We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure to visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel) (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #528 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A pleasure to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were greeted by incredibly friendly, professional staff, who offered to store our bags until our room was available - leaving us to explore the city without huge amounts of luggage. Room was a delight to stay in - spotlessly clean and comfortably furnished. The hotel has a great location and the service throughout our visit was really testament to the level of professionalism and quality the staff at this hotel are proud to offer. Shuttles and taxis organised with great success, meaning we made our theatre show with plenty of time. A wonderful experience - will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    280
    143
    83
    114
See reviews for
66
320
114
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is in an excellent location minutes from Paddington and just a few minutes from the Edgware Road. The rooms are slightly on the small side but were more than adequate and they also contained everything we required such as hair dryer, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee, TV etc. The reception staff were friendly and efficient at check in and helped with directions when leaving. There are a few tired features (can only comment on our room) such as the window curtain was ripped and wouldn’t close fully, an internal window wouldn’t shut completely, hence some of the noise and shower head that had jets in pretty much every direction.

The downside was the nights sleep. Doors banging, people arguing in corridors, plumbing that sounded like the roof was going to cave in. I haven’t had such a bad night sleep since our baby boy was 4 weeks old!!

As this was our overriding memory of the hotel we wouldn’t be in any rush to stay again. Although on a different night, with different guests and a different room we might have slept soundly.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Shaftesbury during my first trip to London with my boyfriend. Staff were friendly and pleasant and we felt welcome. Room was a little smaller than I was expecting but there was still plenty of space to move around comfortably and store luggage. The bathroom was clean, as was the rest of the room. The bed was comfortable and the free wifi was really helpful. Great location with Paddington station about a 5 minute walk away from which you can easily connect to most lines. Great for a first time stay in London and we would stay here again

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.
We ensure every guest has a relaxing visit and thank you for your observation in regards to our staff.
Our bedrooms are much bigger than average London room with all the amenities. However, please do let us know about your future stay & we will try to upgrade your room to higher category, which are much bigger in size.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My family have been travelling to London to visit my farther whilst he has, had several operations, we could not have got through some days without the kindness and willing thoughtfulness of the Manager and his staff. All the staff are a credit to the hotel they give a top service and are extremely helpful. The hotel is very comfortable and clean and has an amazing breakfast. We will definitely continue to stay here and would recommend it to others. Thank you so much for your kindness it is very much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you have now made us your regular 'home away from home' and are very much impressed by your generous feedback. The location as well as staff is certainly an asset and I am glad we able to take care of you & your family.
We are looking forward to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As usual, a pleasant service right from check-in to check-out. Well trained and very helpful staff members, who are always willing to attend any queries. This is what makes me keep coming back time and again. Thanks Gourav and team.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to respond. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to read about our team’s friendliness and also your comments on our staff.
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. Look forward to have you back.
Best Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was in London, UK, on a business trip. The room was very comfortable, clean and warm too. I must say that i was impressed from the very good service from the receptionist, Mrs Artemis, she was very friendly and extremely helpful.
Panagiotis Spyropoulos

Room Tip: higher rooms has a less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.
We ensure every guest has a relaxing visit and thank you for your observation in regards to our staff.
It will be a pleasure to have you back.

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent a weekend in London with my girlfriend sighlseeing and stayed in this lovely hotel. Closely situated to Paddington station approx 5-7 minute walk. Bedroom was quite small but well decorated comfortable and clean, good sized bathroon. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very helpful and polite. We will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,
We greatly appreciate you for taking your valuable time to share the review. It is truly a pleasure to hear that your stay here was enjoyable and Comfortable.
As mentioned, our rooms are indeed different in sizes. I would like to request you to give us an opportunity to arrange room with bigger size..
We hope to have the opportunity to host you soon again and until then, please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance you may require.
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Address: 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#313 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.