We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the photographs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 2 NIGHTS GET 10% OFF
Ranked #469 of 1,050 Hotels in London
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't believe the photographs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here as a treat for a special occasion - but there was nothing special about our experience.
After paying extra for a Club Room, I was horrified when we were shown to a gloomy bedroom in the basement, with broken air conditioning. I asked reception if we could be moved, and was told that the room we'd be given was "one of their best rooms"(!)
We moved to a room on the top floor, which was much smaller but at least we weren't in the basement. Despite having a window, the bedroom was drab and dark and looked nothing like the hotel's bright, nice photographs. The fridge didn't work and the "included bottle of wine" was actually two thirds of a bottle of wine. The air conditioning in this room was also broken, and had to be operated from reception.
Breakfast is not worth the money - don't bother. The hot food looked so unappealing that I just had cereal. As for the staff, I've never known people to be so rude and inconsiderate of their guests. The whole time we were there, staff rearranged the furniture - but instead of picking it up, they dragged it across the tiled floor, which made a terrible noise. They also slammed fresh cutlery/crockery on to the tables - everything echoed and it was so noisy and unpleasant that we left after less than 10 minutes.
On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and the rain shower was lovely. Reception staff were also helpful when we wanted to change rooms. However, this was not enough to redeem our stay here. This is not a 4* hotel and I would never go back here, nor would I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    329
    150
    85
    120
See reviews for
76
362
128
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This small London Hotel In Sussex gardens is definitely the best we have stayed in in this venue. Being close to Paddington station and not far from the shops in Oxford street, Piccadilly and Theatre land it is ideally situated for a short visit such as ours, when we were also meeting up with friends.
Reception was quick easy and welcoming.. Porterage was willing and able. Our room, a classic room was very clean with a more than adequate en suite. Wardrobe space good with the usual amenities, Iron, safe hairdryer etc. TV fine. Breakfast, full English included in what we thought was a very reasonable room charge. We will certainly choose to stay there again and recommend to friends All in all well done everybody at this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay at the Shaftesbury.
The room was clean, the bed comfortable and
although the room was bijoux it was very nicely decorated.
There was no traffic noise so we had a good nights sleep.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The hotel is only 6 minutes walk from Edgeware Road tube station.
We Would recommend this for a couple or solo traveller.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team here at the Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, thank you ever so much for having shared this fabulous review!

I am pleased to know that you received the value for you money and were also presented with the warm hospitality by the amicable staff.

We will look forward to welcome you back to provide you the superior service and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for four nights in a standard double room. I was travelling solo and the room was big enough for me- however if with a partner and you both have large suitcases you will need a bigger room as they are very small.
Helpful staff and very clean hotel.
Beautiful area of London

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us here at the Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us your feedback helps us to maintain our standard.

Please write to me when your plan your trip to London, I will be more than happy to assist you and would certainly keep bigger size room for you. I would love to meet you personally and we look forward to welcome you back to provide you the superior service. Please write to me when your plan your trip to London.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. Look forward to have you back.

Yours Sincerely,

Lakshmi
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A very well located 4 star hotel in London, just off Edgware Road in Sussex Gardens. You can easily walk to Marble Arch and to the start of Oxford Street within 10-15minutes!

Hotel has a modern flair to it in main areas. The rooms are well decorated in an old English style (with ensuite bathroom facilities), complimentary toiletries in bathroom, tea/coffee making facilities.

If possible stay in one of the hotel's Club Rooms, as little touches are included in the room and do pay for breakfast, a very good spread including English breakfast which is good for a stay in London - breakfast was served in the well lit basement area of the hotel.

Wi-fi was available in room and also public area(s).

A special mention goes to Chetan on reception - who was very friendly upon check-in/check-out, was interested in our stay in London & greeted us with a smile whenever we saw him during our stay.

The Metropolis overall is a great place to stay in the big city!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Chetan and the rest of the team here at the Metropolis London Hyde Park, thank you very much for having shared this wonderful review following your stay with us in Shaftesbury Metropolis.

I am thrilled that the service provided by our team exceeded your expectations and hope to have the pleasure of personally meeting you when your travels next take you to London; should you require any assistance at all with the making of future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent position for visiting Theatre land. Staff very professional ands helpful at all times. Room very quiet and clean. When we arrived the staff couldn't do enough for us. They even booked our theatre tickets and arranged for taxis. Nothing was too much trouble. It was very easy to get to The Ritz for tea and the shops at Old Bond Street, New Bond Street and Oxford Street which we enjoyed very much.

Room Tip: Always ask for a club room which is a little larger and at the back where it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review following your recent stay with us at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park and Park and for your positive and heart-warming review which is very much appreciated.

Being located very close by Hyde Park and Three underground stations is very advantageous for our esteemed guests as they can travel with ease.

I am glad that you enjoyed the comfort of our modern rooms and the services.

We look forward to you return on yet another memorable experience.

Yours Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For anybody who wants a hotel in London, I will recommend this one. My mum came over to London from Norway to celebrate her 80th Birthday with her best Friend of 75 years. The staff were very welcoming, had upgraded her room, gave her a bottle of red wine each of the 2 nights plus biscuits, fruit and chocolate. Also on her actual Birthday, they put a bunch of flowers in her room. We got to know the staff well as my Husband and I came to visit them. The staff that were especially nice were Angelo, Andrea, Hayson and Lakshmi. The hotel is also in a very good location to central London and it's very easy to flag down a taxi. A big THANK YOU for making my mum's Birthday so special. The room was really clean. And it was nice to have shampoo and shower gel provided.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Front Office Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Angelo, Andrea, Hayson and Lakshmi and the rest of the team here at the Metropolis London Hyde Park, thank you very ever so much for having shared this wonderful review following your stay with us.

I am thrilled that the service provided by our team exceeded your expectations and enjoyed the comfort of our modern rooms and the services.

We will look forward to welcome you back to provide you the superior service and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Address: 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#292 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.