We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prefer my local rather than this chain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Masala Zone Camden Town

Masala Zone Camden Town
25 Parkway | Camden Town, London NW1 7PG, England (Camden)
+44 20 7267 4422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,021 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Price range: $11 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Healthy, Brasserie, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Camden
Description: Welcome to one of London’s leading Indian brasserie restaurants - there are 7 Masala Zone restaurants. Each Masala Zone is visually unique. We all serve real Indian food and cuisines, in contemporary yet exotic Indian popular art settings.We offer the varied delicious tastes and cuisines of India, from homes, wayside stalls and palaces (totally different from local curry houses) in a friendly brasserie environment.We and our legendary sister fine dining restaurants - Chutney Mary, Veeraswamy and Amaya - provide an unparalleled combination of real Indian cuisines, taste, integrity, hospitality and ambience
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Prefer my local rather than this chain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We came out from the cinema and decided to try this , when the Italian we wanted to try via TA had closed down.
We decided to try the thali's going for the vegetarian and fish grand thali's, they were served in reasonable time, with the waiter asking us if we wanted him to explain the dishes- which he did for the fish thali but then walked away deciding not to explain the other.
Most were small little pots of either veg, dhal , other accompanements and the 2 curries which were quite nice.
The poppadums went limp very quickly, the chapati was stodgy and the peshari nan had little filling.
It was ok but I thinfk I would rather go to a standalone rather than a chain

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    58
    26
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had their Grand Thali (pick a curry and the rest is done for you). Selected Lamb Vindaloo. Nicely spiced but not as hot as expected - I guess designed for the average palett. I came with side dishes of lentils, aubergene, raita and rice with nan bread, popadom and two chutneys - chilli mint and a sweet chutney. The chiili mint was sublime. My wife had the smaller Thali.
All washed down with a bottle of Chillean Merlot and with 12.5% service came to £51.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We went here after a day out in London. I'd heard good things from work colleagues and I wasn't disappionted. The food wasn't greasy or overly spiced. Would certainly go here again or one of the other branches.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We were visiting London when we went to this restaurant for a dinner. Ordered mangalore green chicken curry thali and rogan josh thali. Special mention for chapatis which are as good as homemade. Both were outstanding. Ambiance and Service is great. Recommend to everyone looking for authentic and fresh Indian food

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent food, service and value once again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

One of the great things about Masala Zone is their thalis. They represent a speedy, perfectly balanced and very good value meal when you are in a rush to get to the theatre or a gig, but don't want to compromise on the quality of the food.
Not being in such a rush this time around, we decided to go off piste and had some of the excellent streetfood starters including Gol Guppa (hollow cup shaped wholewheat biscuits with spicy consomme served cold) which are often served in summer to cool you down. Shikampuri lamb Kebabs (minced lamb stuffed with herbs and spices) and Dahi Puri (also hollow cup shaped biscuits, filled with a sweet and tangy chickpea, yoghurt and chutney mixture). All were excellent.
Main courses consisted of the always excellent Malabar Green Chicken Curry (coriander/curry leaves and coconut - the taste of Kerala in one dish!), Goan Prawn Curry (king prawns in a tangy red chilli and tamarind coconut sauce), Chicken Mangalore (spicy sauce with tomatoes and coconut) and Masala Dosa (huge rice and lentil pancakes filled with a dry potato curry and served with vegetable curry and a spicy tomato sauce). Quite a South Indian theme to our food choices that night!
Two of our party members went for the traditional thali route and were not disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Zone Camden Town also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Masala Zone Camden Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masala Zone Camden Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.