We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience and a friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel) (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #546 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Park City
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great experience and a friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

When we checked-in we said to the attendant we were in our honeymoon and we for amenities and a room upgrade immediately. However, the most important part is that the staff were super gentle and helpful providing us with tips to visit the city. Even then when we had an issue with a ticket we bought, they sorted it out instantaneously. I hope you find Rebecca (Portuguese speaker!) and angelo at the front desk! They're great!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    263
    133
    78
    113
See reviews for
62
302
109
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 2 nights with a colleague on a business trip. We found it to be a very good hotel and a bargain at the price.

Rooms were comfortable if small but equally sized to other rooms I've stayed in in London, Paris and New York. The location is convenient for the tube and traveling around London. The staff are friendly and helpful and breakfast is good.

All in all a great hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park and for your honest review which is very much appreciated.

We are indeed pleased to know that your stay was satisfactory in every aspect and was comfortable too.

We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed our services and full buffet breakfast. We pride ourselves of maintaining high standards within our product and all the departments and the comments like this will help us to maintain our high level of service.

We will look forward to welcome you back to provide you the superior service and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is one of the most terrible hotels in London, It is Not 4* Hotel at best it is 1*.
Do not stay there. I received a paraplegic room, noise on the street level, when I left to find another hotel they did not refund me. Out of 3 night reservation I stayed only one night.

Room Tip: Choose a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Shaftesbury Metropolis for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.
It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com as per your earliest convenience so we can discuss this further.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The manager Gourav Gupta made the stay very enjoyable. As it was my girlfriends birthday he upgraded the room and really looked after us. Great location 10 minite walk to Hyde Park tube and 5 minite walk to Paddington tube. Dont seem to know why others aren't leaving 5 stars as its a great location, and the staff are a great help.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing us as a preferred destination in London and for sharing your stay experience through Trip Advisor. It is indeed most rewarding for me & my team, to receive your compliments. We are delighted that you felt well-taken care of and liked our personalized and attentive services.

At Shaftesbury Metropolis, it is our constant endeavour to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable guests like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

We do look forward to another opportunity to be at your service in future.
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in standard single room at back of hotel which was very quiet. Small but spotlessly clean, it included everything needed for an enjoyable night's stay as well as a very comfortable bed. Hotel is within easy walking distance of tube stations and Hyde Park. Staff very attentive and courteous. Very good buffet style breakfast. Thank you-will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your wonderful review.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stays with us. Thank you for your positive comments about the Hotel.
Hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Chose this hotel because of its proximity to Paddington Station. Cozy and comfortable, within easy walking distance of Hyde Park and the underground. The staff was very helpful. I had some problems with the heating system and they sent someone to my room to help. Also, I left 2 gold rings behind in the room and they found them and mailed them to me in the US within one day. Where else can one find customer service like that today?! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to respond.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to read about our team’s customer service and also your sparkling comments.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the review. Look forward to have you back.

Best Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed on a club room, which was very very small. There is barely room for one suitcase. The hotel has free wifi everywhere. The location is good, 5 min walk to the underground. The staff was very friendly and overall no complains.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review in regards to your stay with us at Shaftesbury Metropolis.

As you have mentioned our rooms are indeed different in sizes. I would like to request you to give us an opportunity to arrange bigger room for you. Please let me know about your future visit to do the arrangement.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Address: 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#319 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Venere, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.