has a very good equipment. we didn't see any rats and if it really happens, it's city life; they couldn't check all pipes and all hidden places. if you were a rat , you would like to find food :-) !!! the room has good temperature to sleep, not cold, not hot. each bed has his own box, you just have to bring your padlock .( staff is honnest and tell you if you hasn't got so much money to buy it cheaper at the shop in front of the hostel). There are four computers to surf on internet, pool and big screen(i don't care cos tv is really bowlsheet for me :-) )
In fact, it's one of the cheapest hostel then you could meet all people , the one who want to save money and the one who try to survive working, drinking.... ( only at bar or outside)
in this last categorise, you could meet conscious and uncouscious people. alcool is a real problem but not in this hostel , in life . it's the ego drug. then if you want to be sure not to be disturb by noise or light when you sleep, you have to bring ear and eyes protections.
and if you really don't want to be in the real life, go to hotel , pay the price to be in your isolation bubble and don't criticize.
thank you very much
my daughter, at the beginning of our travel wanted to go only in hotel; we pass two days in 8 hostel and the last night in hotel!.after this last night , she said that hostel is a best way!!!!
meetings, sharings......
i don't think that it could be a problem for a female, and this opinion come from a man who assume his feminin part. men are men, everywhere!
i didn't see any unrespected comportments
greatings from France

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    22
    14
    32
See reviews for
3
12
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If your a young, female, solo traveller, AVOID this hostel! The hostel is more like a giant share house for long term guests. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm that looked more like someones bedroom than a hostel. The 3 other girls had been there for weeks and had taken over every shelf/table space with their belongings.Felt very uncomfortable. Bathrooms were dirty. Staff were nice, shame about the hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

What can i say ....Do not enter in this hostel....!!!is terrible..there are rats in the kitchen!!!!really i'm not joking!...once i was cooking and suddenly a rat run over my feet....it was disgusting....how can be possible that "the staff of number 8" didn't anything for that that????
Room 19 is very very cold and noisy!!!for all the night a terrible noise came and back came and back...so i couldn't sleep...i couldn't sleep even if i had my earplugs on...
So i prefer pay a rent in a confortable house than came back in that house of rats....
My advise..stay away from hostel number 8!!!

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I would like to recommend this hostel for everyone. I stayed here few weeks and enjoyed that time. Staff is really friendly, always helpful. The kitchen equipped very well. Rooms cleaned daily, with heating. Hot water at bathrooms. You can meet here friendly people from all over the world. The cheapest hostel I found in London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This place is an absolute dump, and a fire trap besides. It's very dirty and generally uncomfortable. The worst place I've ever stayed at.
I only stayed here out of desperation. Having arrived in London on a Friday night without a prior booking for lodgings I found every other place full.
I arrived exhausted and had to lug my suitcase up two flights of narrow wooden stairs. The room I shared with 3 other people had rough wooden bunks and thin lumpy mattresses.
I had serious about the bedding being fresh; all four bunks looked as if they had been slept in.
Besides all that, they jacked up the price to 5 times their normal rate; the beer was way overpriced as well. The whole place is a big rip-off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

What can I say .... I'm glad I'm out of there. Have been to many other hostels in London. But this was the worst hostel I've ever seen. Bathroom was dirty and disgusting. The window broke. It dripped through the ceiling. The staff was friendly. But that was all. Never never again: (

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Number 8 is one of those hostels that has an appeal you can't quite explain.I ended up there because it's ridiculously cheap and it's near lots of public transport. From the start you are on to a good thing. On the surface it's just a another hostel, there's a pub at the bottom, its big and dark, the wooden stairs are uneven and the kitchen is full of folk cooking budget brand concoctions. However the atmosphere is so friendly and there is an instant feeling of community, People philosophize over their pint glasses, everyone has a yarn to spin and the staff are part of the family.

Room Tip: As in all hostels the less people in the room the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to No.8 Hostel Willesden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No.8 Hostel Willesden

Address: 305 High Rd | Willesden, London NW10 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.8 Hostel WillesdenAll Welcome!A Warm & Friendly Home Away From Home!* Free Broadband Internet PCs & WiFi* Full Facility Kitchen & Dining Space* Secure Storage Facilities* Cash Machine* Laundry Facilities* Games Room* Satellite TV* Full Bar & Beer GardenWe pride ourselves in giving Excellent Service and makingsure that all our guests enjoy their stay with us.All London Tourist Attractions are Easily Accessible by Tube, Taxi or Bus. Located 2 Minutes from the Dollis Hill Tube Station(Jubilee Line), 24 Hr Bus Stop& a 24 Hr Taxi Station.We look forward to Welcoming you at No.8 No.8 Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your No.8 Hostel Willesden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No.8 Hostel Willesden London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No.8 Hostel Willesden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.