We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and decent hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel) (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #530 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great location and decent hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I had originally booked with a hotel a few blocks away, but due to construction in that location we were offered a room here instead. We stayed for only two nights and it was a comfortable and lovely stay for that short of time.

However the room was too cramped for much longer of a stay, and anyone with a large amount of luggage should try and ask for a larger space if possible. This is also an issue for temperature control, as the room can get very hot quickly and at one point we were woken at 5am with a fire alarm that was triggered by someone who had taken a long steamy shower in their room.

We're told that tight hotel space is fairly common in London, however we stayed in a different hotel the following week and it was twice the size and allowed more freedom of movement (while still being small by US standards).

The staff was very friendly and eager to please, and the location was excellent for couples looking to day trip in England and need quick access to Heathrow or National Rail.

We would stay again and thank the staff for being so gracious.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage or need freedom of movement, please be aware that some rooms are tight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park.
We understand that you found the room small, however I would like to inform you that we have different categories of rooms which are bigger and I am sure you would be comfortable with that.

We hope you will be back soon and for assistance write to me on dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    270
    138
    79
    113
See reviews for
62
310
110
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The rooms were way too small and it was difficult to move around the room if you have 2 suitcases . The rooms were really clean though and the housekeeping were always on time. Some of the staff weren't really helpful when we were asking for directions . But the mall staff were all really helpful especially one male staff who helped us with all our bags and carried them up the stairs . Hotel was quite strategically located as it was around a 7 minute walk to paddington underground. Shops at oxford street were quite a far walk away but there was a bus stop opposite of the hotel that has access to many main attractions and places . Quite pricey but I guess that's the average for a hotel in London .

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Metropolis for your recent stay with us. I was very sorry to read your comments. We always appreciate feedback from our guests as this helps us to improve our service and product.
Once again thank you for your feedback and Please contact me directly for any further reservations and I shall make sure we restore your faith back in us.
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Perfect location for travellers from Paddington. Very welcoming and generous with specific requests. Well equipped room, however very small and unfortunately right next to the elevator- so a little disturbing. Luxury for bed comfort- great bathroom facilities. Sofas and newspapers in reception gave a good welcome feel. Overall lovely hotel, would stay again and definitely reccommend.

Room Tip: Not to go next to elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.
We ensure every guest has a relaxing visit and thank you for your observation in regards to the service provided.
Our bedrooms are much bigger than average London room with all the amenities. However, please do let us know about your future stay & we will try to upgrade your room to higher category, which are much bigger in size & we will certainly allocate room away from lift.
We hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed for one night in this hotel and I have to say it was lovely, Special thanks to the lovely receptionist (from brazil and greece) that did their best so that i was fully satisfied.
I would definitly return.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.
We ensure every guest has a relaxing visit and thank you for your observation in regards to our staff.
It will be a pleasure to have you back.

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 nights and was an excellent stay – room very quiet. I agree with some of the other comments – the room was small but adequate for our suitcases and for 2 people staying. We only used the room for getting ready and sleeping so suited us fine. The wifi also was excellent. There was a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was so comfy – we like a firm bed and it was brilliant.
We were made to feel very welcome by Chetan and all the staff at the Metropolis London Hyde Park hotel. Checking in and out was very quick and easy and we were able to leave our bags safely in the hotel after we had checked out so we could enjoy the last day in the city before returning home.
It is in a brilliant location, 5 minutes walk from Paddington and about a 15 minute walk to Hyde Park and the beginning of the shops and Oxford Street.
Breakfast was delicious too – a very varied choice, hot and cold and the ladies working in the restaurant were lovely, they could not help enough and remembered our room number and preferences the next morning - very friendly.
Thank you for making our stay a very happy one!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Shaftesbury Metropolis. Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Metropolis, London as your preferred destination.

We are extremely delighted to receive such a positive and heart-warming feedback from your end.

It's customers like you who keep giving us the positive feedback which definitely gives our team members the thrust to perform even better.

On behalf of our entire Team here at Shaftesbury Metropolis we thank you for your visit and we hope to see you again when your travel plans bring you back to London.

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Took a chance and booked for a couple of nights this week - booked a club room (001) by London standards good size and reasonably quiet - 5 minutes from Paddington and just 5 minutes to Marble Arch - so really for us couldn't get a better location.

Continental breakfast OK - probably not the best we have had but really no complaints

Not sure about wifi comment from previous reviewer - worked perfectly and probably the quickest of ANY hotel I have stayed in

All staff that we met treated us really well - good clean room and facilities

Would always go back there again

Room Tip: I was told by staff that the club rooms were bigger and better (obvious really)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park and for your honest review which is very much appreciated.

We are indeed pleased to know that your stay was satisfactory in every aspect and was comfortable too.

We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed our services and buffet breakfast. We pride ourselves of maintaining high standards within our product and all the departments and the comments like this will help us to maintain our high level of service.

We will look forward to welcome you back to provide you the superior service and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great price for the Club Room. Very clean. Staff helpful. Other rooms very well presented but small.
WiFi good and free. Breakfast good. Great for sight seeing round most of the common landmarks in London

Room Tip: Go for Club or Exec. Other rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.
We ensure every guest has a relaxing visit and thank you for your observation in regards to our staff.
Our bedrooms are much bigger than average London room with all the amenities. However, please do let us know about your future stay & we will try to upgrade your room to higher category, which are much bigger in size.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Address: 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#308 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.