We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That's OK. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 2 NIGHTS GET 10% OFF
Ranked #468 of 1,050 Hotels in London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“That's OK. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were transfered from the Shaftesbury Hyde Park International due to water problems. The Metropolitan is a 4 star hotel, also near Hyde Park, which is a extremely good location. It's neighborhood is very calm, with superior status. The Paddignton is within a 5-minute walk.
Outside, there are parking lots, if needed. Checking in is quick process, being needed a security deposit (credit card) to be refunded days after check out. Rooms and bathrooms are not spacious (probably 6m2 and 2m2 respectively), remembering the Ibid Budget in their sizes. The quality, of course, is better. The bed is very comfortable. There is one wardrobe with a big electronic safe inside (enough for a laptop), and a clothes iron. There's a TV, air conditioning, which you can control (it's does not get very cold, thought). It was leaking in the first night, which was quickly repaired). In the bathroom, the towels are larger than usual and the water has steady temperature and good flow. The size of the bathroom is a bit annoying.
There's also a compact gym. The restaurant has a very simple design. Usually, the breakfast has salsichez, 3 or 4 kinds of bread, fried mushrooms, eggs, bacon, Nutella (happy breakfast han?), beans, iogurtes, juice, teas, a coffee machine (where you can ask for a cappuccino). When not included, the breakfast costs 12€.
It's a good hotel with a good price (for London) and a great location. Probably not unforgettable, but if you choose it, it will probably be a nice stay.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    332
    150
    85
    120
See reviews for
76
364
128
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We enjoy a single night stay at the Shaftsbury where the staff were helpful and very obliging. We had a club room and so were presented with complementary fruit and a half bottle of wine which was a nice touch. The only slight negative was a mircowave whihc had been used to reheat curry and the smell lingered a little.

Room Tip: Club room has a few extras
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review following your recent stay with us at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park and Park and for your honest review which is very much appreciated.

I am pleased to know that you received the value for you money and were also presented with the warm hospitality by the amicable staff.

We will look forward to welcome you back to provide you the superior service and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel for one night, based mostly on the fact it was within walking distance to Paddington station, the price was good as were the reviews on TripAdvisor. I stayed at a different hotel in the vicinity last time I was in London that wasn't very good and I wanted to try something different; I'm glad I did.

I arrived early to leave my luggage until I could check in, but the receptionist was kind enough to let me check in early. Very welcome after a night of no sleep. Clean, quiet room. On the small side but very nicely decorated and perfectly fine for one person. The shower was good and there was plenty of hot water. The breakfast was fine. Friendly staff and there was a pub just across the street. I really can't fault a single thing about the hotel and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team here at the Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, thank you ever so much for having shared this fabulous review!

I am thrilled that your experiences were exceeded on all fronts throughout your stay with us, and were also presented with the warm hospitality by the amicable staff.

We greatly look forward to personally welcoming you back on your next stay with us and provide you the superior service and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here as a treat for a special occasion - but there was nothing special about our experience.
After paying extra for a Club Room, I was horrified when we were shown to a gloomy bedroom in the basement, with broken air conditioning. I asked reception if we could be moved, and was told that the room we'd be given was "one of their best rooms"(!)
We moved to a room on the top floor, which was much smaller but at least we weren't in the basement. Despite having a window, the bedroom was drab and dark and looked nothing like the hotel's bright, nice photographs. The fridge didn't work and the "included bottle of wine" was actually two thirds of a bottle of wine. The air conditioning in this room was also broken, and had to be operated from reception.
Breakfast is not worth the money - don't bother. The hot food looked so unappealing that I just had cereal. As for the staff, I've never known people to be so rude and inconsiderate of their guests. The whole time we were there, staff rearranged the furniture - but instead of picking it up, they dragged it across the tiled floor, which made a terrible noise. They also slammed fresh cutlery/crockery on to the tables - everything echoed and it was so noisy and unpleasant that we left after less than 10 minutes.
On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and the rain shower was lovely. Reception staff were also helpful when we wanted to change rooms. However, this was not enough to redeem our stay here. This is not a 4* hotel and I would never go back here, nor would I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This small London Hotel In Sussex gardens is definitely the best we have stayed in in this venue. Being close to Paddington station and not far from the shops in Oxford street, Piccadilly and Theatre land it is ideally situated for a short visit such as ours, when we were also meeting up with friends.
Reception was quick easy and welcoming.. Porterage was willing and able. Our room, a classic room was very clean with a more than adequate en suite. Wardrobe space good with the usual amenities, Iron, safe hairdryer etc. TV fine. Breakfast, full English included in what we thought was a very reasonable room charge. We will certainly choose to stay there again and recommend to friends All in all well done everybody at this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay at the Shaftesbury.
The room was clean, the bed comfortable and
although the room was bijoux it was very nicely decorated.
There was no traffic noise so we had a good nights sleep.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The hotel is only 6 minutes walk from Edgeware Road tube station.
We Would recommend this for a couple or solo traveller.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team here at the Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, thank you ever so much for having shared this fabulous review!

I am pleased to know that you received the value for you money and were also presented with the warm hospitality by the amicable staff.

We will look forward to welcome you back to provide you the superior service and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for four nights in a standard double room. I was travelling solo and the room was big enough for me- however if with a partner and you both have large suitcases you will need a bigger room as they are very small.
Helpful staff and very clean hotel.
Beautiful area of London

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us here at the Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us your feedback helps us to maintain our standard.

Please write to me when your plan your trip to London, I will be more than happy to assist you and would certainly keep bigger size room for you. I would love to meet you personally and we look forward to welcome you back to provide you the superior service. Please write to me when your plan your trip to London.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. Look forward to have you back.

Yours Sincerely,

Lakshmi
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Address: 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#290 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.